Hemp Pilot Research Program

​​​Note: The application period for the 2020 licensing year opened November 1, 2019. 

Reminder to hemp growers: You must notify us via email or voicemail 30 days before you harvest your crop, so that we have adequate time to schedule testing. You should have received an email from us detailing this requirement. For details, click here​.​

___________________________________________

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection’s hemp pilot research program requires both hemp growers and processors to obtain one-time licenses, and register each year they intend to plant/process hemp. Growers and processors must also pass criminal background checks and pay fees to participate in the program. Emergency administrative rule, ATCP 22, which specifies the parameters of Wisconsin's hemp pilot program pursuant to 2017 Act 100, became effective March 2, 2018. 

This is a pilot research program permitted under terms of the 2014 federal Farm Bill and as described in Act 100, ATCP 22. As participants in the research program, growers and processors will be required to:

  • Destroy crops that test higher than the federally allowable levels of THC.
  • Obtain a hemp grower or processor license.
  • Pass a criminal background check.
  • Pay license fees and/or annual registration fees.
  • Submit a signed Research Agreement and a Research Plan.
  • Submit a planting report within 30 days of planting their hemp crop.
  • Provide DATCP with a 30-day notification of anticipated harvest date.
  • Provide access to DATCP hemp inspectors to obtain a hemp sample for each growing location and variety of hemp licensed.
  • Pay a $250 sampling fee for each growing location and variety sampled by DATCP.
  • Submit a final production/processing report at the end of the growing season and prior to registering for the following growing season.

There is inherent risk associated with participation in a research program focusing on a new crop and with participation in this research pilot program. There is no guarantee that your crop will pass the regulatory THC test.

Licensing, registration and fees 

Reporting and recordkeeping 

Inspection and testing 

Seed and transplants

2020 Licensing FAQs

2020 Sampling, Testing, and Variety FAQs

2020 General FAQs