2021 Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Election Results Announced

Release Date: June 24, 2021

Media Contact: Morgan Cavitt, Public Information Officer, (608) 224-5041 morgan.cavitt@wisconsin.gov

MADISON – The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) has certified the 2021 Wisconsin Potato Industry Board election results. Starting July 1, 2021, the following producers will begin a three-year term as elected members of the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board:

District 1: Eric Schroeder, Antigo

Includes Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties.

District 2: James Okray, Stevens Point

Includes Marathon, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca, and Waushara counties.

District 3: John Bobek, Markesan

Includes Adams, Buffalo, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Lafayette, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Winnebago, and Wood counties.

The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board is composed of nine producers in three districts across the state, with one at-large member elected every third year. The board oversees the collection and use of approximately \$1.7 million in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin potato growers. This funding is used to support the potato industry through research, education, and promotion of Wisconsin-grown potatoes.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About Us/MarketingBoards.aspx.

###

Find more DATCP news in our <u>newsroom</u>, on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Twitter</u>, and <u>Instagram</u>.