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RESOURCES 

 
More information on 
applicable Wisconsin laws can 
be found at these links: 
 
Wis. Stat. 98 
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov
/statutes/statutes/98 
 
Wis. Admin. Code ATCP 92 
docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code
/admin_code/atcp/090/92 
 
 

Weights and Measures Service 

Company Test Report Requirements 

A weights and measures service company must prepare a written report whenever it 
installs, services, tests or calibrates a weighing or measuring device.  Violators may 
be subject to prosecution and fines of up to $1,000 per offense (Wis. Stat.§98.26). 
 
 
Weights and Measures Service Companies: Test Report Requirements (Wis. 
Admin. Code §ATCP 92.23(1)): The weights and measures technician who performs 
the work on behalf of the service company shall prepare and sign the report. The 
report shall include all of the following: 

a. The name of the device owner or operator, the location of the device, and a 
uniquely identifying description of the device. 

 

b. The date on which the service company installed, serviced, tested or calibrated 
the device. 

 

c. The nature of the work performed on the device. 
 

d. A statement that an inspector had marked or sealed the device as "rejected," if 
that is the case.  The report shall include the date of the "rejected" mark or seal, 
if known.  The report shall state whether the service company returned the 
device to service and, if it did return the device to service, the date on which it 
did so. 

 

e. The level of accuracy and correctness found at the beginning of each test and 
after any adjustments to the device. 

 

f. A statement clearly indicating whether the device was correct when the service 
company completed its work. If the service company did not determine whether 
the device was correct, the report shall indicate that fact. 

 

g. The name of the service company technician, who installed, serviced, tested or 
calibrated the device. 

 
(2) Giving copies. Within 10 days after a weights and measures Service Company 
installs, services, tests or calibrates a weighing or measuring device, the service 
company shall mail or deliver a copy of its report to each of the following: 

a. The owner or operator of the device. 
 

b. The department if the service company returns to service a device rejected by 
the department. 

 

c. The municipality if the service company returns to service a device rejected by 
the municipality. 

 
(3) Keeping copies. A weights and measures service company shall keep a copy of 
every report for at least 2 years after the report is created. 
 
In addition, an annual test report must be submitted to our department, for Liquefied 
Petroleum Gas (LPG) meters, Vehicle Scales (VS) and Vehicle Tank Meters (VTM). 
Test reports must include all information required by state law and the license number 
must be on all test reports.  
 

 

(over) 

 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/98
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/98
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http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/92/III/23
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/92/III/23


Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

Bureau of Weights & Measures ● P.O. Box 8911 ● Madison, WI: 53708-8911 ● 608-224-4942 
 

 
 

 
Assigning serial numbers for vehicle scale, LPG meter, and VTM meter private test reports 
 

If the markings cannot be read due to the installation conditions, a secondary plate may be installed in 
accordance with NIST Handbook 44 1.10.G-S.1. by a licensed service company. 
 
If a service technician can NOT find a serial number on a device, a unique identifier (serial number) 
must be assigned using the following format:  DATCPLicenseNumber (this is the license number given 
by the State)  ex. DATCP273152 
 
Once a unique identifier is assigned, a permanent, readable tag with the assigned number (and device 
make if not already readable on the device) must be attached to the scale/meter by a licensed service 
company.  Serial numbers are assigned two ways: 

1. The unique identifier can be assigned by us and relayed to the service company. 
 

2. Or, if the service company knows the DATCP license number, they can use the designated 
format, DATCPLicenseNumber (this is the license number given by the State)  ex. 
DATCP273152 

 
If the service company creates a unique identifier using the process described, be sure to use the 
unique identifier on the test reports in lieu of the serial number, and notify the device owner to use the 
unique identifier in lieu of the serial number on license applications. 

 
 
For more information about submitting scale or meter annual test reports visit our website: 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/WeightsAndMeasures.aspx  
 
You can find a copy of the law Wis. Admin. Code §ATCP 92.23 at: 
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/090/92/III/23 
 
If you have questions contact us at 608-224-4942 or email: datcpweightsandmeasures@wi.gov 
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