Frade and Consumer Protection Department of Wisconsin

WI Milk Marketing Board Nominees Certified

Release Date: April 15, 2019

Media Contacts: Rick Hummell, Communications Specialist

608-224-5041, richard.hummell@wi.gov

MADISON – The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) has certified 14 nominees as eligible for election to the Board of Directors for the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, Inc. (WMMB, Inc.) (d/b/a Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin).

The following candidates, listed by district, are certified as eligible:

District 3 Lincoln, Oneida, Price and Taylor counties

Nominee – Mark Leder – Gleason

District 6 Chippewa and Eau Claire counties

Nominees – Jaclyn Backhaus, Boyd, and Douglas Danielson, Cadott

District 9 Shawano and Waupaca counties

Nominees - Donald Robaidek, Pulaski, and Jeff Strassburg, Wittenberg

District 12 Portage, Waushara and Wood counties

Nominees – Ken Heiman, Marshfield, and Steve Pankratz, Marshfield

District 15 Adams, Juneau and Monroe counties

Nominee - Mary Cook, Wilton

District 18 Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington and Waukesha

counties

Nominee – Dean Strauss, Sheboygan Falls

District 21 Crawford and Vernon counties

Nominees – Gail Klinkner, Viroqua, Kevin Wallaser, Desoto, and Danika Wehling,

Westby

District 24 Dane and Jefferson counties

Nominees - Vigil Haag, Mount Horeb, and Tina Hinchley, Cambridge

DATCP confirmed that all certified candidates meet the administrative rule marketing order eligibility criterion of being an active dairy producer (or representative of an affected producer), selling milk into commercial channels, and residing within their respective districts. DATCP certified each candidate's timely nomination form, which included five signatures from active dairy producers within the district as well as completion of a notarized "Affidavit of Eligibility" form.

To facilitate the voting process, DATCP is in the process of distributing mail-in ballots to dairy producers who reside within the eight affected districts. Producers who do not receive a ballot by May 10, 2019 should contact Debbie Gegare, DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator, at (608) 224-5116 or Debbie.Gegare@Wisconsin.gov to request a ballot. The election period runs through May 24, 2019 with results announced the end of May 2019.

For more election information, visit: www.wisconsindairy.org/elections

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit: https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About Us/MarketingBoards.aspx