One Elected,Two Re-elected to WI Corn Board

Release Date: February 1, 2018

Download as PDF

Media Contacts: Rick Hummell, 608-224-5041
or Bill Cosh, Communications Director, 608-224-5020

MADISON – Wisconsin's corn growers have elected one new director and re-elected two others to the industry's market order board. Elected in District 6 is Ryan Ripp, Dane. Re-elected in District 5 is James Birchman, Fennimore; and re-elected in District 3 is James Zimmerman, Rosendale.

The three will serve three-year terms starting Feb. 1.

The three districts involved in the election represent the following counties:

  • District 3 – Forest, Florence, Marinette, Langlade, Oconto, Shawano, Door, Outagamie, Brown, Kewaunee, Winnebago, Calumet, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac and Sheboygan counties.
  • District 5 – La Crosse, Vernon, Crawford, Richland, Grant, Iowa and Lafayette counties.
  • District 6 – Sauk and Dane counties.

The nine-member Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board is responsible for overseeing the collection and use of about $1.7 million in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin corn growers. The money is used to support the industry through research, market development and consumer education.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers elections for the Wisconsin Corn Promotions Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state. To learn more about the market order boards, visit