Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board

Created in 1984, this market order board has nine members who represent some 18,000 corn growers. Its purpose is research, new product development, international marketing, and education.

This board is responsible for the oversight of an annual assessment of about $1.5 million. The assessment is $0.005 or one-half of a cent per bushel of corn.

Wisconsin is a major corn-growing state, and it produced 545 million bushels of corn for grain in 2022 on just over three million acres. 

About 50% of all the corn grown in Wisconsin is used for livestock. Recently, much of Wisconsin's corn is used for ethanol production for fuel. A byproduct of ethanol production—dried distillers grains with solubles—is used in livestock feed. Wisconsin corn also is used as corn sweetener for soft drinks or corn gluten meal for livestock feed. In addition, some of the corn grown in the state enters the world market through the Milwaukee port or is loaded onto barges and sent down the Mississippi River.

Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board directors, each of whom serves a three-year term, are:

  • ​District 1: Randall Woodruff, Chippewa Falls
    Includes Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Iron, Vilas, Burnett, Washburn, Sawyer, Price, Oneida, Polk, Barron, Rusk, Lincoln, Chippewa, Taylor, Eau Claire, Clark, Marathon, Jackson, Wood, Portage, and Waupaca counties
  • ​District 2: Shane Goplin, Osseo
    Includes St. Croix, Dunn, Pierce, Pepin, Buffalo, and Trempealeau counties
  • ​District 3:  Zachary Soltvedt, Seymour
    Includes Forest, Florence, Marinette, Langlade, Oconto, Shawano, Door, Outagamie, Brown, Kewaunee, Winnebago, Calumet, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac, and Sheboygan counties
  • District 4: Calvin Dalton, Endeavor
    Includes Monroe, Juneau, Adams, Waushara, Marquette, and Columbia counties 
  • District 5: Jim Birchman, Fennimore (Secretary/Treasurer) ​​
    Includes ​LaCrosse, Vernon, Crawford, Richland, Grant, Iowa, and Lafayette counties
  • District 6: Ryan Ripp, Dane (President)
    Includes ​Sauk and Dane counties
  • District 7: Ken Rosenow, Oconomowoc
    Includes Green Lake, Dodge, Washington, Ozaukee, Milwaukee, and Waukesha counties
  • District 8: Casey Kelleher, Whitewater (Vice President)  
    Includes Jefferson, Walworth, Racine, and Kenosha counties
  • District 9: Randy Hughes, Janesville
  • Includes Green and Rock counties​


December 15, 2023: Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board Election Underway


​More information about the board is available by writing to the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board at N77W24707 Century Court, Lisbon, WI 53089 or phoning (262) 372-3289.​​

Questions regarding elections may be directed to:
Debbie Gegare
DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator
(​​608) 224-5116