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Three-day right to cancel

A provision of the Wisconsin
Consumer Act grants Wisconsin
consumers the right to cancel
certain consumer transactions
within three business days.
Consumer transactions are those
purchases made by individuals
that are for personal, family or
household purposes. In these
transactions merchants are
required to provide the consumer
with a notice that informs them
that they have a right to cancel. In
order to cancel consumers must
mail their cancellation request
within three business days of
receiving the “Customers Right to
Cancel” notice from the seller.

The three day right to cancel
applies to transactions that meet
all the following conditions:

1. Certain cash or credit
transactions that exceed $25.

2. Transactions entered into
away from the seller’s normal
place of business (such as the
consumer’s home); and

3. Transactions initiated by face-
to-face solicitation away from
the seller’s regular place of
business, or where the
transaction is directed to a
particular customer via mail or
telephone solicitation. The
right to cancel law covers fairs
and trade shows also.

For example, if a salesperson
came to your home and sold you
a vacuum cleaner, you would
have three business days to
cancel. However, if you
purchased a vacuum cleaner at
an appliance store, the three day
right to cancel would not apply.

The right to cancel law is found in
Wis. Stats. § 423.203. The
cancellation notice that sellers
must give consumers looks like
this:

“CUSTOMER’S RIGHT
TO CANCEL”

You may cancel this agreement
by mailing a written notice to
(insert name and mailing
address of seller) before
midnight of the third business
day after you signed this
agreement. If you wish, you
may use this page as that notice
by writing “I hereby cancel” and
adding your name and address.
A duplicate of this page is
provided by the seller for your
records.

The law requires the seller to give
you two copies of a notice setting
forth your rights. Wisconsin law
requires that the notice be in a
specific format.

If the merchant is in any way
engaged in interstate commerce,
the notice required by federal law
must be given. Note that, for most
merchants, the federal notice will

be required. Compliance with the
federal notice requirement will be
considered as compliance with
the Wisconsin Consumer Act
notice requirement.

The cancellation must be in
writing. Use one of the two
copies of the notice of your right
to cancel and write on it, “| hereby
cancel this contract.” Mail it to the
seller. The notice must be sent to
the seller by midnight of the third
business day after the seller has
given you the notice. Saturday,
Sunday and legal federal or state
holidays are not “business days”
for purposes of cancellation. You
can also send a letter, telegram,
or other correspondence
indicating your intention to cancel.

Sending the request via certified
mail will guarantee proof of
mailing date and receipt of notice.
Or, consider hand delivering the
cancellation notice before
midnight of the third business
day. Keep the other copy of the
cancellation form for your
records.

Within ten days, the seller must
refund all payments made by you
and cancel any contract signed
by you. You are not liable for any
finance or other charges and the
transaction is void.

The seller must return any
property traded in by you within
20 days. If the seller has
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delivered any property to you, you For more information or to file a WEBSITE: datcp.wi.gov

may keep it until the seller has complaint, visit our website or
returned the down payment. At contact the: (800) 422-7128
that time, you must make the .
property available to the seller. Bureglsjlcif AC gor?;:]l%?; PDrrci>\tlzct|on FAX: (608) 224-4677

. . PO Box 8911 TTY: (608) 224-5058
If the property is not picked up Madison WI 53708-8911 (608)
W|th|n 20 dayS af'[el’ you have I:\dtcp\common\Facts Sheets\ThreeDayRightToCancel:l}79
made it available, you are entitled E-MAIL orie
to keep the property without any DATCPHotline@wi.gov
obligation to pay for it.

EXAMPLE 1

You, the buyer may cancel this transaction at any time prior to midnight of the third business day after the
date of this transaction. See the attached notice of cancellation form for an explanation of this right.

EXAMPLE 2

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO CANCEL
Date

You may CANCEL this transaction, without any penalty or obligation, within THREE BUSINESS DAYS from the
above date.

If you cancel, any property traded-in, any payments made by you under the contract or sale, and any
negotiable instrument executed by you will be returned within TEN BUSINESS DAYS following receipt by the
seller of your cancellation notice, and any security interest arising out of the transaction will be canceled.

If you cancel, you must make available to the seller, at your residence, in substantially as good condition as
when received by you, any goods delivered to you under this contract or sale; or you may, if you wish, comply
with the instructions of the seller regarding the return shipment of the goods at the seller’'s expense and risk.

If you do make the goods available to the seller and the seller does not pick them up within 20 days of the date
of your notice of cancellation, you may retain or dispose of the goods without any further obligation.

To cancel this transaction, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice, or any other
written notice or telegram, to:

at

(Name of Seller)

(Address of Seller’s Place of Business)

NO LATER THAN MIDNIGHT OF

(Date)
| HEREBY CANCEL THIS TRANSACTION.

(Date) (Buyer’s Signature)



