Veterinary Medicine License Application Process
- If your first Wisconsin veterinary credential is issued before October 1, 2017, it will expire December 31, 2017.
- If your first Wisconsin veterinary credential is issued after October 1, 2017, it will expire on December 31, 2019.
Please be sure to use the new application forms posted on this website. Note the new fees and application instructions. Please allow up to 45 days for the state law exam process. The first several pages of the application include detailed instructions and information to complete your application.
Licensure to Practice Veterinary Medicine Form
Documents Required for Veterinary Medicine License
Requirements for Board Approved Veterinary Schools
- Application with applicant’s notarized signature
- Applicant’s Social Security Number
- Application fees
- The North American Veterinary Licensure Examination (NAVLE) results for examination taken on or after 11/01/00 OR the National Board Examination (NBE) and Clinical Competency Test (CCT) results for examination taken prior to 11/01/00 (DOES NOT APPLY TO Licensure by Endorsement applicants)
- Wisconsin Statutes and Rules examination passing score (See information below)
- Certificate of Professional Education; If taking NAVLE within 10 months of graduation date, applicants may first submit a letter of good standing from the Dean of School, and then submit the certificate after graduation.
- Letter of verification of licensure from any and all other states and countries that you have ever had a Veterinary Medicine license, if applicable
- Application for Temporary Permit, if applicable
- Convictions and Pending Charges, if applicable
- Malpractice Suits, Claims and Settlements, if applicable
- If the applicant’s name on all documents are not the same, submit certified copy of marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.
- All supporting documents must be in English.
Requirements for Non-Board Approved Veterinary Schools
In addition to the above requirements, graduates of non-Board Approved veterinary schools must provide evidence of completion of either: Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) certification program OR Program for Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE).
Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Exam information
After your application is received, reviewed and approved for testing, you will receive an email from ICVA (f/k/a NBVME) the national testing vendor with information to register and pay to take the Wisconsin state exam. The exam is an online open book exam with questions relating to the Rules and Statues governing the practice of veterinary medicine in the state of Wisconsin. You have 60 days to complete the examination from the
eligibility start date provided to you via email. A passing score is 88% or
PLEASE NOTE: Testing windows are twice per month, around the middle and the end of each month.
The testing vendor will provide me with your score report. Please allow up to 30 days for the state exam process.