
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

Telecommunication laws: 
Phone, cable, satellite, & internet 
service 
 
The Wisconsin Department of 
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer 
Protection regulates business 
practices of the 
telecommunications industry – 
phone, cable, satellite, and 
internet service for personal use, 
not business. These rules are 
found in Wisconsin Administrative 
Code Chapter 123. ATCP 123 
prohibits unfair subscription and 
billing practices, including 
undisclosed charges, “Cramming 
or Packing,” “Slamming,” and 
“negative option” practices. 

Wisconsin 
telecommunication laws 
cover: 

Contracts 

Before a contract is signed, a 
customer must be informed of 
exactly what services are 
included, and the total 
subscription cost, broken down by 
each service to include all 
incidental charges and taxes, 
effective date of the subscription, 
and the expiration date, if any. 
The contract must also include 
any cancellation charges or other 
limitations on the consumer’s 

right to cancel the subscription at 
any time. 

Cramming or Packing 

A marketing practice called 
“cramming or packing” is 
prohibited. These two practices 
involve adding optional services 
that a customer did not order and 
are not required by law. It also 
means misleading or deceptive 
charges on your telephone bills. 
Crammers rely on confusing 
telephone bills in an attempt to 
trick consumers into paying for 
services they did not authorize or 
receive, or that cost more than 
the consumer was led to believe. 

Slamming 

Slamming is the illegal practice of 
switching a consumer’s traditional 
wireline telephone company for 
local, local toll, or long distance 
service without permission. If this 
should occur, contact the 
slamming company and tell them 
that you want the problem fixed 
and, under Wisconsin Law, you 
do not pay for the first 30 days of 
its service. 

 

Subscription changes 

If a provider is going to increase 
the price or change the terms of 
the subscription – they must give 
the customer written notice 
describing the changes and the 
effective date. This notice must 
be given 25-90 days in advance 
of the changes. A provider must 
also inform customers that they 
are free to cancel without penalty. 

Negative option 

A provider may not permit a 
“negative option” on a consumer’s 
bill. “Negative option” billing is the 
practice of subscribing a 
customer to a service they did not 
order and leave it up the 
customer to cancel the service. 
For example, if a customer orders 
a basic cable channel package, 
the provider cannot add premium 
movie channels without the 
customer ordering them. 

Renewals 

Unless a customer is free to 
cancel at any time without 
penalty, a provider may not renew 
the customer’s subscription 
without notice. This notice must 



be easy to understand and given 
30-60 days before the renewal 
date. The provider may include 
the reminder notice as part of a 
regular billing statement.  

Disclosures and cancellation 

A provider must disclose which 
services are being charged on 
every bill. Providers must honor a 
customer’s request to cancel 
services and may not charge for a 
service provided after the 
customer cancelled it. A 
cancellation or disconnection fee 
cannot be charged unless the fee 
was disclosed as part of the 
subscription. 

Misrepresentation of 
services 

A telecommunications provider 
cannot make false or misleading 
statements to help induce a sale. 
A provider may not misrepresent 
its identity, or that a consumer 
has subscribed or received an 
electronic communications 
service, or the terms of a 
subscription. Any advertisements 
or statements need to be true and 
explained prior to any service 
agreements. 

Promotional offers 

A provider may not offer a prize 
or other promotion to new 
customers unless any “strings 
attached” are disclosed with 
every advertisement of that offer. 
For example, if you sign up for a 
car giveaway without reading the 
fine print, you may end up 
changing your long distance 
phone carrier. 

 

 

For more information or to file a 
complaint, visit our website or 
contact the Bureau of Consumer 
Protection. 

Bureau of Consumer Protection 
2811 Agriculture Drive 

PO Box 8911 
Madison WI 53708-8911 

 
E-MAIL:  

DATCPHotline@wi.gov 
 

WEBSITE: 
datcp.wi.gov 

 
(800) 422-7128 

 
FAX: (608) 224-4677 

 
TTY: (608) 224-5058 
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