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Frequently Asked Questions: 

Wisconsin’s Industrial Hemp Pilot Research Program 
Updated March 13, 2019 

As you probably know, we have received many questions about growing and processing industrial hemp in Wisconsin. 

Bear in mind that we are authorized to regulate hemp only up to the point where it’s been found to comply with the 0.3 

percent THC level and harvested. After that, it is an ingredient or a fiber, and comes under regulations, if any, for the 

products containing it. 

Licensing, registration and fees 

Research plans 

THC and testing 

Growing locations 

How to grow industrial hemp 

Seed and clones 

Marketing 

Feed and pet treats 

General 

What is industrial hemp? 
Under the 2014 Farm Bill and s. 94.55, Wis. Stats, industrial hemp is defined as the plant with the Latin species name 
Cannabis sativa L., with a delta-9-THC concentration of 0.3 percent or less in all parts of the plant when it has been 
dried. 

Under the 2018 Farm Bill, federal law removed the word “industrial”, and now defines hemp as “the plant Cannabis 
sativa L. and any part of that plant, including the seeds thereof and all derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, 
salts, and salts of isomers, whether growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more 
than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.” 

Will I need a license to grow industrial hemp? 

Yes. You will need a one-time license and an annual registration to grow any amount of hemp in Wisconsin, including 
hemp starter plants and any hemp that may be grown for personal use. 

Will I need a license to process industrial hemp? 
You will need a one-time license and annual registration to process industrial hemp in Wisconsin. Processing industrial 
hemp includes transporting, warehousing and converting the industrial hemp to a marketable form. A processor license 
is also needed if you will be packaging and labeling raw industrial hemp for retail sale. If you will be processing only 
industrial hemp that you grow, and won’t be accepting it from other licensed growers, you will not need a processor 
license. 

Do I need any other licenses as a processor? 
Depending on what you are doing with the industrial hemp you process, you may need additional licenses from the 
department or other departments.  For example, any industrial hemp processors who will be using hemp or hemp 
extracts in food products will need a license from the DATCP Division of Food Safety. Please contact the Division of Food 
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Safety and Recreation at 608-224-4923 or mailto:datcpdfslicensing@wisconsin.gov for more information about those 
licensing requirements. 

 
How does growing industrial hemp affect my FSA and/or federal crop insurance contracts or program participation? 
The 2018 Farm Bill recently defined hemp as an agricultural commodity, so federal agencies no longer consider hemp to 
be a controlled substance. Farmers should now be able to get federal crop insurance for an industrial hemp crop as long 
as you hold a current hemp grower license and registration from DATCP. If you are thinking of planting industrial hemp, 
you should check with your local FSA service center to see if your access to federal crop support programs might be 
affected by growing hemp. 

Back to top 
 
 

Licensing, registration and fees 

How do I apply to grow hemp? 
To grow industrial hemp you must: 

 Apply for a one-time license using the forms provided by the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer 
Protection 

 Pay a one-time license application fee ($150 for 0-30 acres, $5/acre for 31-199 acres, or $1000 for 200 acres or 
more) 

 Undergo a background check 

 Provide field or greenhouse locations and GPS coordinates 

You also must register with the department every year that you plan to grow hemp, including the first year that you 
receive your license. When you register each year, you must also submit: 

 An annual registration fee of $350 

 GPS coordinates and maps of your fields 

 A research plan 

 A signed research agreement 

How do I apply to process hemp? 
To process industrial hemp you must: 

 Apply for a one-time license using the forms provided by the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer 
Protection 

 Undergo a background check 

You also must register with the department every year that you plan to process hemp, including the first year that you 
receive your license. When you register each year, you must also submit: 

 An annual registration fee of $100 

 GPS coordinates and maps of your processing location 

 A research plan 

 A signed research agreement 

When can I apply for my license and registration? 

Licensing and registration for the 2019 growing season is now closed. Licensing and registration for 2020 will open in the 
fall. 

mailto:datcpdfslicensing@wisconsin.gov
https://www.fsa.usda.gov/state-offices/Wisconsin/index
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How did you come up with the fees? 
The license fees are specified in s. 94.55, Wis. Stats. The law also allows DATCP to set annual registration fees that do 
not exceed the actual costs of administering the hemp program.  We established the fees after calculating the 
department’s costs for program administration and reviewing other states’ fees. As most states are doing, DATCP will 
invoice growers the actual costs of sampling and testing. 

How long does my license last? 
The pilot program license is permanent. However, you must re-register each year you want to grow or process industrial 
hemp. 

Am I required to do anything else if I participate in the industrial hemp pilot program? 
You must allow us access to your hemp fields to inspect and sample, submit a planting report, and submit a final report. 
You must maintain a variety of records. You should take reasonable measures to prevent theft or diversion of your 
industrial hemp plants and seed, and cooperate with law enforcement if necessary. Licensees who fail to pay their 
invoiced fees or submit their required reports for the previous growing season may have their license suspended, and 
will not have their registrations approved to grow in the following year. 

Can I see a list of industrial hemp growers or industrial hemp processors licensed in the state? 
Pilot participants’ personally identifiable information and field location data are confidential under state law. DATCP will 
not provide this information, although growers or processors may release it themselves. 

Who is the operations manager? 
If you apply for a license as a business, the operations manager is the person who the background check is conducted 
on, and who is legally responsible for the hemp operations. A business may also designate other points of contact for 
the hemp operation if it desires to do so. 

 
What type of convictions disqualify me in the background check? 
An applicant or an operations manager may not have a conviction for a criminal violation of the Federal Controlled 
Substances Act under 21 USC 801 to 971, the Uniform Controlled Substances Act under Chapter 961, or any controlled 
substances law of another state. If you are unsure if your conviction violates this standard, please check with an 
attorney. 

 
Back to top 

 
 

Research plans 

Why is a research agreement required? 
The 2014 farm bill allowed universities and state departments of agriculture to conduct industrial hemp research and 
pilot programs. The research agreements extend the department’s research program to individual farmers, allowing 
them to do applied research throughout the state of Wisconsin under a variety of growing conditions. 

What do you mean by a research plan? 
After a 70-year absence from Wisconsin’s agricultural landscape, industrial hemp is considered a new crop here. 
Research topics may include planting, harvesting and processing techniques; seed varieties; nutrient requirements; 
markets; storage; non-chemical pest and weed control; or other topics that participants choose. A concise research plan 
may be submitted on the forms provided by the department, or a more detailed plan may be attached. 

What do I do with the research plan? 
You will use it as your guide to gather and record your findings. We will supply forms for reporting agronomic data and 
research results, so you will need to gather this data throughout the growing season and report your research findings 
every year. We will prepare an annual summary report of all research conducted as part of the program, so everyone 
can benefit from the information. 

We will not register you for succeeding seasons if you have not filed your reports. 
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THC and testing 

How do you know my crop’s THC content? 
Participants must notify the department 30 days before they want to harvest. A department inspector will sample each 
field and variety grown and deliver the samples to our laboratory for analysis. 

What method do you use to test for THC? 
The method used is called high-performance liquid chromatography, or HPLC and we test for delta-nine Total THC using 
the following formula: d9-THC + 0.877*THCA. This method or a similar one that uses decarboxylation is required under 
the 2018 Farm Bill for state departments of agricultural that want to have their hemp regulatory plans approved by 
USDA. We will invoice you for the cost of the sampling and testing. Growers may not move their industrial hemp crop to 
a processor or sell it to a consumer until it has been tested by the department and a fit-for-commerce certificate is 
issued. All plants must be either harvested or destroyed within 10 days after receiving sample results. 

What if my plants test above 0.3% THC? 
You may request a retest within 10 days of receiving your sample results. We would collect another sample and send it 
to the laboratory again for HPLC analysis. You would pay the cost for both the resampling and retest.  If you decline 
resampling and retesting, or if the hemp samples test high again, you are required to destroy your crop within 10 days. 
Wisconsin state law provides protection from criminal penalties to growers whose plants test no more than 1 percent -- 
up to 0.7 percentage points above the 0.3 percent THC limit. Growers who plant certified seed are protected from 
criminal penalties regardless of THC level. 

 
Does the department have a list of approved laboratories that can provide THC and cannabinoid testing? 
The department does not currently certify or approve laboratories that can provide cannabis testing. 

Can I send my hemp sample to a private laboratory to avoid the cost of the DATCP testing? 
Growers must have their hemp crop sampled by Department staff and tested by the department’s regulatory lab prior to 
harvest. Growers and processors can use private laboratories for additional pre- or post-harvest testing needs. 

Do you require post-harvest testing? 
The department currently does not require post-harvest testing or product testing. Processors and manufacturers may 
require testing.  Regardless of testing, all hemp and hemp products must meet the legal definition of hemp. 
Back to top 

 
Growing locations 

Can I grow industrial hemp in a greenhouse? 
Yes, you can grow in a greenhouse as long as you clearly indicate your research goals and production methods on your 
application. 

Can I grow industrial hemp in my residence? 

No, you may not grow industrial hemp—except to start seedlings--in your residence, including your basement or any 
other indoor area within your residence. 

Can I grow industrial hemp near a school, a town, or a major road? Are there restrictions on where I can grow it? 
Industrial hemp should be grown in traditional agricultural fields or greenhouses. We do not permit growing industrial 
hemp in residences. If you want to grow industrial hemp in a location that is not an agricultural field or greenhouse, you 
must seek and receive approval for that location from the department prior to planting. The department will not 
otherwise restrict industrial hemp production locations, but you may be subject to township or city zoning rules 
prohibiting industrial hemp in certain locations, including backyards in residential neighborhoods. We do not track these 
local rules. You are responsible for knowing and complying with them. 
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Can I change my field locations or add a growing or processing site? 
If you want to change field locations, you must amend your license, submit a license modification fee, and provide new 
GPS coordinates. The department has the discretion to waive the license amendment fees for field location change that 
are required due to unforeseen or extenuating circumstances, such as flooding. 

Is there a minimum acreage requirement? 
While the department does not require a minimum acreage, growers must have a minimum of 15 plants available for a 
pre-harvest regulatory sample at the end of the growing season. 

Do I need to build a fence or put up signs around my field? 
No. If you are concerned about trespassing or vandalism if your crop is mistaken for marijuana, you may post signs 
identifying it as industrial hemp, but it is not required. 

Also, if your industrial hemp plot is less than 1 acre, you may want to post signage to help local law enforcement identify 
it as part of the pilot program. 

Do I need to notify the sheriff/local police or does DATCP do it? 
Many growers do proactively notify their local law enforcement about their hemp fields and processing locations. 
However, once you register your hemp fields with us, we will share your field location and contact information with local 
law enforcement upon their request. For this reason, it is essential that you provide accurate field location information 
and maps and keep the department updated if you need to change growing, storage or processing locations. This saves 
the grower and processor from unwanted attention, and saves law enforcement time and money on unnecessary 
investigations. Make sure all locations where hemp will be grown, stored or processed are registered with DATCP prior to 
planting, storing or processing the hemp. 

Back to top 
 
 
 
 

How to grow industrial hemp 

Please note that we do not have agronomic expertise. Our role is to set up the pilot research program and regulate it. 
Learning how to grow hemp in Wisconsin is part of the research. However, some information is available from other 
states that have already started their pilot programs, from Canada where industrial hemp is grown as a commodity crop, 
and from organizations advocating industrial hemp as a crop. We have used that information to answer these basic 
common questions, but encourage you to go directly to the sources for details. 

What are the best hemp varieties? 

Different varieties are better for different purposes. Whether you grow hemp for fiber, grain production, or CBD will 

determine which varieties you will want to grow. Please refer to this fact sheet for some growing and harvesting 

information about the three most common types of hemp. 

You may refer to DATCP's hemp seed webpage for lists of certified grain and fiber varieties and approved CBD varieties. 
Regardless of variety planted, all industrial hemp fields or varieties testing above 0.3% THC in the department’s pre- 
harvest test must be destroyed. 

When do you plant hemp? 
The ideal seeding time for outdoor industrial hemp production in Wisconsin is from mid-May to mid-June. Soil 
temperatures should be at least 45-50 degrees Fahrenheit. Industrial hemp likes warm soil. Cold soils and pathogens 
may kill seedlings if you plant too early. 

What type of soil does hemp like? 
Hemp can grow in many types of soil, but it particularly does well in well-drained soils. 

https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/UseComparisonTable.pdf
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHSeed.aspx
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How many pounds of seed per acre do you plant? 
The general recommendation is 20-40 pounds per acre for grain production, and 40-60 pounds per acre for fiber 
production, but the optimal seeding rate for your field will depend on the seed variety, seed purity and germ, local 
conditions and other factors. The Canadian Hemp Trade Alliance’s (CHTA) Hemp Production eGuide has excellent 
seeding information. Hemp grown for CBD usually requires at least 6 ft per plant with 1000-2000 plants per acre. 

