Nominees Announced for Dairy Farmers of WI Board

Release Date: April 19, 2018

Media Contact: Rick Hummell, 608-224-5041 <u>rick.hummell@wi.gov</u> Bill Cosh, Communications Director, 608-224-5020 <u>William2.cosh@wi.gov</u>

MADISON – The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection announced today that 13 nominees are certified eligible for the Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin 2018 board election.

Formerly known as the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, the organization recently changed its name as part of a rebranding effort. While the organization's legal name remains Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, it will be doing business as Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin.

The following candidates, listed by district, are certified as eligible for election:

District 2 Florence, Forest, Langlade, Marinette, Oconto, and Vilas counties

Nominee – Connie Seefeldt, Coleman

District 5 St. Croix, Dunn counties

Nominees - Kay Zwald, Hammond; Rachel Kummer, Mondovi

District 8 Marathon County

Nominee - Steven Sternweis, Marshfield

District 11 Outagamie and Winnebago counties

Nominee – Mike Verhasselt, Kaukauna

District 14 Jackson, LaCrosse and Trempealeau counties

Nominees – Patricia Kling, Taylor; Louisa Peterson, Bangor

District 17 Calumet and Manitowoc counties

Nominee – Julie Maurer, Newton

District 20 Richland and Sauk counties

Nominee – Sharon Laubscher, Wonewoc

District 23 Iowa and Lafayette counties

Nominees – Jay Stauffacher, Darlington; Deborah Nelson, Arena;

Jerry Zander, Barneveld; Brenda Yager, Highland

DATCP confirmed that each candidate is an active dairy producer or representative of an affected producer, who sells milk into commercial channels and lives in the district up for election. In addition, DATCP certified each candidate's nomination form, which included five signatures from active dairy producers within the district and a notarized "Affidavit of Eligibility" requirement.

To vote, DATCP is distributing mail-in ballots to dairy producers who live within the eight affected districts. Producers who do not receive a ballot by May 10 should contact Debbie Gegare, the Market Orders Program Coordinator at (608) 224-5116 or Debbie.Gegare@Wisconsin.gov to request a ballot. The election period runs through May 25, with results announced the end of May. For more election information, visit www.wisconsindairy.org/elections.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx