New Veterinary Tech Applicant

New Applicants

  • If your first Wisconsin veterinary credential is issued before October 1, 2017, it will expire December 31, 2017.
  • If your first Wisconsin veterinary credential is issued after October 1, 2017, it will expire on December 31, 2019.

Please be sure to use the new application forms posted on this website.  Note the new fees and application instructions. Please allow up to 45 days for the state law exam process. 

Applicants who have ALREADY GRADUATED from an AVMA/CVMA Accredited Technical School or College

  • Applicants must first apply online for the VTNE and the Wisconsin state exam directly with the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) at AAVSB.org. The VTNE online application, fee ($310.00) and final transcript must be submitted to the AAVSB as part of their application process. They will email you with testing information. By applying for the VTNE through Wisconsin, you will automatically be signed up to take the online state exam through AAVSB’s testing vendor. They will email you with information to register and pay ($50.00) for the state exam.
  • Once you have received a passing score from the VTNE and the Wisconsin state exam, you should then:
    • Print, complete and submit our Veterinary Technician Application (be sure to have your signature notarized) and applicable fee to: DATCP-VEB, Lockbox 93598, Milwaukee, WI  53293 (Address is also on the form). Please review the first several pages of the application for instructions and directions for any additional forms or information that may be needed.
    • Print and complete the Social Security Form. For security reasons, mail directly to DATCP, ATTN: VEB/ CONFIDENTIAL, PO Box 8911, Madison WI  53708-8911. (Address is also on the form) 
    • Your school or college will need to complete our Certificate of Technical School/College, sign, seal and mail directly to us at: DATCP-VEB, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911 (Address is also on the form).
  • Please only use most recent forms located on our website.
  • Once all of the above is received and reviewed, we will email with your approval OR our request for any additional information or documentation that may be needed.  Your certification will then be issued and you will receive an email with information to register for our online services to print your credential.

ALREADY CERTIFIED in another state OR have ALREADY PASSED the VTNE

  • Print, complete and submit our Veterinary Technician Application (be sure to have your signature notarized) and applicable fee ($185.00) to: DATCP-VEB, Lockbox 93598, Milwaukee, WI  53293 (Address is also on the form).
    • (Please review the first several pages of the application for instructions and directions for any additional forms or information that may be needed.) 
  • Print and complete the Social Security Form. For security reasons, mail directly to DATCP, ATTN: VEB/ CONFIDENTIAL, PO Box 8911, Madison WI  53708-8911. (Address is also on the form) 
  • Verification of Licensure from any and all states that you have ever held a veterinary license or certification. Contact the applicable state veterinary board and have verification mailed directly to the Wisconsin VEB at: DATCP-VEB, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911.
  • Your school or college will need to complete our Certificate of Technical School/College, sign, seal and mail directly to us at: DATCP-VEB, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911 (Address is also on the form).
  • Passing score from VTNE. Please contact AAVSB.org and request your score report be sent to the Wisconsin VEB. AAVSB has our contact information. 
  • Passing score from the Wisconsin state exam. You will receive an email from AAVSB.org with information to register and pay ($50) to take our state exam online through their testing vendor. They will provide me with your score report once completed.
  • Please only use most recent forms located on our website.
  • Once all of the above is received, reviewed and approved, we will email you to request any additional information or documentation that may be needed.  Your certification will then be issued and you will receive another email to notify you and provide you with information to register for our online services to print your credential.

On The Job Training (OJT) Information

  • Print and fully complete our Veterinary Technician Application and have your signature notarized. Mail to the Milwaukee address on the form (DATCP-VEB, Lockbox 93598, Milwaukee, WI  53293) along with your check for payment of $115.00.
    • Please review first several pages of application for instructions and directions for any additional forms or information that may be needed.
  • Print and complete the Social Security form. For security reasons, mail directly to DATCP, ATTN: VEB / CONFIDENTIAL, PO Box 8911, Madison WI  53708-8911. (Address is also on the form) 
  • Print and deliver our Affidavit of Licensed Veterinarian to your employer to complete, sign, have notarized and mailed directly by them to: DATCP, ATTN: VEB, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI  53708-8911. (Address is also on the form)
  • Please only use most recent forms located on our website.
  • Once all of the above is received and reviewed, we will email you with your approval or request for any additional information or documentation that may be needed. 
  • Once approved, you are able to take both the National (VTNE) and the Wisconsin state exam. These exams may be taken in any order. To register and pay for each exam please visit AAVSB.org. The state exam is $50.00 and National (VTNE) is $310.00. Please let me know once you have registered, so I can approve your status to schedule your test dates. AAVSB or their testing vendor will email you with all the testing information.

Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Exam information

State exams are now taken through TesTrac, an online testing vendor from AAVSB.org. You will receive an email from them with information to pay the $50 exam fee and take the Wisconsin state exam. 

The exam is an online open book exam of questions relating to the Rules and Statutes governing the practice of veterinary medicine in the state of Wisconsin. There are also questions relating to your education or your on the job training. You have 60 days to complete once you have started and a passing score is 88% or higher. 

PLEASE NOTE: Testing windows are twice per month, around the middle and the end of each month. The testing vendor will provide me with your score report. Please allow up to 30 days for the state exam process.