

Instructions for Submission of Minimum Risk Pesticides [FIFRA Section 25(b) Exempt] for Registration in Wisconsin

Minimum risk pesticides are a special class of pesticides that are exempt from federal U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) registration requirements under section 25(b) of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA), **provided that certain criteria are met**. The criteria for this exemption are specified under 40 CFR 152.25. Individual states may have their own additional criteria that products and their labels must meet to qualify as a Minimum Risk Pesticide.

Minimum Risk Pesticide products that qualify for exemption from federal registration with EPA are still considered pesticides under Wisconsin law [Wis. Stat. § 94.67(25)]. Accordingly, persons or firms that produce or distribute Minimum Risk Pesticide products must first obtain a Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler License and register their products with the state in order to sell or distribute their products for use in Wisconsin (Wis. Stat. § 94.68). It is the responsibility of the person or firm whose name and address appears on the pesticide product label to obtain this license and register each Minimum Risk Pesticide product at least 15 days prior to selling or distributing the product(s) in Wisconsin.

There are <u>no</u> license or surcharge fees for Minimum Risk Pesticide product registrations in Wisconsin. In order to sell or distribute Minimum Risk Pesticides in Wisconsin, persons or firms must first do the following:

- (1) Verify that each product meets all of EPA's Minimum Risk Pesticide criteria and the state of Wisconsin's Minimum Risk Pesticide requirements. Use the following documents on EPA's webpages and Wisconsin's Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler webpage to ensure your product qualifies as a Minimum Risk Pesticide:
- (a) EPA Overview of Minimum Risk Pesticides https://www.epa.gov/minimum-risk-pesticides
- (b) EPA Minimum Risk Pesticide Conditions

https://www.epa.gov/minimum-risk-pesticides/conditions-minimum-risk-pesticides

(c) Minimum Risk Pesticides: Active Ingredients

https://www.epa.gov/minimum-risk-pesticides/active-ingredients-allowed-minimum-risk-pesticide-products

- (d) Minimum Risk Pesticides: Inert Ingredients
- https://www.epa.gov/minimum-risk-pesticides/inert-ingredients-approved-use-minimum-risk-pesticide-products
- (e) Wisconsin's Minimum Risk Pesticide Requirements (includes information beyond the criteria outlined in 40 CFR 152.25 and the EPA's Conditions linked above)

https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents2/PesticideManufacturingWIRegulations.pdf

Minimum Risk Pesticide Registration Instructions Page 2 Revised 10/2023

- (2) Once you have verified that your product qualifies as a Minimum Risk Pesticide, submit the following:
- (a) Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler License Application (form DARM-BACM-012; new license or currently unlicensed applicants only).
- (b) Minimum Risk Pesticide Product Registration Form (form DARM-BACM-014). Multiple products may be listed on the same form.
- (c) A current copy of the label(s) (including each size of a given product) for each product listed on the Minimum Risk Pesticide Product Registration Form. Do not submit printed hard copies. Submit labels as text-searchable pdf documents (not scanned copies) via ALSTAR, or as email attachments to: DATCPPesticideRegistration@Wisconsin.gov.

A \$250 penalty fee will be assessed on any unreported/unregistered Minimum Risk Pesticides being distributed/sold for use in Wisconsin [Wis. Stat. § 94.681(5)]. Currently registered Minimum Risk Pesticides must be renewed annually to remain active and eligible for continued distribution/sale into the state. There continues to be **no fee** to register new Minimum Risk Pesticides or to renew Minimum Risk Pesticide products that are currently registered in Wisconsin.

Submit the completed application form(s) and text-searchable pdfs of the product label(s) to the secured email address DATCPPesticideRegistration@Wisconsin.gov.

You may also mail your Minimum Risk Pesticide application (do not include label hard-copies) to:

DATCP ATTN PESTICIDE PRODUCT REGISTRAR ARM DIV 2ND FLOOR PO BOX 8911 MADISON WI 53708-8911

Persons or firms who sell or distribute both Minimum Risk Pesticides and federally-registered (Section 3) pesticide products into Wisconsin must register each product but pay registration fees and surcharges only for the Section 3 pesticide products.

Promptly notify the Department of any changes to company name or address.

If you have any questions about Wisconsin pesticide registration requirements, please contact:

Pesticide Product Registrar (608) 294-0557 DATCPPesticideRegistration@Wisconsin.gov