Hemp Seed and Transplants

​​​​​​​​​​Buying or Receiving Seed or Transplants

Variety Notification and Approval

Whether you are growing for CBD/CBG, grain, or fiber, you must plant seed certified by the Wisconsin Crop Improvement Association (WCIA) or varieties approved by the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP). You must notify DATCP of each variety that you intend to plant; and if that variety is not already seed certified by WCIA, each variety must be approved in writing by DATCP before planting. Licensed growers with a current annual registration must submit a variety approval form for each variety you intend to plant, at least 30 days before planting.​ Instructions for submitting this are on the reporting and recordkeeping webpage.

Varieties Approved by DATCP

The following varieties are approved by DATCP:

Regardless of documentation provided or variety approval given, all hemp grown under the DATCP Hemp Program testing over 0.3 percent total delta-9 THC in DATCP's pre-harvest regulatory test must be destroyed if that lot is not eligible for a re-sample.

Prohibited Varieties

For 2021, the C4 variety is prohibited from being grown in Wisconsin, based on 2018 regulatory test results.

Seed and Transplant Sources

You should carefully research your supplier before buying hemp seed or transplants. Remember that all hemp grown in Wisconsin testing over 0.3 percent total delta-9 THC on DATCP's pre-harvest regulatory test must be destroyed if that lot is not eligible for a re-sample. There are many reputable distributors of hemp seeds and clones, and many varieties that produce at or below the 0.3 percent level. Seedling or clones sold or transferred in Wisconsin must originate from hemp lawfully produced under a hemp research pilot program, a USDA hemp producer license, or a state or tribal plan approved by USDA.

Wisconsin requires anyone selling seed in Wisconsin to be a licensed seed labeler, and anyone selling hemp clones to be a licensed hemp grower. While there is no penalty for buying seed from unlicensed sources, buying from a Wisconsin-licensed seed source does offer another layer of protection. However, buying from a Wisconsin-licensed seed source does not guarantee each hemp lot will pass DATCP's pre-harvest regulatory test. View a list of Wisconsin-licensed seed sources that sell hemp seed. If you need to acquire a Wisconsin seed-labeler license, contact the seed labeler program at (608) 224-4596 or email greg.helmbrecht@wi.gov​.

​Importing seeds or transplants from other states: Hemp seed and clones are available for sale from seed suppliers in other states. It is fully legal to move lawfully grown seeds and clones across state lines. You may also find seed sources on other states' hemp websites.

Importing seeds or transplants from other nations: The federal USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) regulates the importation of all plants and seeds for planting to ensure safe agricultural trade. For questions or r​equests for information regarding importing hemp plants or seeds into the U.S. contact:

     USDA APHIS Plant Protection and Quarantine’s Permit Services
     Email: plantproducts.permits@usda.gov​
     Phone: toll-free (877) 770-5990​​

Growing and Selling Hemp for Seed

Seed Certification
Growers who want to cultivate foundation, registered or certified hemp seed for certified seed production in Wisconsin must:

Seed Saving
Certified seed harvested from a pilot project cannot be sold for propagation, except under the Wisconsin Crop Improvement Association’s seed certification program. Otherwise, the harvested grain can be used only for processing or the grower's own hemp production. Altho​ugh we don't recommend planting non-certified seed, seed harvested from non-certified varieties may be saved, distributed and sold. Seed labeling and licensing rules apply (see below).

Selling Seed

If you plan to sell seed in Wisconsin, you will need to be licensed by DATCP as a seed labeler. You do not need a seed-labeler license if you sell seed in unopened bags or containers already labeled by a licensed seed labeler. For more information, check the DATCP seed program.

How to label hemp seed fact sheet

List of Wisconsin-licensed seed sources​


What Variety of ​Hemp Should I Grow?

Importing Hemp Seeds​

​​Seed Certification Information

What is certified seed?

Wisconsin Crop Improvement Association

Certified seed standards

Federal seed act definitions

Seed Sources

Wisconsin Licensed Seed Labelers Selling Hemp Seed​​

Websites for other states

American Seed Trade Association Information

How ​​to Read a Label on a Bag of Hemp Seed​​

La​ws, Regs and​ Other Considerations In Buying Seed​

Best Management Practices for Hemp Seed Production​