Veterinary Examining Board



Wisconsin veterinary credentials expired as of December 31, 2017.

If you are currently practicing veterinary medicine in the State of Wisconsin with an expired credential, please click here to renew as soon as possible. The cost to renew your credential is $185.  That cost includes a $25 late renewal fee.

Failure to renew your credential by March 1, 2018 may result in Board action taken against you for unlicensed practice pursuant to Wisconsin Administrative Code (7.06(20); 9.05(11)].

New License Numbers

All veterinary licenses and veterinary certificates will have new numbers due to the change in state departments, which also brought a change in the software system. Either number can be used/referenced until the next renewal in December 2017.

Current and Previous License Holders

Updates to this active license holder list will be posted daily. 

Viewers can use ‘Control F’ to search within the list using name, current license number, prior license number, city, license type or status. 

If you have submitted a renewal and do not see your name listed on this license list, please be sure to allow time for processing.

Statutes and Rules

Statutes and rules governing the Veterinary Examining Board can be found here:

Wisconsin Statutes​​
Wisconsin Administrative Code

About the Veterinary Examining Board

The Veterinary Examining Board defines professional standards and regulatory policies for veterinarians and veterinary technicians. The Board determines the education and experience required for obtaining a credential, develops and evaluates credentialing examinations, and establishes and enforces standards of professional conduct.

The members of the Veterinary Examining Board are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature to serve four-year terms. The Board consists of five licensed veterinarians, one veterinarian technician and two public members.

2015 Wisconsin Act 55 transferred the Veterinary Examining Board to DATCP.