We are pleased to announce that DATCP will be conducting 2-day Retail Motor Fuel Device (RMFD) certification training in Madison, Wisconsin, May 14 - 15, 2019. This training is intended for technicians wanting to become certified or renew their certification for RMFD, or those who would like refresher training. An exam will be given on the second day of the training, covering both the HB44 General Code and the HB44 RMFD code. Technicians with passing scores will receive their certification for RMFD.
Space is limited, and pre-registration is required for this training. Please submit a completed form and the applicable fees for each attendee no later than April 29th.
RMFD Training Announcement
RMFD Registration Form
Businesses that install, service, test or calibrate weights and measures are required under Wisconsin Administrative Code
ATCP 92.20 to be licensed by the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. Licenses expire on December 31 of each year and are not transferable between persons or business locations.
Individuals who are employed by a weights and measures service company and who provide testing, calibration, service or sealing to a weighing and measuring device, verify that the device is correct, or who remove an official rejection tag or mark applied under Wis. Admin. Code
ATCP 92.09 (2), are required under Wis. Admin. Code
ATCP 92.21 to have technician certification issued by DATCP. Certification must be renewed every five years and includes:
Petroleum Loading Rack Meters
Railroad Track Scales
Retail Computing Scales (up to 300lb capacity)
Retail Motor Fuel/Liquid Measuring Devices
Vehicle Scales (over 5,000lb capacity)
Vehicle Tank Meters
Examination Requirements - Service Technician Certification
In order to be certified for a weights and measures device, you must first pass two exams (except Farm Milk Tank, which requires only the Farm Milk Tank exam). The first exam is based on the General Code provisions in the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Handbook 44. The second exam is your chosen device certification, and is also based primarily on the material in Handbook 44. All the exams are open book tests.
Technicians are responsible for obtaining a current copy of Handbook 44 (updated annually), familiarizing themselves with it, and bringing it with them to the exam. To obtain Handbook 44:
Technician Certification with Minnesota
Wisconsin will register certified technicians who have passed exams from Minnesota within the past 5 years. Technicians need to complete and return the
Service Company Technician Reciprocity Certification, including any proof of registration or a copy of test results from Minnesota.
Technicians who have not yet taken the exams but wish to operate in Minnesota can take the exams in Wisconsin. The state of Minnesota requires the administration of an exam based on their state law in addition to the exams on Handbook 44. Applicants will need to contact Minnesota prior to submitting a Service Company Technician Exam application to DATCP in order to obtain the necessary test preparation materials, as well as complete any of Minnesota’s service company registration requirements.
For questions on reciprocity, please contact:
Minnesota Department of Commerce
Service Company and Technician Laws