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Division of Agricultural Resource Management 

Bureau of Agrichemical Management 
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Lime Website: 
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s. 94.66 Wis. Stats.: 
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Ch ATCP 41 Wis. Admin. Code: 
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This document was developed using authorities and information provided within Wis. Stat. ch. 94 and Wis. Admin. Code 

ch. ATCP 41.  This document is for information purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. 
   

License, Labeling and Confidential Tonnage Report Requirements for Lime Manufacturers and Distributors 

 

Businesses must obtain a license prior to selling or distributing liming materials in Wisconsin, unless they are only selling 

or distributing liming materials produced by a license holder. Liming material is defined in §. 94.66(1)(am), Wis. Stats. 

All liming material shall be sold and guaranteed on the basis of the index zone of the material, unless the material is marl 

or paper mill refuse lime (§. ATCP 41.02, Wis. Admin. Code).   

 

 

LICENSE (Form ARM-ACM-308):  

List all index zones and the quarries you expect to be active and will be covered by the license. Submit copies of each 

label for packaged liming material and/or copies of invoices/bills of lading for bulk lime products with your license 

application.    

 

The annual liming materials license expires on December 31. Operating without a license is a violation of Wisconsin Law, 

and subjects you to enforcement action.   

 

 

APPLICATION TO SELL LIMING MATERIALS BY VOLUME (Form ARM-ACM-311):   

Complete this application if you distribute liming materials by volume rather than weight, when weighing facilities are not 

readily available. Submit the form with the license application. You will be notified by mail if your application to sell 

liming materials by volume is approved.  

Do not use this form if you sell liming materials by weight.  

 

 

TONNAGE (Form ARM-ACM-310):   

This form is for reporting the annual tonnage for all liming materials distributed in Wisconsin during January 1 through 

December 31. The liming materials tonnage fee is one and one quarter cent ($0.0125) per ton for liming materials 

distributed in the state. The minimum tonnage fee is $1.00 for any sales up to 80 tons. The confidential report and fees are 

due on February 1. 

 

 

 

Failure to file a correctly completed license application will delay the issuance of your license. 

 

 

 

Mail license application and tonnage reporting forms and applicable fees to the following address: 

  

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DATCP 

 BOX 93193 

 MILWAUKEE, WI  53293-0193 

 

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Licenses_Permits/LimingMaterials.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/94/66
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/020/41


ARM-ACM-308 (Rev. 10/2021) 

 

Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

Division of Agricultural Resource Management 

Bureau of Agrichemical Management 

Phone:  (608) 224-4537 

DATCPFert@wisconsin.gov 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

License Number 

Date Issued 

25900 700SE 1150073000 4600000 71000 $ 

New License Application for Sale or Distribution of Liming Materials 

for January 1 to December 31, 2022 (Section 94.66, Wis. Stats.) 

LEGAL BUSINESS NAME AND ADDRESS MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT FROM LEGAL ADDRESS) 

LEGAL BUSINESS NAME C/O 

CONTACT NAME CONTACT NAME 

STREET ADDRESS PO BOX STREET ADDRESS PO BOX 

CITY STATE ZIP CITY STATE ZIP 

DOING BUSINESS AS NAME FEDERAL EMPLOYER I.D. # (FEIN) (OPTIONAL) 

COMPANY WEBSITE IF CHANGE IN COMPANY NAME OR OWNERSHIP LIST PREVIOUS BUSINESS NAME 

 

CHECK ONE: Partnership   Cooperative   Corporation   Sole Proprietor    LLC   
STATE OF FORMATION 

MUST CHECK ALL APPROPRIATE BOXES FOR THE INDEX ZONES OF MATERIALS TO BE SOLD IN 2022 

 

Marl   Paper Mill    Recycled Byproducts   

 

Less than 40            40-49            50-59           60-69            70-79            80-89            90-99           100 or more   

No person shall engage in the business of selling or distributing liming materials in Wisconsin without first obtaining a license from the Dept. of Agriculture, 
Trade and Consumer Protection, unless one is selling or distributing liming materials produced by a license holder. 
 

SUBMIT COPIES OF PRODUCT LABELING INFORMATION FOR EACH PRODUCT. 
 

LOCATION OF PLACES OF MANUFACTURE OF LIMING MATERIALS (If more space is needed, attach additional sheets) 

 

Quarry Vendor County Town Section 
Index Zone 
of Quarry 

      

      

      

      

LICENSE FEE 

Producer/Distributor License Fee                                         $10.00   

I certify that all information on this application is true and correct. 

SIGNATURE  TITLE 

NAME (PRINT OR TYPE) DATE  

TELEPHONE NUMBER 

(         ) 

FAX NUMBER 

(          ) 
E-MAIL ADDRESS COMPANY WEBSITE ADDRESS 

Personal information you provide may be used for purposes other than that for which it was originally collected (Sec. 15.04(1) (m), Wis. Stats.). 

Make check payable to:  Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

Mail form and check to:  State of Wisconsin, DATCP, Box 93193, Milwaukee WI  53293-0193 

 

Errors or omissions will delay the issuance of your license. 
 

mailto:DATCPFert@wisconsin.gov


ARM-ACM-311 (Rev. 10/2021) 

 

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

Division of Agricultural Resource Management 

Bureau of Agrichemical Management 

Phone:  (608) 224-4537 

DATCPFert@wisconsin.gov 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Approved by:   

Date:   

License #: 

Application to Sell Liming Materials by Volume EXPIRES ANNUALLY ON DECEMBER 31 
This application is only required of businesses that sell liming materials by volume instead of by weight. 

A license to sell or distribute liming materials is also required 
Section 94.66, Wis. Stats; Section ATCP 41.05, Wis. Adm. Code. 

 Print or type all required information 

LEGAL BUSINESS NAME CONTACT NAME 

DOING BUSINESS AS NAME TELEPHONE NUMBER 

(        ) 

FAX NUMBER 

(        ) 

ADDRESS E-MAIL ADDRESS 

CITY STATE ZIP COMPANY WEBSITE  

I. List vehicles employed in hauling liming materials 

Engine No. 
Truck License No. 

Ownership (Business Name) Cubic Yard 
Capacity 

   

   

   

   

II. List loading sites 

Address of loading sites (street city, state, zip) Address of scales closest to loading site (street city, state, zip) 

  

  

  

III. Address of business from which vendor wishes to sell by volume (ton weight equivalent) 

Street City State Zip 

    

    

    

 
Personal information you provide may be used for purposes other than that for which it was originally collected (Sec. 15.04(1)(m) Wis. Stats.). 

 



 

94.66(6)(a)  Every person engaged in the business of 
selling or distributing liming material shall furnish each 
purchaser on final delivery of a lot or order of liming 
material a written statement showing total amount 
delivered in tons and the grade thereof as defined in 
par. (b). A written statement setting forth the grade of 
the liming material being transported shall accompany 
each vehicle when making delivery.  All liming material 
shall be distributed on a scale weight basis, except 
that where no weighing facilities are readily available 
and on prior approval of the department, liming 
materials may be distributed by volume if each vehicle 
transporting liming materials is accurately and 
conspicuously marked to show cubic yard capacity 
from which the seller must guarantee a ton weight 
equivalent based on rules established by the 
department.  This paragraph does not apply to marl or 
paper mill refuse lime as these materials are 
distributed on an equivalent cubic yard basis as 
prescribed by department rule. 

ATCP 41.05 Sale by ton weight equivalent. (a) Each 
person distributing liming material by volume on a ton 
weight equivalent basis shall be responsible for the 
correct cubic yard capacity marking of all vehicles 
used to distribute liming material. 

(2) Persons desiring authority to distribute liming 
material by volume rather than weight, where 
weighing facilities are not readily available, shall 
submit requests for approval in writing to the 
department with the following information: 

 

 (a) Name and address of applicant, 

 (b) Number of vehicles to be employed in hauling 
liming materials, 

 (c) Ownership of vehicles, 

 (d) Cubic yard capacity of each vehicle, 

 (e) Location of loading sites and location of scales 
closest to such loading sites, and 

 (f) Business locations from which the vendor 
wishes to sell by ton weight equivalent. 

(3) Unless otherwise specified in the notice of 
approval, all approvals for sale by volume shall 
expire on December 31 of each year.  In the event 
of any change in vehicle usage or other data 
specified under subsection (2) during the period 
for which approval was granted, the department 
shall be notified of such fact and a supplemental 
request for approval shall be submitted within 
15 days after such change.  All temporary 
replacement vehicles used shall be marked to 
show cubic yard capacity as required by 
sec. 94.66, Wis. Stats. 

