​​​WI Milk Marketing Board Nominees Certified

​Release Date: April 15, 2019

Media Contacts: Rick Hummell, Communications Specialist
608-224-5041, richard.hummell@wi.gov

Download as PDF

MADISON – The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) has certified 14 nominees as eligible for election to the Board of Directors for the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, Inc. (WMMB, Inc.) (d/b/a Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin).

The following candidates, listed by district, are certified as eligible:

District 3      Lincoln, Oneida, Price and Taylor counties

                   Nominee – Mark Leder, Gleason

District 6      Chippewa and Eau Claire counties

                   Nominees – Jaclyn Backhaus, Boyd, and Douglas Danielson, Cadott

District 9      Shawano and Waupaca counties

                   Nominees – Donald Robaidek, Pulaski, and Jeff Strassburg, Wittenberg

District 12    Portage, Waushara and Wood counties

                   Nominees – Ken Heiman, Marshfield, and Steve Pankratz, Marshfield

District 15    Adams, Juneau and Monroe counties

                   Nominee – Mary Cook, Wilton

District 18    Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington and Waukesha counties

                   Nominee – Dean Strauss, Sheboygan Falls

District 21    Crawford and Vernon counties

                   Nominees – Gail Klinkner, Viroqua, Kevin Wallaser, Desoto, and Danika Wehling, Westby

District 24    Dane and Jefferson counties

                   Nominees – Virgil Haag, Mount Horeb, and Tina Hinchley, Cambridge

DATCP confirmed that all certified candidates meet the administrative rule marketing order eligibility criterion of being an active dairy producer (or representative of an affected producer), selling milk into commercial channels, and residing within their respective districts. DATCP certified each candidate’s timely nomination form, which included five signatures from active dairy producers within the district as well as completion of a notarized "Affidavit of Eligibility" form.

To facilitate the voting process, DATCP is in the process of distributing mail-in ballots to dairy producers who reside within the eight affected districts. Producers who do not receive a ballot by May 10, 2019 should contact Debbie Gegare, DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator, at (608) 224-5116 or Debbie.Gegare@Wisconsin.gov to request a ballot. The election period runs through May 24, 2019 with results announced the end of May 2019.

For more election information, visit: www.wisconsindairy.org/elections ​

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit: https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx