
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

Vehicle purchasing guide 
 
Buy from a licensed Wisconsin 
dealer and you are protected by 
Wisconsin's motor vehicle trade 
practice law. Dealers follow the 
law when they advertise, display, 
and sell vehicles. You will not get 
the same protection if you buy 
from a private party. 

Expect these advantages when 
you buy from a licensed dealer: 

Truthful advertising 

Expect ads to say what they 
mean and mean what they say. 
An advertised price will include all 
charges you will pay to buy a car 
(except tax, title, and registration). 

If an ad promises you a set price 
for your trade, you will get that 
price for a trade of any age, 
condition, or mileage. You will not 
have to buy anything to get a gift 
offered "free" in an 
advertisement. 

Accurate window labels 

Manufacturer's Suggested 
Retail Price Label (MSRP) 

You will find the "MSRP" label on 
the window of any new, 
executive, or demonstrator car 
offered for sale. It lists the 
following: 

 Manufacturer's base price 

 Standard equipment and 
manufacturer's optional 
equipment with prices 

 Freight charge 

 Suggested retail price 

Cars may sell for more or less 
than the manufacturer's 
suggested retail price. 

Dealer supplemental price 
label 

You may also find a dealer 
supplemental price label on new 
cars. It lists optional equipment 
and services the dealer offers or 
has already installed. 

Wisconsin buyers guide 

Used cars display the Wisconsin 
buyer’s guide which gives the 
following information: 

 How a vehicle was used 
(private use, business use, 
lease use, rental, etc.) 

 Price 

 Title brands (permanent brands 
that are on the title or will be on 
the next title) 

 Make, year, model, 
identification number, engine 
size and transmission type, and 
whether sold with remaining 

manufacturer's warranty, a 
dealer warranty or "As-Is" 

 Description of items dealer 
inspects 

 Condition of the vehicle and its 
safety equipment, with defects 
explained 

Dealers complete the guide 
based on a visual inspection and 
test drive. They must disclose any 
noticeable defects. However, they 
are not required to take vehicles 
apart to check them. 

Warranty information 

New car warranty 

All new cars carry a warranty, 
usually of at least 12 months 
and/or 12,000 miles. Tires, 
battery, and dealer-installed 
options may have separate 
warranties that differ in time and 
mileage. Read any warranties to 
find out what is covered and for 
how long, who will honor the 
warranty, and what you have to 
do to keep it in effect. 

A warranty is a promise 

A warranty is a seller’s promise 
that a product will perform as 
intended. The warranty tells what 
items the seller will pay to fix after 
the sale and for how long. A 
vehicle may have a 



"manufacturer warranty" that 
obligates the manufacturer to pay 
the cost of certain repairs. Or it 
may have a "dealer warranty" that 
obligates the dealer to pay. If a 
car comes with a warranty, you 
are entitled to get the warranty in 
writing from the dealership. Read 
the warranty carefully to learn 
what is covered, for how long, 
who pays for the repairs, and 
what you must do to keep the 
warranty in effect. 

Used car warranty 

Some used cars come with a 
warranty. The Wisconsin buyers 
guide (used car window sticker) 
shows whether the used car 
comes with a "dealer limited 
warranty," or remaining 
"manufacturer warranty." If the 
vehicle comes with remaining 
manufacturer warranty, consult 
the warranty book or ask the 
seller what you need to do to 
have the warranty transferred into 
your name. 

“As-Is” 

Many used cars come with no 
warranty at all. These cars show 
"AS-IS - NO WARRANTY" on 
their window sticker. When you 
buy a car as-is, the dealer and 
manufacturer are not responsible 
for paying for repairs after the 
sale, even if the car comes with a 
manufacturer warranty. 

What to do if your car needs 
warranty repairs 

If your car needs repairs under a 
dealer warranty, consult the 
warranty or selling dealer to find 
out which repair shops are 
authorized to do your warranty 
repairs. If it needs repairs under a 
manufacturer warranty, you may 

take it to any dealer authorized to 
sell your make of car. 

