State of Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker



Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Sheila E. Harsdorf, Secretary

Wisconsin Weights and Measures Laboratory

- TO: Commercial Vehicle Scale (VS) Owner/Operator
- **FROM:** Bureau of Weights and Measures, Division of Trade and Consumer Protection
- SUBJECT: VS Test Requirements

VEHICLE SCALE TEST REQUIREMENTS

- 1. Operators need to have a Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures Service Company test scales at least annually (within 12 months of the previous test). For example, if you had your scale tested in June last year, you need to have it tested by the last day of June this year.
- 2. Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures Service Companies are listed on the following website: <u>https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/WeightsMeasuresServiceCompanyListing.pdf</u>
- 3. Operators, or the service company on your behalf, need to send all scale test reports to the department within 30 days of the actual test date. If you test a scale multiple times in a year for any reason (such as when a scale is repaired and re-tested), all test reports must be sent to the department within 30 days of each test. We use the postmark or e-mail date to determine the 30 days.
- 4. If a test finds a scale inaccurate, the scale may not be used until a licensed service company corrects the problem, retests the scale, and delivers a written report to the scale owner/operator verifying the scale is accurate.
- 5. For new scales, an initial test report verifying the scale is accurate must be submitted to the department with the license application before a license can be issued for a new scale.

VEHICLE SCALE TEST SURCHARGES

- **Overdue annual test surcharge:** An operator who fails to conduct an annual test on a scale within 12 months of the previous test must pay a \$200 surcharge.
- Late test report surcharge: An operator must send all Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures service company scale test reports to the department within 30 days of the test date. Operators that send a test report more than 30 days after the test is completed must pay a \$200 surcharge.
- The department will not issue or renew your license if the surcharge is not paid.
- Additional civil forfeiture penalties may also apply

You can find a copy of the law, Wisconsin Administrative Code §92.30(7) at: <u>https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/090/92/IV/30/7</u>

If you have questions, contact us at: 608-224-4942 or e-mail: <u>datcpweightsandmeasures@wi.gov</u>

Agriculture generates \$88 billion for Wisconsin

2811 Agriculture Drive • PO Box 8911 • Madison, WI 53708-8911 • Wisconsin.gov An equal opportunity employer