Can you plant hemp on hemp? How does it fit into a crop rotation? 
According to the CHTA, “Hemp fits in with typical crop rotation systems and with typical equipment that would already 
be found in a grain production system.” Please visit the CHTA’s Hemp Production eGuide for much more information on 
hemp agronomy. 

How do you sow hemp seed? What equipment and at what depth? Can you broadcast or do you have to drill?  
Most conventional drills and seeders will work for hemp. Use lower air volumes to avoid seed cracking, and plant ½-1 
inch maximum into a firm seedbed. Avoid soil compaction and do not seed when heavy rain is in the forecast. Please 
visit the CHTA’s Hemp Production eGuide for much more information on hemp planting. 

Can I grow hemp organically? 
The National Organic Program (NOP) allows organic certification of hemp grain and fiber. The national organization has 
indicated it may not certify cannabinoid extracts produced from hemp, but each local certifier may handle this matter 
differently. Please visit NOP’s website or speak with your local organic certifier for more information. 

There are no pesticides registered for use on industrial hemp. You may use only 25(b) minimum risk pesticides, which 
are exempt from federal EPA registration. However, those products must be registered in Wisconsin.  A list of pesticide 
products registered in Wisconsin can be found here.  Check with your local certifier to see which of these may be used 
on organic-certified industrial hemp. 

Do you need to fertilize industrial hemp? 
Yes, hemp has similar nutrient needs to corn, and especially requires added nitrogen. General guidelines for fertilizer 
rates can be found on the CHTA’s Hemp Production eGuide. 

How do you harvest it? 
Hemp varieties grown for grain and fiber are generally harvested by straight combining; however, swathing is also 
used.  Hemp has long fibers and can get entangled in harvesting equipment.  Other hemp varieties, such as those grown 
for CBD, may require different harvesting techniques, including hand harvesting. Do your research and be patient while 
harvesting industrial hemp. Please visit the CHTA’s Hemp Production eGuide for much more information on hemp 
harvesting. 

When do you harvest it? 
Generally, crop maturity is 90-120 days after planting, depending on the variety and local climatic conditions. Industrial 
hemp seed is harvested when about 75 percent of the seeds are ripe and starting to shatter. High winds can accelerate 
shattering. Bird predation can also be a major problem. The CHTA recommends harvesting at 18-20 percent moisture, 
and immediately starting the drying process. Dry grain to 8-10 percent moisture for storage. 

What kind of yield can I expect? 
Yields vary widely depending on variety, local climatic conditions, cultivation method, and grower experience. 

For grain, new growers have reported yields of 250-700 pounds/acre. More experienced growers report 800-1,800+ 
pounds/acre. 

The average yield for dual purpose crops, harvested for both grain and fiber, is ¾-2 tons/acre. For hemp produced solely 
for fiber, the average yield is 3-5 tons per acre. 

How deep are the roots? 
The CHTA says that hemp roots are capable of penetrating up to 24 inches into the soil to recover nutrients that may be 
lost to many other crops. CHTA Hemp Production eGuide 

http://www.hemptrade.ca/eguide
http://www.hemptrade.ca/eguide
http://www.hemptrade.ca/eguide
https://www.ams.usda.gov/about-ams/programs-offices/national-organic-program
https://www.kellysolutions.com/wi/pesticideindex.asp
http://www.hemptrade.ca/eguide
http://www.hemptrade.ca/eguide
http://www.hemptrade.ca/eguide
http://www.hemptrade.ca/eguide
http://www.hemptrade.ca/eguide
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Do deer eat hemp? 
Yes, deer browse damage was observed in Wisconsin fields by DATCP hemp inspectors in 2018, but it was not 

substantial. 

Back to top 
 

 

Seed and Clones 

Where can I buy hemp seed or clones? 
Seeds and clones are available from multiple domestic or international sources. You can order seed or clones after you 
receive your license and submit your annual registration form and fee. You must transport and store seeds or clones in a 
secure manner. We recommend purchasing certified seed for grain and fiber varieties as the best option for quality 
germination rates and best protection against high THC levels. 

Does DATCP have a DEA registration to help growers import seed internationally? 

DATCP does have a DEA seed importer registration and can help facilitate seed imports in 2019. 