Wisconsin's new car 
lemon law 

The lemon law protects you when 
you buy or lease new vehicles. It 
entitles you to a refund or 
replacement vehicle if, in the first 
year under warranty, your vehicle 
has a serious problem the dealer 
does not repair in four tries, or if it 
is out of service due to defects for 
a total of 30 days or more. Save 
your repair orders. For more 
information, call the Wisconsin 
Department of Transportation 
(WisDOT) dealer section 
consumer hotline (608) 266-1425 
or dealerlicensingunit@ 
dot.wi.gov. 

Who can you call for help? 

WisDOT's Dealer & Agent 
Section licenses and regulates 
dealers and manufacturers and 
helps resolve disputes about 
vehicle sales and warranties. 
Contact the Dealer & Agent 
Section if you have a complaint 
against a dealer or manufacturer. 

The Dealer & Agent Section will 
not resolve your lemon law 
complaint for you, but it will give 
you more information about 
exercising your rights under the 
lemon law. 

U.S. DOT auto safety hotline 

If you own a car or truck that you 
feel has a safety defect you 
should report the problem to the 
Hotline at the National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA) of the U.S. Department 
of Transportation (DOT). 

The U.S. DOT Auto Safety 
Hotline specializes in gathering 

information about safety problems 
in motor vehicles and equipment 
and is your chance to help 
identify these problems which 
sometimes lead to recalls. The 
Hotline can be dialed toll free at: 
(888) DASH-2-DOT or 
(888) 327-4236 or you can now 
file your vehicle safety defect 
report online. 

A binding contract: 
You sign, you buy 

Dealers use the "purchase 
contract" form when selling cars. 
Read and understand the 
contract before you sign. Once 
you and the dealer sign the offer, 
it becomes a binding contract. 
The dealer cannot raise the price 
or sell the car to anyone else. 
You cannot cancel the contract 
without a penalty. 

The contract should include the 
following information about your 
purchase: 

 Whether you are buying the car 
with a warranty or "As-Is". 

 Date your vehicle will be 
delivered. 

 Other conditions of the sale. 

 Get all promises in writing on 
the contract. 

Purchase cancellation 

Many consumers mistakenly 
believe they have three days to 
cancel a motor vehicle purchase 
contract. They do not. The 3-day 
"cooling off" period only applies to 
sales the dealer makes away 
from the dealership – for 
example, at a mall or fair 
grounds. If you sign a purchase 
contract at the dealership it is a 
binding contract. The dealer may 



charge you a penalty if you 
cancel the deal. By law, the 
penalty cannot be more than 5% 
of the purchase price of the 
vehicle. 

If you order a new vehicle to be 
delivered at a later date and the 
vehicle is not delivered within 15 
days of the anticipated delivery 
date recorded on the purchase 
contract, you can cancel the 
contract without penalty. 

If you are unhappy with your 
purchase, talk with your dealer. 
Some dealers will make a 
goodwill adjustment, or even 
cancel your contract without a 
penalty in order to satisfy a good 
customer. 

Trade-in 

Get the price for your trade-in in 
writing on the contract. The price 
will not change unless you put on 
more miles than agreed to in the 
contract, remove parts, or 
damage the car before you trade 
it in. Protect yourself and the next 
owner by giving accurate 
information about your trade-in's 
mileage and condition, and how it 
was used. 

Temporary license plates – 
Wisconsin's mandatory 
display law 

State law requires autos and light 
trucks (8,000 pounds gross 
weight or less) to display a 
permanent or temporary plate 
within two business days of 
purchase. Your dealer will provide 
you with a temporary plate good 
for 90 days if you do not have a 
plate to transfer. Some dealers 
offer title and registration services 
that allow them to give you plates 
and stickers right away. If you 

choose this option you will 
receive your title sooner than if 
your dealer mails your 
application. There is a fee for this 
service. Also, be aware that: 

 Dealer-issued or handmade 
"License Applied For" plates are 
not acceptable. 

 Driving without plates is subject 
to a fine. 

 If you mailed your application 
and check for registration and 
need a temporary plate, bring 
proof of payment to a DMV 
service center offering 
registration services to receive 
a 90-day temporary plate at no 
charge. 

Transferable permanent 
plates 

If you have current Wisconsin 
plates from an auto, motorcycle 
or light truck that you sold, junked 
or no longer use on public roads, 
you may transfer them to another 
vehicle of the same type. 
Complete a Wisconsin Title and 
License Plate application, send it 
with the title and application fees 
to DMV and keep a copy of the 
application form in your vehicle. 
DMV service centers offering 
registration services provide 
permanent license plates for a 
service fee in addition to the 
application fees. 

Dealership service fees 

Dealers may charge a service fee 
for completing inspections and 
forms required by law. The 
service fee is a dealership fee, 
not a government fee, and is not 
required by law. Service fees 
reflect the dealer's costs for 
complying with mandated state 
and federal laws, and may be 

negotiable at some dealerships. 
You will find any service fee listed 
on the vehicle window label, and 
on the motor vehicle purchase 
contract. 

Records of the sale 

Your dealer will give you the 
following documents or copies as 
soon as you sign them. Save 
them all: 

 Motor vehicle purchase contract 

 Odometer statement from the 
dealer 

 Window labels 

 Any warranty or service 
agreement 

 Any finance contract 

 Anything else you sign 

Tips for wise car buyers 

 Arrive at the dealership with a 
clear idea of features and 
options you want in your car. 
Magazines like Motor Trend 
and Consumer Reports discuss 
features, performance, and 
quality of new models. 

 Read window labels about price 
and condition. Read the title, 
odometer statement, and any 
warranties. 

 Test drive the vehicle. Drive it 
cold and warmed up. Test it at 
highway and city speeds. The 
dealer will ask to see your 
driver's license and may have 
you take a salesperson along. 

 Ask the vehicle's former owner 
about its condition, mileage, 
and use. The salesperson will 



give you the name and address 
if you ask. 

 Have your own expert check 
out the vehicle if the dealer 
allows. Also, if your county 
requires emission testing, 
consider having a test done 
before you buy. The selling 
dealership's inspection does not 
ensure the vehicle will pass a 
state emission test. 

 If you order a new vehicle from 
the factory, test drive and 
inspect it when it arrives at the 
dealership. You do not have to 
accept a vehicle that arrives 
damaged. 

 Protect yourself and the next 
owner. Tell the true miles and 
use of your trade-in. 

 Get promises in writing on the 
contract. 

 Sign only when you are ready 
to buy. You may pay a penalty 
for canceling the contract. 

 Keep copies of all documents 
and anything else you sign. 

 Call with questions. Dealer 
section's consumer hotline 
(608) 266-1425 or contact 
dealerlicensingunit@ 
dot.wi.gov. 

Know the risks when 
dealing online 

Countless examples exist of 
unwary consumers using Internet 
auto purchase or auction sites 
which advertise motor vehicles “in 
excellent condition inside and out” 
or “spotless…like new”. 

You may be shocked to receive a 
vehicle with dents, scratches, 
rust, or evidence of major repairs 

due to major damage. Sometimes 
the vehicle is never received, and 
you may be scammed out of all 
the money you paid. 

The Bureau of Consumer 
Protection reports that an ever-
growing number of consumers 
are being scammed by dishonest 
auto dealers. Close to home, 
buyers know or can check out the 
seller and their reputation. The 
same cannot be as easily said of 
internet sellers who often hide 
their true identity. 

When making internet purchases, 
remember there are risks. Are 
you willing to chance losing the 
$5,000 to $50,000 you are 
spending when you purchase a 
vehicle on the internet? 

Most sellers and buyers at online 
auctions or sites are honest but 
the Federal Trade Commission 
reports that auction fraud 
accounts for approximately 48 
percent of online fraud reports. 
They receive a continual intake of 
complaints regarding 
misrepresentation of a vehicle’s 
condition, unsafe cars and stolen 
vehicles. 

The main problem with an 
internet purchase is that you do 
not get the opportunity to 
physically inspect the vehicle 
before buying it. You will not 
know the true condition of the 
vehicle until it arrives (if it does 
arrive)…after you already paid 
the seller. The Bureau of 
Consumer Protection warns that 
internet transactions are “a 
natural venue for dishonest 
dealers”. 

Like any transaction, it is 
important to inspect the product 

prior to purchase. In the case of 
motor vehicle purchases, it is 
especially important to have a 
vehicle you may buy inspected by 
a qualified mechanic. Many 
problems can be avoided by this 
simple practice. 

However, it may be difficult to get 
a vehicle inspected that is 
advertised on the internet or 
being auctioned. Services such 
as Carfax or Autocheck can be 
used to trace a vehicle’s history. 

Learn to identify a scam. Red 
flags that could signal a potential 
scam are: 

 Cars advertised at too-good-to-
be-true prices. 

 Sellers who refuse to meet 
offline or prohibit you from 
inspecting the car. 

 Sellers who want you to wire 
money ahead of time. 

 Sellers who say they have to 
sell the car because they are 
moving, selling for someone 
else, or are in the military and 
are being deployed. 

By the time you realize you’ve 
been scammed, the scammer has 
your money and is gone. 

Protect yourself online 

If you want to brave the risks of 
an Internet motor vehicle 
purchase then: 

 Have the vehicle inspected by 
a qualified mechanic. Hire a 
mechanic located near the 
vehicle to check it out. This will 
also confirm the identity of the 
seller and the availability of the 
vehicle. 



 Ignore “Feedback” ratings. 
They can easily be faked. The 
same individual can gain 
multiple user IDs and “build” the 
reputation for his own seller ID. 
If discovered, the unscrupulous 
individual simply “closes shop” 
or disappears – only to 
resurface in the streets of 
cyberspace with a new user ID. 
Try to get a physical address. 

 Save all transaction 
information. Sounds like 
common sense, yet many 
consumers fail this basic and 
all-important point. 

 Become familiar with the 
internet site, auction site and 
seller. Find out what protection 
is offered by the site for buyers. 
Do not assume each individual 
site has the same rules as 
another. Do not bid or purchase 
until the seller has been 
thoroughly researched. Be 
careful, some scammers use 
fake emails that appear to be 
from Internet sites. In any 
transaction from these emails, 
you will not have any of the 
protections the internet site 
provides. 

 Using an escrow service. Do 
not use an escrow service that 
the seller insists on. Research 
and check out the escrow 
service to determine its 
legitimacy. Visit its internet site 
and call its customer service. (If 
there is not a customer service 
line or no one can be reached, 
you may be better off not using 
the service.) 

 Be extremely cautious when 
wiring money to someone 
you have not met. There is no 
way to reverse a transfer or 

trace the money once it has 
been collected. Scammers will 
often take a different listing, and 
create a fake listing. By asking 
you to wire money, the 
scammer is able to take money 
without providing any ability to 
identify them. 

 Protect your privacy. Never 
provide information such as 
your social security number, 
driver’s license number, bank 
account information or your 
credit account information until 
you have researched the seller, 
escrow or online payment 
service to make sure that each 
is legitimate. 

Stay safe online 
If you are meeting with a seller to 
exchange the car, meet in a 
public place, especially if the deal 
is for a large amount of money. 
Do not invite someone to deliver 
your purchase to your home. 
Make sure a friend or family 
member knows where you are 
going, or consider having 
someone go with you. Finally, 
trust your instincts. If you think 
something seems too good to be 
true, it probably is. 

For information or help 

The dealer section of the DOT 
licenses and regulates dealers 
and helps resolve disputes about 
vehicle sales and warranty. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you have questions contact the: 
 

Wisconsin Department 
of Transportation 

Dealer & Agent Section 
4802 Sheboygan Avenue 

Room 201 
PO Box 7909 

Madison, WI 53707-7909 
 

E-mail: 
dealerlicensingunit@ 

dot.wi.gov 
 

(608) 266-1425 
 

FAX: (608) 267-0323 
 

(Some information taken from WI Dept. of Transportation, 
Division of Motor Vehicles, Dealer & Agent Section) 
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