Land Acknowledgement

​​The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) has the privilege and responsibility to acknowledge the Indigenous people who have called this land home for generations. This acknowledgement demonstrates our strong commitment to collaborate and partner with the sovereign Tribal nations located in Wisconsin. There are now 12 Tribal nations that call this land home, 11 of which are federally recognized. No matter where you are in the state, you are on the ancestral land of a Tribal nation. The Department reminds each of us to take the opportunity to learn about and appreciate the history of the land we are on and the great historical, present, and future contributions of Indigenous people.