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Milk Contractor License Fees and Surcharges 
 

Wisconsin Statute Chapter 126, Section 126.41 
 
1. Annual License Fee:  A nonrefundable license processing fee of $25, regardless of whether 

application is made after the beginning of a license year. 
 

2.  Surcharges:  
 

a) A license surcharge of $500 if the department determines that, within 365 days before submitting 
the license application, the applicant operated without a license in violation of § 126.41(1). The 
applicant shall also pay any license fees, license surcharges, and fund assessments that are still 
due for any license year in which the applicant violated § 126.41(1). 
 

b) A license surcharge of $100 if during the preceding 12 months the applicant failed to file an annual 
financial statement required under § 126.44(1)(b) by the applicable deadline. 
 

c) A license surcharge of $100 if a renewal applicant fails to renew a license by the license expiration 
date of April 30. 
 

3. Monthly License Fee:  § 126.42(1) Except as provided under sub. (5) or (6), a milk contractor licensed 
under § 126.41(1) shall pay to the department, by the 25th day of each month, a monthly license fee of 
0.15 cent for each 100 pounds of producer milk that the milk contractor procured in this state during the 
preceding month.  The milk contractor shall submit, with the fee payment, a report stating the number of 
pounds of producer milk that the milk contractor procured in this state during the preceding month. 

 
(5) PRODUCER AGENTS; EXEMPTION.  A producer agent is not required to pay the monthly fee under § 

126.42(1) for producer milk that the producer agent markets to a milk contractor who is licensed 
under § 126.41 (1) and who pays the monthly fee on the same milk. 

 
(6) FEE CHANGES.  The department may modify the license fees under § 126.42(1) by rule, as provided 

under § 126.81. 
 

4. Late payment surcharge:  §126.42(2)  If a milk contractor fails to pay a monthly fee under § 126.42(1) 
when due, the milk contractor shall pay, in addition to that monthly fee, a surcharge equal to 20% of 
that monthly fee.  The milk contractor shall pay the surcharge by the 25th day of the following month. 
 

 
 

You may visit the following websites to see the applicable statutes and rules: 
 
Chapter 126, Wis. Stats.  -  http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/stat0126.pdf 
 

Chapter ATCP 100, Wis. Adm. Code -   http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/rsb/code/atcp/atcp100.pdf 
 

Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection   - 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/AgriculturalProducerSecurity.aspx 
 
 
 


