Voting period open for WI Soybean Board

Download to PDF

Release Date: July 15, 2016


Media Contact:  Rick Hummell, 608-224-5041

or Bill Cosh, Communications Director, 608-224-5020


MADISON – Soybean producers in three Wisconsin Soybean Board districts have until August 10 to vote for candidates for three open seats on the soybean board. The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) is accepting ballots between July 15 and August 10, 2016.

The districts and nominees are:

District 3 – representing Adams, Crawford, Grant, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties. The nominee is Irvin Osterloh, Arkdale.

District 4 – representing Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, Waushara and Winnebago counties. The nominee is Jonathan Gibbs, Fox Lake.

District 5 – representing Dane, Green, Iowa, Lafayette and Rock counties. The nominee is Patrick Mulloly, Clinton.

DATCP will mail ballots to eligible soybean producers. If you have not received a ballot by July 25th and are an eligible producer, contact Debbie Gegare, Market Orders program manager, at 608-224-5116 to request a ballot. Completed ballots must be signed and sent to WI DATCP, Marketing Order Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI  53708-8911. Ballots must be postmarked on or before August 10, 2016. Unsigned ballots will not be counted.

Elected producers will serve three-year terms beginning September 1, 2016.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit