

State of Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers

**Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection** Secretary-designee Randy Romanski

TO:	Vehicle Scale Owner/Operator
FROM:	Bureau of Weights and Measures, Division of Trade and Consumer Protection
SUBJECT:	Vehicle Scale Operator License Application

You need a current annual license for each commercial vehicle scale (VS) you operate (Wis. Stats. § 98.16). The license fee is \$115. All vehicle scale licenses expire on March 31<sup>st</sup>, and cannot be transferred or prorated.

## VS License Applications

- Complete and return a signed license application with a check payable to DATCP to the address on the application. Licenses will not be issued if the application is incomplete. Required information includes:
  - o Legal business name registered with the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions.
  - Physical address of the vehicle scale. If the scale has no street address, or is not easily located using the address, write very specific directions to the scale, including:
    - Fire Number
    - The street on which the scale entrance is located
    - The nearest crossroad
    - If road weight limitation exist, note the most direct truck route to the scale
  - A Wisconsin licensed service company scale test report documenting the VS scale is accurate according to NIST HG 44 standards. See VS annual test requirements below.

## **VS Annual Test Requirements**

Commercial scales with a capacity of 5,000 pounds or more need to be tested annually for accuracy by a scale service company licensed by the Department (Wis. Adm. Code ATCP § 92.30(7)). Annually means within 12 months of the previous test. For example, if you had your scale tested any time in June last year, you need to have it tested by the last day of June this year.

- You, or the service company on your behalf, must submit all Wisconsin service company VS test reports to the Department within 30 days of any test date. If you mail or email us the test report, we use the postmark or the email date to determine the 30 days.
- If an initial test finds a scale inaccurate, the scale may not be used until a licensed service company corrects the problem, retests the scale, and delivers a written report to the scale owner/operator verifying the scale is accurate.

(over)

Wisconsin - America's Dairyland

2811 Agriculture Drive • PO Box 8911 • Madison, WI 53708-8911 • Wisconsin.gov An equal opportunity employer

- A test report verifying the scale is accurate must be submitted to the department before a license can be issued for a new scale.
- Companies who are authorized to test VS scales are listed on the following website: <u>https://mydatcp.wi.gov/documents/dtcp/WMSvcCoListing(InstallSvcTestCalib).pdf</u>

## **VS License Surcharges**

- An operator must pay a license fee surcharge of \$200 if the operator is found operating a VS without a current license.
- An operator who fails to conduct an annual test report or submits the annual test report more than 30 days after the test is completed must pay a \$200 surcharge. The Department may not issue or renew your license if the surcharge is not paid.
- Additional civil forfeiture penalties may also apply.

## **VS Reinspection Fees**

A \$125 reinspection fee will be charged when state weights and measures inspectors reinspect inaccurate vehicle scales.

If you have questions, please contact us at:

(608) 224-4942

E-mail: datcpweightsandmeasures@wisconsin.gov