Wisconsin Cherry Board Election Under Way


Release Date: May 17, 2017

Download to PDF

Media Contacts: Rick Hummell, 608-224-5041, rickhummell@wisconsin.gov or
Bill Cosh, Communications Director, 608-224-5020, William2.Cosh@wisconsin.gov

MADISON – Wisconsin tart cherry growers have until June 10, 2017 to vote to elect one new member to the five-member Wisconsin Cherry Board.

Lee Petrina of Algoma was the only producer nominated to the ballot by the April 1, 2017 deadline. Eligible growers may write in an alternative affected producer. The 2015 Referendum result changed Board representation from districts to At-Large Directors.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) is mailing ballots to cherry producers during the week of May 15. Ballots must be emailed or postmarked by June 10, 2017. The elected producer will serve a three-year term beginning July 1 and ending June 30, 2020.

Producers with questions or who have not received a ballot by May 22 can contact DATCP’s Market Orders Program Director, Debbie Gegare, at 608-224-5116 or Debbie.Gegare@Wisconsin.gov.

The Wisconsin Cherry Board is responsible for administering Wisconsin’s Cherry Marketing Order. The board secures and distributes funding for research, education and promotion of Wisconsin-grown cherries.  DATCP administers elections for all Wisconsin market orders.

To learn more about the market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx