
DATCP will contact the offending business, 
making them aware of the Do Not Call 
Registry. If subsequent complaints are received 
about the same business, DATCP may pursue 
court action and monetary penalties. 
Telemarketers who call or text someone on the 
Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry can be subject 
to a $100 forfeiture per violation. 
What should I do if I get a telemarketing call 
or text message after I have registered to be 
on the list? 
1. If you have Caller ID, write down the phone 

number from which they are calling or 
texting. It is illegal for a telemarketer to 
block Caller ID. 

2. Get the name of the company for which the 
telemarketer works. Often companies will 
contract with telemarketing companies to 
market their services for them. Make sure 
you get the name of the telemarketing 
company as well as the company for which 
they are selling. All telemarketers are 
required to state their name and their 
company’s name at the beginning of the 
call. If you did not hear it, ask them to 
repeat it.  

3. Ask the telemarketer for their Wisconsin 
telephone solicitor registration number.  

4. Remember you are not automatically added 
to the registry the day you sign up. After 
you register, your phone number will show 
up on the registry by the next day. 
Telemarketers have up to 31 days to get 
your phone number and remove it from their 
call lists. 

5. Once you have gathered the information, 
file a complaint with DATCP. It is important 
to provide as much information as you can, 
including the name of the telemarketing 
company, the location from which they are 
calling, the name of the person calling, the 
phone number and the product or service 
they called to sell. 

 

Does the Do Not Call Registry prohibit pre-
recorded messages (robocalls) from 
telemarketers? 
Yes, as long as they are not from one of the 
exempt groups. If you receive robocalls about 
candidates running for office, or charities 
asking for donations, these robocalls are 
allowed. However, if you are a customer of a 
business, they may not use pre-recorded 
messages to contact you. If the recording is a 
sales message and you haven't given your 
permission to get calls from the company on 
the other end, the call is illegal. In addition to 
the phone calls being illegal, their pitch most 
likely is a scam.  
What should I do about robocalls?  
1. Hang up the phone. Don't press 1 to speak 

to a live operator or any other number to 
get your number off the list. If you respond 
by pressing any number, it will likely lead to 
more robocalls. 

2. Consider contacting your phone provider 
and asking them to block the number, and 
whether they charge for that service. 
Remember that telemarketers change 
Caller ID information easily and often, so it 
might not be worth paying a fee to block a 
number that will change. 

3. Report the violation to DATCP by filing a 
complaint online or by calling the 
Consumer Protection Hotline at (800) 422-
7128. 

Can telemarketers or anyone else use the 
registry to make sales calls? Will the 
registry be given out for any other purpose? 
The law very clearly states that any other use 
of the list is illegal. The list is not subject to an 
“Open Records” request, unlike most other 
state documents. If it is discovered that the list 
is being used for any other purpose, DATCP 
will prosecute the perpetrators to the fullest 
extent of the law.  
 

Do I need Caller ID to make the Wisconsin 
Do Not Call Registry work? 
You are not required to have a Caller ID 
service to receive the benefits of the Do Not 
Call Registry.  
The registry works independently of any Caller 
ID service you may have. Instead of blocking 
incoming calls, the list requires telemarketers to 
take people who have signed up for the Do Not 
Call Registry off their marketing or calling lists, 
with some exceptions. 
 
How do I file a Do Not Call complaint? 
You can file a complaint on our website or by 
calling (800) 422-7128. 
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Trade and Consumer Protection 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 
2811 Agriculture Drive, PO Box 8911 
Madison, WI 53708-8911 
Email: DATCPHotline@wi.gov  
Website: datcp.wi.gov 
(800) 422-7128 TTY: (608) 224-5058 

NoCallConsumersFAQ286 (rev 10/23) 

Wisconsin 
Do Not Call 

Registry 
Frequently Asked 
Questions (FAQs)  

for Consumers 

Bureau of Consumer Protection 

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/FileConsumerComplaint.aspx
https://mydatcp.wi.gov/Complaints/complaint/create/1443c589-da19-e511-af89-0050568c06ae
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Homepage.aspx


What is the Wisconsin Do Not Call 
Registry?  (Wisconsin Do Not Call Laws 
Wis. Stat. § 100.52 & Wis. Admin. Code ch. 
ATCP 127, subchapter V) 
The Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry gives you 
an opportunity to limit the telemarketing calls 
you receive. After you register, your phone 
number will show up on the registry by the next 
day. Telemarketers covered by the Do Not Call 
Registry have up to 31 days from the date you 
register to stop calling you.  
Any business – whether located inside or 
outside of Wisconsin – soliciting Wisconsin 
residents by telephone call or text message, 
must obtain a copy of the registry and delete 
the consumers’ names from its own calling list.  
The law also prohibits businesses from 
intentionally blocking the Caller ID feature on 
your telephone. 
Who manages the Wisconsin Do Not Call 
Registry? (Wis. Stat. § 100.52) 
The Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry is 
managed by the US Federal Trade 
Commission (FTC), the nation’s consumer 
protection agency. Wisconsin residents who 
sign up for the National Do Not Call Registry 
are protected by both the federal Do Not Call 
law and by Wisconsin’s telemarketing laws. 
How do I sign up for the list? 
Residential cell phones, landlines, and VOIP 
numbers are eligible for registry. You may sign 
up for the Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry one 
of two ways:  
1. By calling toll-free: 1-888-382-1222 

(TTY 1-866-290-4236) 
You must call from the telephone number 
you wish to register on the Do Not Call 
Registry. You can only register one home or 
cell phone number each time you call. 

2. Online at: donotcall.gov 
You may register up to three home or cell 
phone numbers at one time on the Do Not 
Call Registry website. The online 
registration process requires an active 

email address. You will receive a separate 
confirmation email for each number you 
wish to register online. You must open each 
email and click on the link in each email 
within 72 hours to complete the registration 
process. If you have more than three 
telephone numbers, you will have to go 
through the registration process again to 
register all your numbers.  

How much does it cost to join the list? 
There is no charge to register for the federal 
and Wisconsin Do Not Call Registry. 
How can I verify my number is on the 
registry? 
To verify that your number is on the registry, go 
to donotcall.gov or call 1-888-382-1222 (TTY: 
1-866-290-4236).  
How long does my number stay registered? 
Registration on the Wisconsin Do Not Call 
Registry is permanent. Telephone numbers on 
the registry will only be removed when they are 
disconnected and reassigned, or when the 
consumer chooses to remove a number from 
the registry.  
What if I move or my number is 
disconnected? 
If you move and get a new number, you need 
to register the new number. 
You do not need to take your old phone 
number off the list when you get a new number. 
You can if you would like to, but the system will 
automatically remove most numbers that are 
disconnected and reassigned. 
If your phone number is disconnected and then 
reconnected you may need to re-register. In 
addition, there are actions that you or your 
telephone company might take that could 
cause your registered phone number to 
become unregistered – even if your service has 
not been interrupted (such as changing calling 
plans, adding or removing services, or 
changing the billing name on the account.)  
 

What if I want to take my number off the 
registry? 
You can remove your phone number by calling 
1-888-382-1222 from the number you want to 
remove. After you contact the registry to delete 
the number, it will be removed from the Do Not 
Call Registry by the next day. But 
telemarketers have up to 31 days to access 
information about your deletion and add your 
number back to their call lists, if they choose to. 
I received a phone call for someone offering 
to put my name on the Do Not Call Registry. 
Should I let them? 
No. Websites or phone solicitations that claim 
they can or will register a consumer’s name or 
phone number on the registry, especially those 
that charge a fee, are almost certainly a scam. 
For consumers, the registry is a free service. 
Only you should register your telephone 
numbers. 
Does the Do Not Call Registry stop all 
telemarketing calls? 
The Do Not Call Registry should stop MOST 
telemarketing calls and text messages but 
there are exceptions; Wis. Admin. Code ch. 
ATCP 127.80 and Wis. Stat. § 100.52: 
1. Contacts made to an existing customer. For 

example, calls from your insurance agent or 
your phone company. However, businesses 
are allowed one telephone call or text 
message to determine whether a former 
client mistakenly allowed a contract to 
lapse. Businesses are also allowed to make 
one contact to determine a former client’s 
level of satisfaction, unless the call is part of 
a plan or scheme to encourage the former 
client to purchase property, goods or 
services. 

2. A call or text made in response to your 
written or verbal request or permission.  

3. A call or text encouraging you to make a 
donation of property, goods or services to a 
“nonprofit organization.” 

4. A call or text encouraging you to purchase 
property, goods or services from a 
“nonprofit organization” unless sale 
proceeds are subject to Wisconsin sales tax 
or federal income tax. 

5. A call or text made for non-commercial 
purposes such as polls, surveys and 
political purposes.  

6. A call or text made to a business telephone 
number.  

7. A call or text made by an individual acting 
on his or her own behalf, and not as an 
employee or agent for any other person.  

8. A call or text made by a collection agency. 
IMPORTANT: Even if a call or text is exempt 
from this law, you can still stop many of these 
contacts just by telling them not to contact you 
again. Federal law requires every business to 
place your name on their internal “no call” list, if 
you request it. 
Can I register my business/office phone 
number or a fax number? 
No. The Do Not Call Registry is only for 
personal home or cell phone numbers. 
What about my home business phone? 
Any phone that is a business phone is not 
eligible to be on the Do Not Call Registry. If 
your home office phone is also your residential 
line, then it is eligible to be included on the 
registry. 
Who enforces the Do Not Call Registry? 
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, 
Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) is 
the agency responsible for investigating 
violations of the Wisconsin telephone 
solicitation laws, under Wis. Stat. § 100.52 and 
Wis. Admin. Code ch. ATCP 127 subchapter V. 

https://www.ftc.gov/legal-library/browse/rules/telemarketing-sales-rule
https://www.ftc.gov/legal-library/browse/rules/telemarketing-sales-rule
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/WIDoNotCallLaw.aspx
https://www.donotcall.gov/
https://www.donotcall.gov/

