Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin Board Election Under Way

Release Date:  May 3, 2018

Download as PDF

Media Contact: Rick Hummell 608-224-5041 rick.hummell@wi.gov
Bill Cosh, DATCP Communications Director, 608-224-5020 William2.Cosh@wi.gov

MADISON – Dairy farmers in eight Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) d/b/a/ Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin districts have until May 25 to vote for candidates for eight open seats in the current election. The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection mailed ballots to eligible dairy producers in the affected districts the first week of May and will accept ballots now until May 25, 2018.

Here are the candidates, listed by district:

District 2              Florence, Forest, Langlade, Marinette, Oconto and Vilas counties
                           Nominee - Connie Seefeldt, Coleman

District 5              St. Croix, Dunn Counties
                           Nominees – Kay Zwald, Hammond; Rachel Kummer, Mondovi

District 8              Marathon County
                           Nominee – Steven Sternweis, Marshfield

District 11            Outagamie and Winnebago Counties
                           Nominee – Mike Verhasselt, Kaukauna

District 14            Jackson, LaCrosse and Trempealeau Counties
                           Nominees – Patricia Kling, Taylor; Louisa Peterson, Bangor

District 17            Calumet and Manitowoc Counties
                           Nominee – Julie Maurer, Newton

District 20            Richland and Sauk Counties
                            Nominee – Sharon Laubscher, Wonewoc

District 23            Iowa and Lafayette Counties
                           Nominees – Jay Stauffacher, Darlington; Deborah Nelson, Arena;
                           Jerry Zander, Barneveld

Eligible producer who have not received a ballot by May 10 can contact Debbie Gegare, Market Orders Program Coordinator 608-224-5116 or Debbie.gegare@wisconsin.gov) to request a ballot. Completed ballots must be signed and sent to WI DATCP, Marketing Order Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI  53708-8911. The ballots must be postmarked on or before May 25. Unsigned ballots will not be counted.

To view the candidate biographies and more information on the Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin election, visit www.wisconsindairy.org/elections.

Elected producers will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2018.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx