Fish Farming in Wisconsin What You Need to Know



Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection • Division of Animal Health • February 2015

This is only a summary of the requirements for fish farms in Wisconsin. You can find the complete statutes and rules online; web addresses are listed at the end of this document. You can also call us at 608-224-4887 to get paper copies. **Do not use this summary as your only reference in starting up a fish farm.** You need to talk to us in the Division of Animal Health at the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP).

You need to register if	 You hatch fish eggs or hold live fish for any of the following purposes: Sale or distribution Stocking into state waters Fishing Bait or fertilizer Use as food for humans or animals Education, demonstration or research You hold live fish or fish eggs owned by someone else.
You do not need to register if	 Fish/eggs are ornamentals and are not mixed with non-ornamentals or reared for bait, or food for humans or animals. You hold live bait fish under a DNR bait dealer license and only sell the fish at retail. Fish/eggs are in a fully enclosed building, solely for education, display, or research in that building, not commingled with fish/fish eggs for other purposes, no untreated water used to hold fish or eggs is discharged to state waters, and all dead fish/offal from the building are disposed of by rendering, composting, municipal solid waste disposal or means approved by the department. You exhibit live fish publicly for 15 days or less in a calendar year, or longer with our authorization. You hold live fish or eggs for 30 days or less at a food processing plant, retail food store or restaurant pending slaughter or sale to consumers, provided that they are not commingled with fish/fish eggs used for other purposes, no untreated water used to hold fish or eggs is discharged to state waters, and all dead fish/offal are disposed of by rendering, composting, municipal solid waste disposal or means approved by the department. You are only transporting live fish or fish eggs to or from a fish farm. You nold live fish solely for the purpose of sale as pets, if certain criteria are met. You temporarily hold live fish in a Wisconsin DNR fish egg collection station located in waters of the state, solely for the purpose of collecting eggs, if certain requirements are met.
lf you have a private fish pond	 ✓ By registering your private pond, you are entitled to stock your pond without a DNR permit. ✓ If you register, you <i>do</i> have to meet all of our requirements for fish farms. ✓ A WI DNR aquatic pesticide or herbicide use permit may still be required. ✓ Registration is not intended for ponds that do not contain fish. ✓ Whether you register or not, you still must meet DNR requirements if your pond has an inlet or outlet connecting it to public or natural waters.
Fish farm types	 Type 1 registration allows: Fishing, including public fee fishing Collecting eggs from your own brood stock Obtaining live fish or fish eggs from a source other than your own farm (except from a wild source) Selling or distributing live fish/fish eggs to a food processing plant, retail store, or restaurant that meets certain requirements. Raising bait for personal use at your fish farm Moving live fish between Type 1 fish farms that you operate in Wisconsin Selling live fish/fish eggs off-site to consumers for food provided certain requirements are met.

Fish farm types	to outside this state ✓Type 3 registration allows: • All the activities allowed under Type	live fish/fish eggs for resale, ed on your fish farm) from inside this state s 1 and 2 fish or fish eggs from a wild source of species
If you have fish farms at more than one location	the contiguity. ✓ Each location must be a separate registrat ✓ You do not have to register all your locatio	, river, railroad, or section line does not break tion, on a separate form.
If you have more than one fish farm at the same location	certify the farms as medically separated. There is a \$400 (per day) fee for inspection ✓ Each farm <i>may</i> be considered separate for	on the same parcel or on contiguous parcels if we Call 608-224-4887 to request certification. on. In purposes of disease control and movement; this certificate to move fish or eggs between the farms.
Annual fees	 ✓ Type 1 registration: \$37.50 for one registration \$50 for two or more registrations ✓ Type 2 and Type 3 registration: \$125 for 1-5 registrations \$150 for 6-10 registrations \$200 for 11-20 registrations \$300 for more than 20 registrations ✓ Primary and secondary schools and veterations under s. 45.44, Wis. Stats., are exempt from 	ans eligible for the veteran's fee waiver program om fees.
Completing the application for registration	 Be sure to complete all areas of the form, on both sides of each page. If you don't, it will delay your registration. You also need to register as a livestock premises if there are fish/fish eggs in the pond or you intend to stock the pond this registration year. Call 1-888-808-1910 or go to <i>www.wiid.org</i> to register your premises. Without this livestock premises code on your fish farm registration, processing will be delayed. A check or money order for the appropriate fee must accompany your application. We will not issue your registration certificate without payment. 	
	 ✓ Send the application and payment to: WDATCP PO Box Lockbox 93598 Milwaukee, WI 53293-0598 	Send Social Security number form to: WDATCP/DAH Attn: Program and Policy Supervisor PO Box 8911 Madison, WI 53708-8911
	✓ Call 608-224-4887 if you have questions a	bout completing the application.

