Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin Board Election Underway

Contact: Dan Richter, Public Information Officer, (608) 419-5352, ​dan.richter@wisconsin.gov

Download PDF

MADISON, Wis. – The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) has certified 14 nominees that are eligible for election to the Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin Board of Directors. ​Dairy farmers in affected districts have until May 23, 2023 to vote on the following candidates:

District 1 Nominees: Brenda Schloneger, Shell Lake
Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Rusk, Sawyer, and Washburn counties

District 4 Nominees: Sara Bahgat-Eggert, Clayton and Andrew Christenson, Amery
Barron and Polk counties

District 7 Nominees: David Bangart, Greenwood and Pam Selz-Pralle, Humbird
Clark County

District 10 Nominees: Tasha Schleis, Kewaunee
Brown, Door, and Kewaunee counties

District 13 Nominees: Donald Dittrich, Alma and Jonathon Hallock, Mondovi
Buffalo, Pepin, and Pierce counties

District 16 Nominees: Janet Clark, Rosendale
Fond du Lac, Green Lake, and Marquette counties

District 19 Nominees: Mark Crave, Watertown
Columbia and Dodge counties

District 22 Nominees: Ann Kieler, Platteville and Stephanie Tranel, Cuba City
Grant County

District 25 Nominees: Stacy Eberle, Monroe and Kristen Metcalf, Milton
Green, Rock, and Walworth counties

DATCP confirmed that all certified candidates meet the eligibility criteria of being an active dairy producer or representative of an affected producer, selling milk into commercial channels, and residing within their respective districts. DATCP also certified each candidate's timely nomination form, which included five signatures from active dairy producers within their district and a notarized Affidavit of Eligibility form. To view candidate biographies and for more information on this election, visit www.wisconsindairy.org/elections.

DATCP will mail ballots to dairy producers who reside within the nine affected districts. Producers who have not received a ballot by May 15, 2023 should request a ballot by contacting DATCP Market Orders staff at DATCPMarketOrders@wisconsin.gov. Completed ballots must be signed and sent to WI DATCP, Marketing Order Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708 and postmarked on or before May 23, 2023.

Elected producers will serve a three-year term beginning July 1, 2023.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx.


Find more DATCP news in our newsroom, on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.​