
   

 
Are You Digging It?  

 
 Landscapers, Arborists, Tree Spaders 

and Others May Need a Nursery License 
   
 
 
 

Wisconsin Nursery Dealer Licensing and Regulations 
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Wisconsin’s nursery law (Wis. Stat. § 94.10) requires you to hold a current Nursery Dealer License if 
you purchase, for re-sale, more than $250 per year of nursery stock. If you operate as a nursery 
without the proper licenses, you could face civil or criminal charges with financial penalties of $200-
$5,000 per offense.

General 
1. Do I need a license even if I don’t have a 
store that sells nursery stock to the public? 
Yes. Any landscaper, arborist, tree spader, 
contractor, or installer is considered a nursery 
dealer that needs a license if they bill clients for 
more than $250 worth of nursery stock per year. 
 
2. What is nursery stock? 
Nursery stock refers to plants and plant parts that 
can be propagated or grown, including bulbs, 
shrubs, trees, and perennials. In simple terms, any 
plant that can overwinter in Wisconsin is 
considered nursery stock.  

3. Who is a nursery dealer? 
Anybody who buys nursery stock from a wholesaler 
or distributor and resells the nursery stock is 
considered a nursery dealer. This includes 
someone who purchases, resells, and installs 
nursery stock. An arborist or landscaper that plants 
trees, shrubs, or perennials that clients purchase 
directly from a nursery is not a nursery dealer. 
 
 
 

4. Why require a license? 
Licensing allows us to keep track of where plants are 
being propagated and sold, and efficiently manage 
and monitor harmful plant pests and diseases.   
 
5. What’s in it for me?  
Our goal is to be grower-friendly. Licensees benefit 
from: 

Consulting services – Our nursery 
inspectors can provide recommendations to 
help you prevent and manage pests and 
diseases and keep your business healthy. 

Information updates – Licensees are kept 
up-to-date with vital information related to 
plant health, such as changes in pest 
quarantine boundaries, additions to the 
Wisconsin invasive plant list, or signs and 
symptoms of new plant pests and diseases. 

Lab diagnostics – Our nursery inspectors 
can submit samples to our Plant Industry 
Laboratory, where entomologists and plant 
pathologists use state-of-the-art diagnostics 
to identify pests and pathogens. 
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Licensing  
6. When is a nursery dealer license required? 
A nursery dealer license is required if you sell or 
resell more than $250 annually of the following: 
perennial aquatic plants, bulbs, fruit trees, native 
grasses, perennials, shrubs, and trees. A nursery 
dealer license is not required if you only buy and 
sell any amount of: annuals, cut flowers, fruits, 
most herbs, vegetables, sod, or evergreens grown 
for eventual harvest and sale as Christmas trees. 
Christmas tree growers are licensed separately by 
the department, and Christmas tree dealers do not 
need a nursery license. 

7. Do I have to be a Wisconsin resident to get a 
license? 
No, but if you sell more than $250 of nursery stock 
in Wisconsin per year, then you need a Wisconsin 
license.  
 
8. How do I apply for a license? 
You can apply and pay online at mydatcp.wi.gov/ or 
an application and payment can be mailed in to 
DATCP.  
 
9. When can I apply for a license? 
New licensees can apply any time. Licenses expire 
on February 20. Renewal notices are mailed out 
annually and licenses can be renewed online or 
through the mail.  
 
10. How much does a license cost?  
Your license fees are based on how much you pay 
for nursery stock each year (even though the 
license eligibility threshold is based on nursery 
stock sales). The table below has detailed fee 
information. 
 

Nursery Dealer license fees are based on gross annual 
purchases of nursery stock 

If gross annual sales of Nursery Stock do not exceed 
$250, no license is issued. 

Purchases  Fee 
$5,000 or less $30 
$5,001 to $20,000 $50 
$20,001 to $100,000 $100 
$100,001 to $200,000 $150 
$200,001 to $500,000 $200 
$500,001 to $2,000,000 $300 
$2,000,001 to $3,000,000 $400 
>=$3,000,001 .0005 X Annual Purchases 

 
 

11. I am a nursery dealer who holds a few of my 
nursery stock plants over winter. Do I also need 
a Nursery Grower License?  
No. It is acceptable for Nursery Dealers to hold 
some stock over winter, or even to “heel-in” the 
stock for the winter. Heeling-in means to place a 
small amount of dirt over a plant keeping the 
nursery stock shallow and not fully rooting the 
plants. This keeps the plants from drying out during 
storage time. It is not considered growing or 
propagation, but merely keeping the nursery stock 
alive. 
 
12. Can I have a list of businesses that have 
Wisconsin nursery licenses? 
Anyone who holds a current nursery license 
(nursery growers, nursery dealers or Christmas tree 
growers) is publicly listed on the DATCP’s Nursery 
and Christmas Tree Licensing page: 
https://datcp.wi.gov/pages/programs_services/nurs
eryandchristmastreelicensing.aspx  
 
13. How do I report another business operating 
without a nursery license? 
If you have a question about whether a business 
has a license or you want to report a nursery 
operating without a license, please contact the 
nursery program at (608) 224-4574 or 
datcpnursery@wisconsin.gov  
 
 
Nursery Record Keeping 
14. Is there any kind of nursery stock record 
keeping requirement?  
It is required for nursery licensees to retain records 
of the source, quantity, and type of nursery stock 
shipments received for at least three years. In the 
event there is a pest or disease outbreak, these 
records shall be made available to DATCP upon 
request.  
 
Additional Resources 
You can learn more about Nursery and Christmas 
tree programs through these resources: 
 
• Visit the Nursery Program and Apply Online:  

o https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Servic
es/NurseryAndChristmasTreeLicensing.aspx  
 

• Call or Email the Nursery Program:   
o (608) 224-4572 

datcpnursery@wisconsin.gov   
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