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Safe Wisconsin Produce: 
A preventive approach to 
produce safety
Safe Wisconsin Produce is Wisconsin’s 
program to adopt federal produce safety 
regulations in a manner that makes 
sense for our growers and ensures our 
produce remains safe and wholesome. 

This program is the result of the Food 
Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) of 
2011, which changed the focus of 
U.S. food supply safety efforts from a 
response to a prevention approach. Here 
we will try to answer some of your initial 
questions about the program and give 
you resources for learning more. 

What resources are 
available to me?
Besides the assistance and information 
available from Safe Wisconsin Produce 
representatives, other state and federal 
agencies may be able to assist you:

Produce Safety Alliance
www.producesafetyalliance.cornell.edu

North Central Region Center for FSMA Training, Extension 
and Technical Assistance
www.ncrfsma.org

Food Safety & Health, UW Madison
www.foodsafety.wisc.edu

University of Wisconsin-Extension
www.uwex.edu

Buy Local Buy Wisconsin Grant
www.datcp.wi.gov/Pages/BuyLocalBuyWisconsinGrants.aspx

Wisconsin Focus on Energy Agribusiness Incentives
www.focusonenergy.com/business/efficient-equipment/ 
agribusiness

Benefits.gov
www.benefits.gov

Food Safety Audit Programs
www.ams.usda.gov/services/auditing/gap-ghp

Grants.gov
www.grants.gov

Contact Us
Phone: (608) 224-4511
Email: safeproduce@wi.gov
Web: SafeProduce.wi.gov



How do I determine if my 
farm will be covered by the 
Safe Wisconsin Produce 
program?
•	 If your fresh produce sales are less 

than $25,000 a year (averaged over the 
previous 3 years), you are not covered 
by federal produce safety regulations.

•	 If your fresh produce sales are more 
than $25,000, and your gross sales for 
all food (meat, dairy, poultry, etc.) are 
less than $500,000, you may qualify for 
an exemption from many, but not all 
produce safety regulations.

•	 If your produce sales are more than 
$25,000 or your gross food sales are 
more than $500,000, you might be fully 
covered by the produce safety rule.

•	 Other exemptions and scenarios may 
exclude you from the rules while others 
may mean you have to comply. Ask a 
Safe Wisconsin Produce representative 
about your particular situation for more 
information.

Where can I learn more 
about Safe Wisconsin 
Produce and what the new 
federal produce safety 
rules mean for my farm?
You can attend various sponsored 
produce safety training events; attend 
a Safe Wisconsin Produce sharing 
session in your area; look for the Safe 
Wisconsin Produce brochures at county 
and state fairs; send us an email at 
safeproduce.wi.gov; or visit our website 
at SafeProduce.wi.gov.

How quickly do I have to 
meet the Safe Wisconsin 
Produce requirements?
Depending on the size of your farm, 
you will have between two and four 
years to meet most of the produce 
safety regulations. Generally speaking, 
the smaller your farm’s operation, the 
more time you have to meet guidelines.

How will Wisconsin ensure 
its produce meets the new 
federal produce safety 
standards?
Safe Wisconsin Produce will first make 
sure affected farmers know what the 
guidelines are and provide farmers with 
the tools to ensure their produce is 
safe.

Classes will be offered to provide 
you with instruction on the best safe 
farming practices. Safe Wisconsin 
Produce inspectors will be available to 
conduct courtesy on-farm reviews. Safe 
Wisconsin Produce personnel will also 
travel throughout the state attending 
fairs and produce conventions to 
talk directly with you, listen to your 
concerns, and provide you with 
requested information.


