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 Which products must be registered in the state of Wisconsin? 
 

Per Wis. Stat. § 94.67 (25) a pesticide is “any substance or mixture of substances labeled 
or designed or intended for use in preventing, destroying, repelling or mitigating any pest, 
or as a plant regulator, defoliant or desiccant”. Wis. Stat. § 94.68 (1) requires all firms that 
“manufacture, formulate, package, label, or otherwise produce pesticides for sale or 
distribution in this state, or sell or offer to sell pesticides to purchasers in this state” to 
register their products and obtain a Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler license from the 
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP). This 
includes products which the EPA considers exempt under FIFRA Section 25(b).   
 
Under Wis. Stat. § 94.68 (1)(b), a license is not required if firms produce or sell only: 
“pesticides or active ingredients to licensed manufacturers for use as a basic ingredient in 
the manufacture or formulation of another pesticide or for further processing, packaging, 
or labeling”.  This generally exempts most technical grade/manufacturing use pesticides 
from registration in Wisconsin unless there are uses on the label that allow for direct 
application. 

 
 What are the fees for registering pesticide products in Wisconsin? 

 
Beginning in 2018, all pesticide products are subject to an annual registration fee of $500 
per product, regardless of the amount sold in Wisconsin during the current license year.  
This fee is the same for both new and renewed products, and for all product types.  
Products exempted under FIFRA 25(b) are not subject to this registration fee. However, if 
unregistered 25(b) products are found during routine marketplace inspections, the 
products will be placed under a holding order and a $250 penalty will be charged. 
 
Firms that are considered “primary producers” are also subject to a $150 well-
compensation fee, which is due once annually.  Wis. Stat. § 94.681 (1)(e) defines a 
“primary producer” as a firm that “manufactures an active ingredient that is used to 
manufacture or produce a pesticide”. This fee is typically charged at the time of license 
renewals and does not need to be paid each time a firm considered a “primary producer” 
wishes to register a new pesticide product.  The exception to this is when a firm 
considered a “primary producer” that has not previously registered any products in the 
state of Wisconsin wishes to register a new product. In this case, the $150 well-
compensation fee must be paid along with the new product registration fee. 

 
 What is Wisconsin’s pesticide registration cycle? 

 
Our registration cycle is a regular calendar year, with licenses effective from January 1st 
through December 31st. 



How do I renew my Wisconsin Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler License? 

At the beginning of our renewal season (late September – early October), a Pesticide 
Manufacturer and Labeler License Application containing a list of actively registered 
products will be mailed to the address we have on file for your firm.  This form will have a 
checkbox next to each active product for you to elect whether you would like to 
discontinue that product for the following license year.  After the Pesticide Manufacturer 
and Labeler License Application is completed, it can be returned via mail or email 
(datcppesticideregistration@Wisconsin.gov) to DATCP for processing.  We will then send 
an invoice containing license renewal fees for the following license year. Payments can be 
made either by mailed check (see address above) or online by credit card or ACH at 
https://mydatcp.wi.gov/Licenses/Payment/AnonymousPayment. Fees may apply for 
payments made online. All license renewal fees must be received or postmarked no later 
than December 31st. Please plan ahead if you plan to return your Pesticide Manufacturer 
and Labeler License Application to us via email or mail to allow us time to process the 
application and send an invoice, as well as allowing yourself time to send payment by 
the December 31st deadline. If payment is not received or postmarked by December 31st, 
additional late fees will apply. Once license renewal fees have been received, a license 
certificate will be mailed to the address we have on file. 

Beginning with the 2019 renewal season (Fall 2018), it will also be possible to complete 
the Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler renewal process online.  More information will be 
coming soon for registrants who wish to use this feature. 

What are the fees for renewing a Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler license after 
December 31st? 

All registrants that have not paid their Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler license renewal 
fee prior to the December 31st deadline will be assessed an additional 20% late fee.  This 
late fee amount totals $100 per product registered with Wisconsin, and applies to both 
active and discontinued pesticide products. 

How do I register a new pesticide product in Wisconsin? 

Our Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler webpage contains all of the informational 
resources necessary for pesticide registration in Wisconsin.  Our most current forms can 
be found under the “Additional Resources” heading on the right-hand side of the page.  
Please note that the form used for registration of EPA-registered products is separate 
from the form used for products exempted under FIFRA 25(b).  All new product 
registration applications must contain the following: 

1. The current year’s Pesticide Manufacturer and Labeler License Application (new
companies only)
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2. A New Pesticide Product Registration Form or Exempt Pesticide Product Registration
Form (multiple products can be listed on the same form)

3. Product registration fee of $500 per product (with the exception of 25(b)’s)

4. A current version of the pesticide product label must be submitted to DATCP in text-
searchable PDF format only

How can I submit new or revised pesticide product labels? 

We accept labels for new product registrations either via our secured email server 
(datcppesticideregistration@Wisconsin.gov) or via ALSTAR.  Visit 
http://npirspublic.ceris.purdue.edu/alstar.html for more information about this third-
party service. 

Revised labeling for previously-registered products can also be submitted by either of the 
above listed methods, or via Kelly Solutions. Visit http://www.kellysolutions.com/ for 
more information about this third-party service. 

