Board of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

​​​​​​​The Governor appoints citizens who serve on the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Board for six years. The Wisconsin Legislature confirms the Governor's appointments. The board members elect a chair who conducts the monthly meetings. The board is a policy-making body, not an advisory board. 

Board Overview​​

Board Members​

ClaireHintz_Web.jpg​​​Chair: Doug Rebout (Term May 1, 2021 - May 1, 2027)​

Doug Rebout is a partner in Roger Rebout & Sons Farms near Janesville. The farm includes over 4200 acres of mainly corn and soybeans. They raise around 200 Holstein steers and custom raise 400 heifers for a neighbor farm. Mr. Rebout is actively engaged in public and community service while serving on his town planning and zoning and also on the board of directors for the Wisconsin Corn Growers Association and the Wisconsin Soybean Association.

​Chairman Miranda Leis​Vice Chair: ​Miranda Leis (Term May 1, 2023 – May 1, 2029​)​

Miranda Leis, is currently serving as the Senior Director of Dairy Handling and Supply for CROPP Cooperative/Organic Valley.  In her 15 years with the Cooperative she has served in various capacities in business analysis and project management, and is currently serving in the Dairy Pool.  In 2000 she received a Bachelor of Science degree from UW-River Falls in Animal Science with a Dairy emphasis.  Ms. Leis has been involved in the Wisconsin Farm Bureau at the state and local levels since 2005.  She is actively involved as a volunteer in various youth development and athletic clubs in the community of Cashton and surrounding area.  She is also involved in her family's 350 cow dairy operation in Cashton, Wisconsin where she lives with her husband and three active children.​

Secretary: Paul Palmby (Term May 1, 2021 - May 1, 2027)Paul Palmby

Paul Palmby is currently President and CEO of Seneca Foods Corporation.  He grew up on a farm in Southeastern Minnesota and is a 1985 graduate of Iowa State University with a degree in Agricultural Business.  In his more than 35 years with Seneca, he has served in various management roles in the company, beginning in the agricultural department, and progressing through various operations responsibilities to his current role.  Mr. Palmby has served on the Board of Directors of the Northwest Food Processors Association, the Midwest Food Processors Association, the American Frozen Food Institute, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce and the Wisconsin FFA Foundation.  He has also served as board member and Chairman of the Board for the Wisconsin FFA Sponsor's Board as well as the Produce for Better Health Foundation.  He served three appointments by Secretary of Agriculture Ann Venneman, Secretary Mike Johanns and Secretary Sonny Purdue to USDA's Fruit and Vegetable Industry Advisory Committee and currently serves on the Boards of Blackhawk Bank and the Farming For The Future Foundation.

Paul Bauer (Term May 1, 2023 - May 1, 2029)

Paul Bau​er has been the CEO of Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery in Ellsworth, Wisconsin, since 2008. He grew up on a farm in Wausau, Wisconsin and received his Agricultural Business degree from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. Over the course of his career he has held positions with the Burnett Dairy Cooperative, Antigo Cheese, Blackfoot Cheese, and Kraft Foods. Mr. Bauer is active in national milk policy related to National Milk Marketing Order reform, both with the Wisconsin Cheesemakers Association and National Milk Producers Federation. He also serves on the Board of Directors for the American Dairy Product Institute and is a member of the National Milk Producers Federation Cheese Market Task Force. In addition, Mr. Bauer is active in the Ellsworth community serving as a member of the Village of Ellsworth Community Development Authority, as President of the Ellsworth Area Chamber of Commerce, and as Chair of the Ellsworth Library Building Committee. He is a past President of the Chippewa Valley Technical College Board.

Cindy Brown (Term May 1, 2023 - May 1, 2025​)

Cindy Brown is the President of Chippewa Valley Bean, North America’s largest exporter of kidney beans and the largest processor of dark red kidney beans in the world. She has also served in varying leadership capacities on national and international trade boards and councils.

​​​Tina Hinchley (Term May 1, 2023 –May 1, 2029)

Tina Hinchley is the owner and operator of Hinchley's Dairy Farm, where they have over 400 registered dairy cattle. On the farm, they robotically milk about 240 cows. Hinchley's Dairy Farm has hosted many school groups, international delegations, industry visits and community events, which allows Ms. Hinchley to share her passion and educate people about where their food comes from.​

​Dr.ClaireHintz_Web.jpg Clare Hintz (Term ​May 1, 2021 - May 1, 2027)

Dr. Clare Hintz runs Elsewhere Farm, a perennial polyculture farm near the south shore of Lake Superior in Herbster, Wisconsin. The solar-powered farm features perennial fruits and nuts interplanted on five acres, intensive market gardens, and rare-breed pigs and chickens: most marketed through winter and summer CSAs. She is also the editor of the Journal of Sustainability Education. Dr. Hintz holds a bachelor's degree in biology and writing, a master's in sustainable systems, and a Ph.D. in sustainability education with a focus on regenerative agriculture. 

​​Dan Smith (Term May 21, 2019 – May 1, 2025)​

Dan Smith is currently the President and CEO of Cooperative Network. In his years of experience working with farmers, cooperatives, and rural communities, he has also served as the Administrator for DATCP's Division of Agricultural Development and the Chief Executive Officer of Midwestern BioAg. He is a graduate of UW-Madison and was a dairy producer for 30 years on his home farm in Freeport, IL.​

Carla Washington (Term August 9, 2019 – May 1, 2025)

Carla Washington currently serves as the Vice President of Operation, at Vivent Health, headquartered in Milwaukee. She earned her Bachelors of Science in business and marketing from Marquette University and holds an MBA in management from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater. Ms. Washington has over 25 years of experience in program development and coalition building in the human services field, serving as a valuable advocacy voice to ensure healthcare access to the underinsured and uninsured.'