Cherry Board

About the Board​

Established in 1984, this market order board has five members who represent 34 licensed cherry producers. Its purpose is promotion, new product development, research, and education.  In 2014, cherry growers held a referendum to move to a five-member board, with all directors elected at-large.  This referendum was approved in 2015, eliminating districts.
The board is responsible for the management of an annual assessment that ranges from $20,000 to $30,000. The assessment rate is $10 per ton for processing and custom-packed cherries, and $3 per ton for juice cherries.
Wisconsin's cherry growers produced 10.9 million pounds in 2018, ranking the state fifth in the nation for cherry production.
Cherry production in Wisconsin is concentrated mainly in Door County, which is located on the Door Peninsula that extends into Lake Michigan. Wisconsin's cherry growers' fruit had a value of $3.66 million in 2018.
Wisconsin Cherry Board directors, each of whom serves a three-year term beginning September 1, 2016, are:
    Lee Petrina, Algoma (President)
    Barry Peterson, Green Bay
    James Seaquist, Ellison Bay
    Dan Krowas, Baileys Harbor
    Glen Musil, Sturgeon Bay


More information about the board is available by writing to the Wisconsin Cherry Board at PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911.

Questions regarding elections may be directed to:

Debbie Gegare   
DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator
(​​608) 224-5116