Two Directors Re-Elected to Wisconsin Soybean Board

Release Date: August 31, 2017

Media Contacts: Rick Hummell, 608-224-5041 <u>richard.hummell@wi.gov</u> or Bill Cosh, Communications Director, 608-224-5020 <u>William2.Cosh@wi.gov</u>

MADISON – Wisconsin's soybean growers have re-elected two directors to the industry's market order board. The re-elected directors are: Andy Bensend, Dallas, District 1; and Matthew Wagenson, Bear Creek, District 7.

The two directors will serve three-year terms starting September 1, 2017.

The two districts involved in the election represent the following counties:

- District 1 Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Clark, Chippewa, Douglas, Iron, Marathon, Portage, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, Washburn, and Wood.
- District 7 Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Shawano, Vilas, and Waupaca.

The seven-member Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board, Inc. is responsible for overseeing the collection and use of about \$2 million in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin soybean growers. The money is used to support the industry through research, market development and consumer education.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers elections for the Wisconsin Soybean Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state. To learn more about market order boards, visit

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx

XXX