Alhough we're organized into distinct divisions, we'​re working together as one agency for a healthy environment, a healthy food supply and healthy business practices.​  

Organization Chart

​​Agricultural Resource Management​​

Brian Wei​gel - Administrator

Protects the state's environmental resources and human health

​Animal Health​​

  Darlene Konkle, D.V.M. - State Veterinarian and Administrator

  Protects the health of the state's farm animals - a multi-billion dollar industry

​​Division of Food and Recreational Safety​

 Amy Millard​ - Deputy Administrator

 Protects the purity of the state's food supply, from farm gate to dinner plate

 Learn more about the division

Agricultural Development​​

Krista Knigge 

 Krista Knigge - Administrator

 Promotes Wisconsin products at home and abroad and provides assistance to farmers

Trade and Consumer Protection​​

 Lara Sutherlin - Administrator

 Enforces consumer protection laws and has authority to regulate business practices

 Learn more about the division

Management Services​​

Kelly Smithback

  Kelly Smithback - Administrator

  Supports the department's personnel, finance, budget, technology and laboratory needs

Office of the Secretary​​


 Randy Romanski - Secretary

 Directs the department, working closely with the Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection board and the Governor's office

 Contact:Kylie Nelson, Executive Staff Assistant, (608) 224-5015, kylie.nelson@wisconsin.gov​​​​