Ownership changes	Registration is not transferable. The new owner must apply to register the farm, even if the registration was up-to-date under the previous owner.
Other changes	✓ If there are changes in any of the information you provided on your registration application, you must contact us. Call 608-224-4887 and ask for the aquaculture program associate.
Keeping records	 ✓ You need to keep the following records of all fish/fish egg shipments to or from your farm for five years: Name, address, fish farm registration number (if any), and premises identification number (if any) of the person who shipped the fish/eggs, or to whom you delivered fish/eggs The date that you received or delivered fish/eggs The location where you received or delivered fish/eggs The size or class, quantity, and species of fish/eggs received or delivered Import permits issued by DATCP for movement of fish into Wisconsin from another state Fish health certificates ✓ You do not need to keep records on the sale of live fish/eggs sold directly to a consumer for food or bait.
Moving fish	 ✓ Health certificates are required to import live fish or fish eggs <i>into</i> Wisconsin from another state, or to move certain fish or fish eggs <i>within</i> Wisconsin. ✓ Health certificates are issued for: An individual shipment of fish/fish eggs, which expires 30 days after it is issued. A fish farm inspection, which expires one year after it is issued. ✓ Health certificates: Must be completed by a veterinarian or fish health inspector qualified to do fish health inspections, after a full inspection Must include results from a qualified laboratory for required disease testing Must be sent to us within 7 days after completion Are available by calling 608-224-4887
Importing fish	 Importing non-native species of non-ornamental fish, such as tilapia, requires DNR approval. Import permits are required from the department to import live fish/fish eggs into Wisconsin from another state if the fish/fish eggs are either coming from or going to the wild. If you register your fish farm, you may import fish/fish eggs from a fish farm in another state without an import permit as long as you have a health certificate.
Using pesticides	 You need to be certified by the Agricultural Resource Management Division of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection to apply restricted-use pesticides to destroy aquatic plants, microorganisms, or other pests. This is in addition to your fish farm registration. Call 608-224-4500 for information about pesticide applicator certification. There may be other federal, state or local regulations for use of pesticides.
Processing and selling fish for food	✓ To process or sell fish for human food, you will need to work with a food safety inspector and obtain appropriate licenses from the Food Safety Division of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. Call 608-224-4700.

For more information	 ✓ Rules and statutes Animal Health statute: <u>http://www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/Stat0095.pdf</u> (see 95.60)
	 Animal diseases and movement rule: <u>https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/010/10</u> (see subchapter VIII)
	✓ DATCP aquaculture veterinarian
	Dr. Myron Kebus, 608-224-4876, myron.kebus@wisconsin.gov
	✓ DATCP aquaculture license/permit program associate 608-224-4887, <u>DATCPfishfarms@wisconsin.gov</u>
	 University of Wisconsin aquaculture specialists Northern Region: Ron Johnson, 814-515-2570, ron.johnson@ces.uwex.edu Southern Region: Jim Held, 920-648-2902, jaheld@wisc.edu
	✓ DATCP food safety information 608-224-4700, DATCPfood@wisconsin.gov
	✓ DATCP pesticide information 608-224-4500, DATCPagriculture @wisconsin.gov



Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection Division of Animal Health 2811 Agriculture Drive Madison, WI 53718-6777 datcp.wisconsin.gov

DAH-062

-4-