The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection’s Feed Program assures consumers and manufacturers that animal feeds -- livestock feed, pet food, and feed ingredients -- are unadulterated, meet label guarantees, and are safe and effective for use. We do this through facility inspections, product surveillance sampling and comprehensive labeling requirements modeled after guidance developed by the Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). We also follow up on feed-related complaints and initiate feed investigations when animal illness, death or production losses are believed to have been caused by adulterated feed. These activities promote the safety of feed for livestock and companion animals, ensure the safety and integrity of the human food chain, and protect consumers against fraud and deception.
Wisconsin's feed regulations can be found in Wisconsin statutes (chapter 94, see 94.72) and Wisconsin Administrative Code (ATCP 42).
Commercial Feed License
An annual Wisconsin commercial feed license is required for any person or business that manufactures, labels or distributes commercial feed in Wisconsin. This includes anyone located outside of Wisconsin who distributes commercial feed into the state. Licensees are also required to complete and submit annual tonnage reports and pay fees of 25 cents per ton of feed distributed in Wisconsin during the previous calendar year. This license is valid for one year (March 1 - Feb 28).
Renewal Applicants: We mail renewal commercial feed license application packets in late January, along with a tonnage report for sales made in the preceding calendar year. Please note that we cannot accept incorrect or outdated forms. Use only the renewal application materials sent to you by the department.
New Applicants: New businesses may submit a completed application, along with product labels, at any time during the year.
New Commercial Feed License Application Packet - 7 page PDF
The packet contains an informational letter, license application and other supporting documents and information.
of Wisconsin commercial feed licensees and inspection sites.
For more information on feed licensing and tonnage, call 608-224-4537 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Pet Food/Pet Treats
A Wisconsin commercial feed license is also required to manufacture or distribute pet food or pet treats in Wisconsin. Pet food and pet treats are required to be manufactured and labeled following all applicable Good Manufacturing Practices, or GMPs, according to chapter ATCP 42 of Wisconsin Admininstrative Code.
If you would like helpful information on making and selling homemade pet treats or pet food, including tips on starting your pet treat/pet food business, packaging/labeling requirements, ingredients and terms, etc., please see The Business of Pet Food on AAFCO’s website.
For additional information on pet food/pet treats, call (608) 224-4539 or email email@example.com.
Exporting feed products overseas requires a feed export certificate of free sale or license card, indicating a person's or business’s feed license status. The cost is $15.00 per certificate. It is the exporter's responsibility to know the import/export requirements and regulations of the countries they work with. We do not have this information.
Feed Export Certificate of Free Sale Application
For more information on exporting feed, call 608-224-4616 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Some countries may require an authentication by the Wisconsin Secretary of State's Office. The Secretary of State's Office charges a fee for the authentication. For more information, call the Secretary of State's office at 608-266-5503 or visit online.