Wisconsin Soybean Board

​Begun in 1983, this market order board has seven members who represent some 14,000 soybean growers. Its purpose is research, new product development, national and international marketing, and education.

The board is responsible for the oversight of an annual assessment of approximately $2 million. The assessment rate is two cents per bushel, with about 100 pounds of soybeans per bushel.    

Often called the miracle crop, soybeans are the world's foremost provider of protein and oil. Planted in late spring, the leafy plant produces 60 to 80 pods, e​ach containing three pea-sized beans. A 60-pound bushel produces about 48 pounds of protein rich meal and 11 pounds of oil.    

Wisconsin soybean growers harvested 105 million bushels of soybeans in 2018. They planted 2.22 million acres of soybeans in 2018.    

Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board directors, each of whom serves a three-year-term, are:

District 1: Andy Bensend, Dallas 
Includes Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Iron, Marathon, Portage, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, Washburn, and Wood counties    

District 2: Justin Bauer, Eau Claire 
Includes Buffalo, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, St. Croix, and Trempealeau counties    

​District 3: Kevin Bork, Grand Marsh 
Includes Adams, Crawford, Grant, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, and Vernon counties    

District 4: Jonathan Gibbs, Fox Lake​ 
Includes Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, Waushara, and Winnebago counties    

District 5: Patrick Mullooly, Clinton (Vice President) 
Includes Dane, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, and Rock counties

District 6: Steve Wilkens, R​andom Lake 
Includes Jefferson, Kenosha, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington, and Waukesha counties 

District 7: Matt Wagenson, Bear Creek 
Includes Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Shawano, Vilas, and Waupaca counties

District M​ap


More information about the board is available by writing to the Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board at 4414 Regent St., Ste 1, Madison, WI 54705-7522, or phoning (608) 274-7522 or faxing (608​) 274-3988.

Questions regarding elections may be directed to:
Debbie Gegare   
DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator
(​​608) 224-5116