​​​​Nomination Period Open for Dairy Farmers of WI

Release Date: March 5, 2020

Download as PDF

Download map ​             

Media Contact: Rick Hummell, Public Information Officer,
(608) 224-5041, Richard.Hummell@wisconsin.gov

MADISON – Wisconsin dairy producers interested in serving the state's dairy industry have until March 31 to submit a nomination form to represent their district as a Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin (DFW) director. Forms should be submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP), which oversees the nomination and election process. Nine of DFW's 25 districts currently are up for election:

District             Counties

District 1          Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Rusk, Sawyer and Washburn

District 4          Barron and Polk

District 7          Clark

District 10        Brown, Door and Kewaunee

District 13        Buffalo, Pepin and Pierce

District 16        Fond du Lac, Green Lake and Marquette

District 19        Columbia and Dodge

District 22        Grant

District 25        Green, Rock and Walworth

Nominations must be postmarked by March 31, 2020. Nominees will be announced in April and the election will take place May 1-May 22.

To qualify, a nominee must be an active dairy producer who sells milk into commercial channels and lives in the represented district up for election. Each potential candidate must acquire at least five signatures from active dairy producers within the district, submit a completed nomination form, and have the Affidavit of Eligibility certification requirement notarized.

Successful candidates will become more knowledgeable of the milk market order and support the actions and activities of both local and national checkoff organizations. Both organizations utilize electronic communications and elected directors should have the capability to receive such communications to keep informed of all checkoff activities.

Producers interested in serving as a director can contact DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator Debbie Gegare at (608) 224-5116 or Debbie.Gegare@wisconsin.gov for a nomination form, or they can access an electronic copy at www.WisconsinDairy.org/elections.

To learn more about all Wisconsin market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx



Every year, one-third of the 25-member Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin Board of Directors is elected to three-year terms. For 2020, active dairy producers in nine affected districts (black areas on map) are invited to submit a nomination to represent their district as a DFW director.​