Soybean Board


About the Board

Begun in 1983, this market order board has seven members who represent some 14,000 soybean growers. Its purpose is research, new product development, national and international marketing, and education.
The board is responsible for the oversight of an annual assessment of approximately $2 million. The assessment rate is two cents per bushel, with about 100 pounds of soybeans per bushel.
Often called the miracle crop, soybeans are the world's foremost provider of protein and oil. Planted in late spring, the leafy plant produces 60 to 80 pods, each containing three pea-sized beans. A 60-pound bushel produces about 48 pounds of protein rich meal and 11 pounds of oil.
Wisconsin soybean growers harvested 105 million bushels of soybeans in 2018. They planted 2.22 million acres of soybeans in 2018.
Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board directors, each of whom serves a three-year-term, are:
District 1 (Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Iron, Marathon, Portage, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, Washburn and Wood counties): Andy Bensend, Dallas.
District 2 (Buffalo, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, St. Croix and Trempealeau counties): Gary Seipel, Eau Galle.
​District 3 (Adams, Crawford, Grant, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties): Kevin Bork, Grand Marsh.
District 4 (Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, Waushara and Winnebago counties): Jonathan Gibbs, Fox Lake.
District 5 (Dane, Green, Iowa, Lafayette and Rock counties): Patrick Mullooly, Clinton (Vice President).

District 6 (Jefferson, Kenosha, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington and Waukesha counties): Steve Wilkens, Random Lake.
District 7 (Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Shawano, Vilas and Waupaca counties): Matt Wagenson, Bear Creek.


More information about the board is available by writing to the Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board at 4414 Regent St., Ste 1, Madison, WI 54705-7522, or phoning (608) 274-7522 or faxing (608​) 274-3988.

Questions regarding elections may be directed to:

Debbie Gegare   
DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator
(​​608) 224-5116