Release Date: January 24, 2017

Media Contact: Rick Hummell 608-224-5041 <u>rick.hummell@wi.gov</u> Bill Cosh, Communications Director 608-224-5020 <u>William2.Cosh@wi.gov</u>

MADISON – Wisconsin's corn growers have re-elected three directors to the industry's market order board. Re-elected in District 1 is Randall Woodruff, Chippewa Falls; District 2, Thomas Gills, River Falls; and District 7, Ken Rosenow, Oconomowoc.

The three directors will serve three-year terms starting February 1, 2017.

The districts represent the following counties:

- District 1: Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Iron, Vilas, Burnett, Washburn, Sawyer, Price, Oneida, Polk, Barron, Rusk, Lincoln, Chippewa, Taylor, Eau Claire, Clark, Marathon, Jackson, Wood, Portage, and Waupaca counties.
- District 2: St. Croix, Dunn, Pierce, Pepin, Buffalo, and Trempealeau counties.
- District 7: Green Lake, Dodge, Washington, Ozaukee, Waukesha, and Milwaukee counties.

The nine-member Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board is responsible for overseeing the collection and use of about \$1.7 million in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin corn growers. The money is used to support the industry through research, market development and consumer education.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection administers elections for the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state. Learn more about the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board at wicorn.org. Learn more about the market order boards at https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About Us/MarketingBoards.aspx

###