Can I sell seed or clones to growers in other states? 

Federal law fully permits interstate commerce of hemp seed, grain, plant material, and hemp products. 

However, you cannot sell or transport hemp seed that was imported from outside the country via Wisconsin’s DEA 
importer registration permits. That imported seed must be planted or processed within the state. 

Can I save seed to plant the following year? 
A grower may save seed harvested from a pilot project and plant the seed unless it is prohibited by the variety owner. 
Please see more information in the seed section of DATCP’s industrial hemp web site.  Usually, seed cannot be saved and 
sold for propagation, except under the Wisconsin Crop Improvement Association’s seed certification program. Most 
seed distributors will not allow purchasers to save seed and sell it to other users. 

Do I need a seed license to sell hemp seed or clones in Wisconsin? 
The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection licenses seed labelers. The labeling requirement helps 
assure that consumers receive good quality seed that germinates and does not contain weed seeds. 

 

A seed labeler is any business or person whose name appears on a seed label, or who opens containers of agricultural, 
lawn or vegetable seed to sell all or part of it. Labels must include information about the percentages of different kinds 
of seeds in the package, germination, and treatment, inoculation or coating. Complete labeling requirements are listed 
in Wisconsin Administrative Code ATCP 20. 

 
You do not need a seed label license if you sell: 

 
 Seed grown and sold on your own farm 
 Seed in unopened bags or containers labeled by a licensed seed labeler 
 Clones 

 
Please visit the Wisconsin Seed Program for more information. 

Can I breed a new variety of hemp for Wisconsin? 
Pilot program participants wishing to breed a new hemp variety must apply for a research authorization from the 
department. Breeding is typically done by breeders or plant geneticists in an academic setting, and may have additional 
legal requirements. 

Back to top 

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHSeed.aspx
https://wcia.wisc.edu/
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/020/20
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/SeedLabel.aspx
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Marketing 

Can I sell my unprocessed hemp in other states? 
Wisconsin does not prohibit licensed growers from selling their unprocessed hemp interstate, but other states may or 
may not allow their processors to import unprocessed hemp from Wisconsin. You are responsible for understanding 
federal law and other states’ laws, or for consulting an attorney on these matters. 

Can I process hemp imported from growers in other states? 

Licensed processors in Wisconsin may accept unprocessed industrial hemp from licensed growers who are part of any 
state’s industrial hemp pilot program. Unprocessed hemp must be accompanied by documentation provided by an 
industrial hemp pilot program that demonstrates that the hemp has tested at or below 0.3 percent THC. 

Does DATCP have any grants for growing hemp? 
No, but our Division of Agricultural Development may provide some business development assistance. Other agencies or 
organizations may offer grants or other financial assistance. If you accept grants, there may be additional reporting and 
other requirements beyond those you must meet to participate in the pilot research program. This does not relieve you 
of any of your responsibilities within the pilot program. 

Do I have to be a Wisconsin resident to get a DATCP industrial hemp license? 
No, but the land where you grow industrial hemp or the location where you process it must be in Wisconsin. 

Can I grow hemp under contract with someone else? 
Yes, but each individual grower must still be licensed, register and sign a research agreement, and meet the research 
plan and reporting requirements. The person you are growing for must be a licensed processor. 

Do I have to own the land I want to grow hemp on? 
No. You can grow hemp on rented land as long as the landowner consents, and understands that we will perform 
routine inspections and plant sampling in the fields. If you plant hemp on rented land, you must provide us with the 
landowner's name and contact information. 

What price can I expect to receive when I sell my hemp? 
Prices for hemp grain, fiber and oils are fluctuating widely in the U.S. because the industry is in a very early stage and 
constantly developing. You should research available markets before you plant. 

What is the cost per acre of growing hemp? 
The Alberta Agriculture and Forestry Department reported an average total production cost at $409 (Canadian dollars) 
per acre, with an average grain yield of 1,074 pounds per acre – or 38 cents per pound of hemp seed produced. 

In Minnesota, hemp seed prices have varied widely, depending on variety and source. Imported seed costs more than 
domestic seed because of additional shipping and customs fees. You may also need to buy or rent harvesting 
equipment. In 2016, hemp producers in Minnesota reported costs per acre of $970-$2,500. In 2017, initial reports 
indicate production costs of $300-$600 per acre. This does not include costs of land. 

