Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council Members Announced

Contact: Sam Otterson, Communications Director, (608) 334-0220, sam.otterson@wisconsin.gov

Download PD​F

MADISON, Wis. – The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) has announced the fourth Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council. The selected members will be high school seniors during the 2023 – 2024 school year, and they will serve a one-year term on the council.

Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council members include:

  • ​Chance Austin, Milton
  • Josie Bailey, Tomah
  • Elizabeth Colburn, Viroqua
  • Lilah Feyen , East Troy
  • Tyson Gehrke, Stitzer
  • Logan Guilette, Casco
  • Abel Kooima, Waupun
  • Emi McCarville, Mineral Point
  • Samuel Mell, Waunakee
  • Sonya Merrit, Arpin
  • Layten Sobieski, Berlin
  • Emily Sydow, Columbus
  • Allis Teska, Auburndale
  • Samuel Tuttle, Drummond

“Congratulations to the Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council members," said DATCP Secretary Randy Romanski. “I appreciate their willingness to be part of the council, and I look forward to engaging with these students over the coming year to gain their insights about Wisconsin agriculture."

Council members were evaluated based on their submitted materials, including an application, essay, video, and letter of recommendation. These members will attend virtual sessions each month of the school year to listen to presentations and participate in dialogue related to a variety of topics.

The current Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council members will conclude their term on Thursday, May 11, 2023 at the DATCP Board meeting. The DATCP Board meeting agenda will be posted on DATCP's website when available.

“The 2022-2023 Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council members are concluding a successful term," added Romanski. “Thank you for your contributions to the department's discussions, and I am confident you will continue to positively impact the future of the state's agriculture industry."

For more details about the Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council, visit AgYouthCouncil.wi.gov.


Find more DATCP news in our newsroom, on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.