*Please note that as of March 2018, DATCP will no longer be able to accept product 
labels or supplemental materials submitted on compact disc (CD).*

How long will it take for my new pesticide product to be registered? 

Per Wis. Stat. § 94.68 (3), DATCP must be notified at least 15 days prior to the sale or 
distribution of a new pesticide product.  Processing time of new pesticide product 
applications is variable depending on workload at different times of the year, but may 
take up to 2 weeks from the date the application is received.  If necessary application 
elements described above are missing or submitted in a format that DATCP does not 
accept, processing will be delayed until we receive all of the necessary elements. 

Where is my certificate of registration for my new pesticide product? 

Wisconsin does not provide certificates of registration for individual products. Rather, a 
list of all actively registered and discontinued products for the current license year will be 
sent out after annual renewals are completed, or upon request. Instead of a certificate, a 
confirmation email will be sent to the registrant of a new pesticide product once the 
product’s registration has been completed.  The registration status of products may also 
be checked on our Kelly Registrations website (www.kellysolutions.com/wi), which is 
updated weekly. 
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 Does Wisconsin accept applications for new pesticide product registrations online? 
 

At this time, Wisconsin does not have a method to accept new product registrations 
online.  All applications and payments for new products must be submitted as a hard 
copy. An exception would be registration of products exempted under FIFRA 25(b), which 
do not have a registration fee.  These forms may be submitted via email to 
datcppesticideregistration@Wisconsin.gov.  

 
 Where do I send my renewal and new pesticide product registration applications and 

payments? 
 

For mailings containing correspondence only (no payments), applications or submissions 
may be sent to: 
 
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (WDATCP) 
2811 Agriculture Drive 
ARM Division – 2nd Floor Attn: Monica Daane 
Madison, WI 53718-6777      
 
*Do not send payments to the above address, or processing will be delayed* 
 
All other mailings with payments included can be submitted to: 
 
WDATCP 
Box 093598 
Milwaukee, WI 53293-0598 
 
Or, for courier packages requiring a physical address: 
 
WDATCP – Lockbox 093598 
c/o US Bank 
777 E Wisconsin Avenue 
Milwaukee, WI 53202 

 
 I would like to discontinue a pesticide product with my annual renewal.  Do I need to pay 

a fee? 
 

Yes, all discontinued products are subject to the same annual $500 per product fee as new 
or renewed products.  This fee is due regardless of whether product exists in the 
channels of trade or not.  Wisconsin does not have a product cancellation policy.  All 
products that have not had their renewal or discontinuation fees paid are considered 
expired and subject to holding orders and a penalty fee of double the original registration 
fee where they are found for sale. 
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If a product had its renewal fee paid during the renewal cycle and is marked as active for 
the current license year, but you wish to discontinue it after this period has passed, please 
contact the pesticide product registrar at datcppesticideregistration@Wisconsin.gov or 
(608) 224-4536. 
 

 I have discontinued a pesticide product. What does that mean? 
 
All products marked as discontinued in Wisconsin undergo a one-year discontinuation 
cycle.  This means that these products will not appear on renewal documents for the year 
following the year they were marked discontinued.  After a product is discontinued, stocks 
already existing in the state of Wisconsin may continue to be sold until they are 
exhausted.  No additional product may be brought into the state, however. 

 
 The EPA Reg. No. or Brand Name of my product has changed. Do I need to re-register? 

 
Yes, Wisconsin requires that products with changes to brand name or EPA Reg. No. be 
discontinued under the current brand name/EPA Reg. No. and re-registered under the 
new brand name/EPA Reg. No. 

 
 Does Wisconsin register pesticide devices? 

 
No, Wisconsin does not require registration of pesticide devices. 

 
 Do I need to register different colors, scents, sizes, etc. of my pesticide product with the 

same brand name/EPA Reg. No.? 
 

No, Wisconsin does not require that products of the same brand name and EPA Reg. No. 
with different colors, scents, or sizes are registered separately.  Instead, we request that a 
statement to the effect of (various colors, scents, sizes, etc.) is made at the end of the 
product brand name to indicate that different colors, scents, or sizes will be sold.  If 
products do have different brand names or are registered under a different EPA Reg. 
No., we do require that these products are registered separately. 

 
 Does Wisconsin require product SDS or EPA-stamped labels to be submitted? 

 
No, Wisconsin does not require the submission of product SDS or EPA-stamped labels.  
Only a current product label as it appears on product for sale or distribution is required 
with new product registrations. 

 
 Does Wisconsin require 2(ee) recommendations to be submitted? 

 
No, Wisconsin does not require the submission of 2(ee) recommendations. 
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 What is required for a special product registration, including Special Local Needs (FIFRA 
Sec. 24[c]) registrations and FIFRA Sec. 18 Emergency Exemptions? 

 
Please visit our Special Pesticide Registrations webpage for more information or contact 
Alyssa Foss at Alyssa.Foss@Wisconsin.gov or (608) 224-4547. 

 
 I have a different question.  Who can I contact? 

 
Questions related to pesticide product registrations can be directed to: 
 
Monica Daane 
Regulatory Specialist - Agricultural Resource Management Division 
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
(608) 224-4536 
Monica.Daane@Wisconsin.gov  
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