(4) The ton weight equivalent per cubic yard of each 
different liming material shall be determined by 
weighing one or more loads of known cubic 
volume of such material.  The total weight is then 
divided by the cubic yards weighed to arrive at the 
ton weight equivalent per cubic yard. 
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ARM-ACM-310 (Rev. 10/2021) 

 

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and 

Consumer Protection 

Division of Agricultural Resource Management 

Bureau of Agrichemical Management 

Phone:  (608) 224-4537 

DATCPFert@Wisconsin.gov 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

10000 73600 1150073000 4600000 71100 $ 

  

Liming Materials Tonnage Report for 2021 (Section 94.66, Wis. Stats.) 
 CORRECT YOUR MAILING ADDRESS HERE 

NAME 

CONTACT NAME 

STREET ADDRESS PO BOX 

CITY STATE ZIP 

LIMING MATERIALS SOLD IN WISCONSIN DURING 2021 

A research fee of one and one-quarter cents per ton ($0.0125) on all liming materials (or the equivalent amount of 
marl and paper mill refuse lime) sold within the state shall be paid to the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, 
Trade and Consumer Protection annually for the preceding calendar year. If more than one distributor or seller is 
involved in the chain of distribution, the person who first sells or distributes liming material for further sale is 
responsible for the payment of research fees on that material. The minimum fee is $1. However, if NO SALES 
were made, the $1 fee is not required.   

 

If another licensee has paid the research fee, you are entitled to a credit for that tonnage by completing the Credit 
Section found in Section B.   

 

Please complete this report, sign it, pay the appropriate fees and mail to address shown on the back of the form. 

 
SECTION A: TONNAGE OF LIMING MATERIALS SOLD DURING 2021 BY INDEX ZONES 
 

 (1 OUNCE TO 2,000 POUNDS = 1 TON) 
 

Index Zone Pell Lime Tons Index Zone Pell Lime Tons 

Marl No  60-69 No  

Paper Mill No  60-69 Yes  

Recycled 
Byproducts 

No  70-79 No  

Barn Lime No  70-79 Yes  

Less than 40 No  80-89 No  

Less than 40 Yes  80-89 Yes  

40-49 No  90-99 No  

40-49 Yes  90-99 Yes  

50-59 No  100 or more No  

50-59 Yes  100 or more Yes  

  
A. Total tons sold (transfer to line 1 on reverse side) 
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SECTION B:  TONNAGE CREDIT (another licensee paid fee) 
If another licensee has paid the research fee you are entitled to a credit for that tonnage.  Complete the schedule below. 
 

Index Zone 

 

Pell Lime 

(Yes or No) 

Tons 

 

License Number 

(Required) 

Licensee’s Name and Address 

 

     

     

     

     

  B.  TOTAL CREDIT (transfer to 
line 2 below) 

 
 

 

 

 
SECTION C:  TONNAGE FEES OWED (Calculation) 
 
 

1.   Total tonnage from Section A on Page 1 (over) 

(1 ounce to 2,000 pounds = 1 ton) 
1.  

2. Tonnage credit from Section B on Page 2 (above) 2.  

3. Net Tonnage (Subtract line 2 from line 1) 3.  

4. Amount Due $0.0125 times line 1, total tonnage 
 Minimum $1.00 is due for 1 pound to 80 

If line 1 is zero then no fee is due. 

Pay This Amount 

$ 

 Return this form by February 1, 2022 

I hereby certify that this is a true and accurate report of all liming materials sold or distributed in the State of Wisconsin. 

SIGNATURE NAME  (PRINT OR TYPE) 

TITLE DATE 

TELEPHONE NUMBER E-MAIL ADDRESS 

 

Personal information you provide may be used for purposes other than that for which it was originally collected (§. 15.04(1) (m) Wis. Stats.). 

Tonnage information you provide is confidential by law (§. ATCP 41.02, Wis. Admin. Code). 

Make check payable to:  Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
Mail form and check to:  State of Wisconsin, DATCP, Box 93193, Milwaukee WI  53293-0193 

 

Errors or omissions will delay the issuance of your license 
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