Agricultural Enterprise Area (AEA) Program

Agricultural enterprise areas, or AEAs, are community led efforts establishing designated areas important to Wisconsin’s agricultural future. More specifically, an AEA is an area of productive agriculture that has received designation from the state at the request of landowners and local governments. As a part of the state’s Farmland Preservation Program, AEAs strive to support local farmland protection goals.

Local communities can voluntarily pursue designation of an AEA by submitting a petition to the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP). Through this designation, the community can encourage continued agricultural production and investment in the agricultural economy. Landowners within designated AE​As are eligible to enter into voluntary farmland preservation agreements​.

Potato Hilling, Fairfield AEA Sauk County|Photo Credit: Sauk County LRED

The 2022 AEA petition cycle is open. To review petition materials and instructions, please visit How to Petition for Designation.

Agricultural Enterprise AreasCheck out the newest Snapshots with updates on AEAs around the state. To view any previously published Snapshot, visit the Designated AEA Webpage.

Friends in Agriculture  

West Point AEA

Photo by Town of Westpoint

West Point AEA Connects Farmers and Lake Wisconsin Community

Heart of America's Dairyland AEA Grazing Pasture  

Heart of America's Dairyland AEA, Marathon County ​Focused

Photo by Marathon CPZ

Protecting local agricultural industry and preservin​g rich farmland 

South Fork AEA  

Antigo Flats AEA, Langlade County

Photo by Langlade County LCD

Strengthening farming operations and conservations practices
Friends in Agriculture 

Friends in Agriculture AEA​

Photo by Clark County LCD

Preserving Clark County's rich agricultural history


Town of Troy AEA 

Town of Troy AEA, St. Croix County

Photo by Dan Pearson, Town of Troy

Preserving agriculture through farmland protection policies

Scuppernong AEA  

Bear Creek AEA, Sauk County​ 

​County connects with landowners to preserve farmland and promote conservation goals.