In Wisconsin, we just don’t know. That’s part of what we are trying to learn. 

Who will buy my hemp if I grow it? 
The U.S. hemp market is limited and constantly in flux for many reasons. As in other states, Wisconsin will have to 
develop processing facilities. Growers are responsible for finding markets. To learn more about marketing opportunities, 
we encourage you to contact a hemp trade group such as the Hemp Industries Association or the National Hemp 
Association. 

What if I can’t or don’t want to sell my hemp at the end of the growing season? 
If you are unwilling or unable to sell your industrial hemp at the end of the growing season, you have several options. 
You can request permission from DATCP to destroy your crop and burn it, plow it under, or compost it. If it has tested at 
0.3% THC or lower, you may bale it and store it on your farm. Your year-end report to DATCP must include the final 
disposition of your industrial hemp crop. 

http://www1.agric.gov.ab.ca/%24Department/deptdocs.nsf/all/econ16267/%24FILE/%202015IndustrialHempCOP.pdf
https://www.thehia.org/
http://www.nationalhempassociation.org/
http://www.nationalhempassociation.org/
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Can I export hemp products to other countries? 
Yes, certain hemp products may be exported to other countries, including processed hemp, grain, seed, and fiber. Export 
requirements vary by product and destination. Please contact our phytosanitary certificate program for more info. 

What about cannabinoids, like CBD? 
Cannabinoids, such as cannabidiol (CBD), are a group of chemicals concentrated in the female flower of the cannabis 
plant. While they are chemically similar to THC, they do not have the psychoactive effects of THC.  It is the licensed 
processor’s responsibility to ensure that any CBD extraction or the production of CBD-containing substances complies 
with all laws and regulations, including any distribution to be conducted as part of marketing research. 

 
Do I need a license to sell products made from industrial hemp, including CBD oil? 
You don’t need a license from the industrial hemp program to sell products made from industrial hemp. However, other 
programs or departments may have requirements. For example, retailers need a permit from the WI Dept. of Revenue. 

 

Can I purchase CBD from a wholesaler who is not in Wisconsin and then re-brand the CBD and sell it with my 

company’s logo in Wisconsin? 

If you are repackaging or relabeling hemp for sale, you must have a hemp processor’s license. However, the rebranded 

product cannot include any Wisconsin Industrial Hemp Pilot Program license number or reference unless the hemp was 

actually grown or processed in the state. 

Can I sell food products infused with CBD oil? 
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has stated that it is not legal to sell food products containing CBD oil 
interstate. DATCP’s Division of Food and Recreational Safety generally follows FDA’s guidelines related to safe food 
ingredients or additives. 

 

Can I bottle water that contains CBD? 

There are numerous regulations that relate to bottling water. Please contact our Division of Food Safety for more 

information at 608-224-4923 or datcpdfslicensing@wisconsin.gov. 
 

Back to top 

Animal feed and pet treats 

Can I feed hemp to my livestock? 
Animal feed (animal food) and animal feed ingredients, including pet food and pet treats, are regulated by the FDA and 
each individual state.  At this time, industrial hemp, its byproducts and extracts (e.g. CBD concentrates, isolates, or 
synthetics) cannot be used in or on any animal feed product or animal feed ingredient. 

Can I make pet food with hemp? 
Animal feed (animal food) and animal feed ingredients, including pet food and pet treats, are regulated by the FDA and 
each individual state.  At this time, industrial hemp, its byproducts and extracts (e.g. CBD concentrates, isolates, or 
synthetics) cannot be used in or on any animal feed product or animal feed ingredient. 

Can I sell pet treats that contain CBD? 
No. Industrial hemp, its byproducts and extracts (e.g. CBD concentrates, isolates, or synthetics) are not approved for use 
in animal feed as there is inadequate data surrounding the safety and utility of any hemp or hemp byproducts for use in 
animal feed.  
 
At this time, CBD oil is regulated as a drug by the FDA. CBD oil must undergo the drug approval process through the FDA 
prior to distribution. For more information on pursuit of a new animal drug application, please visit: 
https://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/DevelopmentApprovalProcess/NewAnimalDrugApplications/default.htm. 
 

Back to top 

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/ShippingPlantMaterial.aspx
mailto:datcpdfslicensing@wisconsin.gov
https://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/DevelopmentApprovalProcess/NewAnimalDrugApplications/default.htm



