Potato Board

About the Board ​

Started in 1989, this market order board has nine members who represent about 160 licensed potato producers. Its purpose is marketing, promotion, research, and education.
The board is responsible for managing an annual assessment of $1.5 million. The assessment rate is six cents per hundredweight of potatoes.
Wisconsin's potato growers produced 23 million cwt.​ of potatoes in 2018, ranking it third in the United States. Idaho is the nation's top potato producing state.
Potato production in Wisconsin is predominant in the central region of the state, although all 72 counties are represented on the potato industry board.
Wisconsin Potato Industry Board directors, each of whom serves a three-year term, are:
District 1: (Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties) Thomas Wild, Antigo; John Schroeder, Antigo; Keith Wolker, Antigo

District 2: (Marathon, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca and Waushara counties) William Wysocki, Plover; Richard Okray, Plover; Clifford Gagas, Custer.
District 3: (Adams, Buffalo, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Lafayette, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Winnebago and Wood counties) John Bobeck, Markesan; Heidi Randall, Cambaria.
District At-Large: Andy Diercks of Coloma.


More information about the board is available by writing to the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board at PO Box 327, 700 Fifth Street, Antigo, WI 54409-0327 or phoning (715) 623-7683 or faxing (715) 623-3176.

Questions regarding elections may be directed to:

Debbie Gegare   
DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator
(​​608) 224-5116