Nominees Announced for Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin Board of Directors Election

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 1, 2025

Contact: Kelly Mella, Public Information Officer, (608) 440-0294

kelly.mella@wisconsin.gov

MADISON, Wis. – The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announced ten nominees for eight open seats in the 2025 Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin (DFW) Board of Directors election.

Eight districts are up for election beginning May 1, 2025. The following candidates, listed by district, have been certified as eligible for election:

District 3 Nominee: Gary Kohn, Medford Lincoln, Oneida, Price, and Taylor counties

District 6 Nominee: Alexandra Straschinske, Boyd

Chippewa and Eau Claire counties

District 9 Nominee: Jeff Betley, Pulaski Menominee, Shawano, and Waupaca counties

District 12 Nominees: Peggy Pankratz, Auburndale; and Stephanie Ann Hughes, Pittsville

Portage, Waushara, and Wood counties

District 15 Nominee: Sandra Madland, Lyndon Station

Adams, Juneau, and Monroe counties

District 18 Nominee: Rick Roden, West Bend

Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha counties

District 21 Nominees: Gail Klinkner, Viroqua; and Chad A. Sime, Gays Mills

Crawford and Vernon counties

District 24 Nominee: Virgil Haag, Mt Horeb

Dane and Jefferson counties

DATCP confirmed all certified candidates met the administrative rule marketing order eligibility criteria of being an active dairy producer or representative of an affected producer, selling milk into commercial channels, and residing within their respective districts. DATCP also certified each candidate's nomination form, which included five signatures from active dairy producers within the district as well as completion of a "Declaration of Eligibility" form. For more information, visit www.wisconsindairy.org/elections.

DATCP is mailing ballots to dairy producers who reside within the eight affected districts. Producers who have not received a ballot by May 15, 2025, can request one by contacting DATCP Market Orders staff at DATCPMarketOrders@wisconsin.gov. Completed ballots must be signed and returned by email to DATCPMarketOrders@wisconsin.gov or postmarked to DATCP Market Orders Program, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708, on or before May 23, 2025.

Elected producers will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2025, and ending June 30, 2028.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about these boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx.

###

Find more DATCP news in our <u>newsroom</u>, on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>X</u>, and <u>Instagram</u>.