Dairy Farmers of WI Ballots Due by May 24

Release Date: May 21, 2019

Download as PDF

Media Contacts: Rick Hummell, Communications Specialist
608-224-5041, richard.hummell@wi.gov

MADISON – Dairy farmers in eight Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) d/b/a/ Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin districts have until May 24 to vote for candidates in eight open seats in the current election.

The candidates for the 2019 election, listed alphabetically by district, are:

District 3          Lincoln, Oneida, Price and Taylor counties

                       Nominee – Mark Leder – Gleason

District 6          Chippewa and Eau Claire counties

                       Nominees – Jaclyn Backhaus, Boyd, and Douglas Danielson, Cadott

District 9          Shawano and Waupaca counties

                       Nominees – Donald Robaidek, Pulaski, and Jeff Strassburg, Wittenberg

District 12        Portage, Waushara and Wood counties

                       Nominees – Ken Heiman, Marshfield, and Steve Pankratz, Marshfield

District 15        Adams, Juneau and Monroe counties

                       Nominee – Mary Cook, Wilton

District 18        Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington and Waukesha  counties

                       Nominee – Dean Strauss, Sheboygan Falls

District 21        Crawford and Vernon counties

                       Nominees  – Gail Klinkner, Viroqua, Kevin Wallaser, Desoto, and Danika Wehling, Westby

District 24        Dane and Jefferson counties

                       Nominees – Virgil Haag, Mount Horeb, and Tina Hinchley, Cambridge

Eligible producers who have not received a ballot can request one by contacting Debbie Gegare, Market Orders program coordinator, at 608-224-5116 or Debbie.gegare@wisconsin.gov. Completed ballots must be signed and sent to WI DATCP, Marketing Order Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI  53708-8911. The ballots must be postmarked on or before May 24. Unsigned ballots will not be counted.

To view candidate biographies and for more information on the DFW election, visit www.wisconsindairy.org/elections. Elected producers will serve three-year terms starting July 1, 2019.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx