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Wisconsin’s hemp pilot research program (pilot program) is permitted under federal (2014 and 2018 Farm Bills) 
and state (Wis. Stat. § 94.55) law. As mandated by federal and state law, the pilot program will expire on 
October 31, 2020. Below are answers to frequently asked questions about the pilot program. This information 
is a guide. If you have questions, contact the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer 
Protection (DATCP) pilot program by phone (844) 449-4367 (toll-free) or email datcpindustrialhemp@wi.gov. 
Information is also available at https://hemp.wi.gov. 
 
Sampling 
1. How do I notify DATCP that my crop is ready 
for the regulatory sample? 
You must notify DATCP in writing 30 days prior to 
the date that you anticipate harvesting, for each 
hemp lot. This written notification is called the 30-
day harvest notification. You can submit this 
notification using any of the following methods: 
• Online at MyDATCP (instructions for submitting 

documents using MyDATCP). 
• Print and submit the 30-day harvest notification 

form (581) and return by mail or fax. You must 
also submit a map of the hemp lot. 

• Request a 30-day harvest notification form be 
mailed to you. To request this form, call toll-free 
(844) 449-4367, email 
datcpindustrialhemp@wisconsin.gov, or write to  
DATCP-ARM-Hemp 
P.O. Box 8911 
Madison WI 53708-8911 

DATCP no longer accepts email or voicemail 
notifications. 

 
2. How are regulatory samples collected? 
DATCP will sample (cut) the top two inches of the 
hemp flowers randomly throughout one hemp lot (a 
contiguous area in a field, greenhouse, facility, or 
growing structure containing the same variety or 
strain of hemp throughout the area, see Wis. Admin 
Code § ATCP 22.02(14)) to get a representative 
sample of the lot. DATCP’s standard operating 
procedure is available at   

https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempSampleColle
ctionProcess.pdf.  
 
If you have fewer than 15 female plants available in 
one lot, DATCP will not be able to get enough plant 
material for a sample from that lot. As a result, the 
hemp at that growing location will be ordered to be 
destroyed. 
 
3. Can I mix my varieties in one lot, field, or 
growing location? 
No. DATCP is required to sample each lot (each 
variety grown in each contiguous growing location). 
If you are mixing your varieties in a growing 
location, DATCP staff may be unable to collect a 
representative sample of the field and the hemp 
within the entire growing location may need to be 
destroyed. Separate each hemp lot so that all the 
plants in one lot are of the same variety. Clearly 
mark the edges of each lot and clearly label the 
variety of hemp in that lot. 
 
4. Can DATCP take a sample from harvested 
hemp? 
No. The regulatory hemp sample collected by 
DATCP must come from a growing hemp lot. Post-
harvest or processed hemp cannot be sampled for 
regulatory purposes. Lots that cannot be sampled 
as required, because they have been harvested or 
processed prior to the regulatory sample being 
collected, will be ordered to be destroyed. 
 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/113th-congress/house-bill/2642
https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/94/55
mailto:datcpindustrialhemp@wi.gov
https://hemp.wi.gov/
https://mydatcp.wi.gov/
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/HempOnlineProcess.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/HempOnlineProcess.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/Hemp30DayHarvestNotice.pdf
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/Hemp30DayHarvestNotice.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempSampleCollectionProcess.pdf
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempSampleCollectionProcess.pdf
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Testing 
5. How do you know my crop’s total delta-9 THC 
content? 
The samples DATCP collects from your lot are sent 
to DATCP’s lab for analysis. The analysis tests for 
the total delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (total delta-9 
THC) of each lot sampled. Due to the number of 
samples needing testing, you might not receive 
your regulatory test results prior to harvest. 
 
6. Can I have my hemp privately tested? 
Yes, but private tests may not substitute for 
DATCP’s regulatory test. It is strongly 
recommended that growers monitor the total delta-
9 THC content of their lot through private testing. 
Due to the number of samples needing testing, 
DATCP cannot guarantee that growers will receive 
their regulatory results prior to harvesting their lot. 
Private testing helps growers in making harvest 
decisions. 
 
7. What is DATCP’s procedure for regulatory 
hemp testing? 
DATCP’s regulatory hemp sampling and testing 
has remained the same in 2018, 2019, and 2020. 
The hemp regulatory sample is analyzed for total 
delta-9 THC.  
 
The 2018 Farm Bill and 2019 Wisconsin Act 68 
require a hemp testing method that includes delta-9 
tetahydrocannabinol acid (delta-9 THCa). The 2018 
Farm Bill states that the total delta-9 THC is to be 
tested using post-decarboxylation or other similarly 
reliable methods. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(1) requires that 
hemp contain no more than 0.3% delta-9 THC and 
must be tested using post-decarboxylation or other 
similarly reliable methods. 
 
To meet this requirement of using post-
decarboxylation, DATCP’s regulatory lab uses high 
performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) with a 
calculation (total delta-9 THC = delta-9 THC + 
0.877*delta-9 THCa) to achieve equivalent results 
to heating. Delta-9 THCa is included in the 
assessment because delta-9 THCa is a precursor 
to delta-9 THC, and with heat converts to delta-9 
THC.  
 
8. What if my hemp tests above 0.3% total delta-
9 THC? 
If your lot tests between 0.3% and 1.0% total delta-
9 THC, you may request a re-sample in writing. 
You can either email 

datcpindustrialhemp@wiscosnin.gov or mail a letter 
requesting this to 

DATCP-ARM-Hemp 
Attn: Re-Sample 
P.O. Box 8911 
Madison, WI 53708-8911  

You must make your request within 10 days of 
service of your initial sample results. The date of 
service is the return receipt date on your mailed 
sample results.  
 
If you request a re-sample, DATCP will collect 
another sample of the same lot and send the new 
sample to DATCP’s lab for analysis. You will have 
to pay another $250 for the re-sample and testing. 
 
If you decline re-sampling and testing, you must 
destroy that same hemp lot within 10 days of 
service of the destruction order. 
 
If your re-sample results are above 0.3% total 
delta-9 THC, a lot destruction order will be sent to 
you. You must destroy your hemp lot within 10 days 
of service of the destruction order. You cannot 
request another re-sample if your lot of hemp has 
already been re-sampled.  
 
If your lot tests above 1.0% total delta-9 THC, it is 
outside the safe limits of the law (Wis. Stat. § 
961.32). This means that DATCP staff will have to 
observe the destruction of this lot, or DATCP staff 
will destroy the hemp lot and you will receive a bill 
for destruction.   
 
9. Is there a list of approved labs that can 
provide THC and cannabinoid testing? 
DATCP does not currently certify or approve labs 
that can provide cannabis testing. However there 
are many private laboratories in the state that 
provide this service for growers. DATCP 
recommends using laboratories that are ISO 17025 
accredited. 
 
10. Does DATCP require post-harvest testing? 
No, DATCP currently does not require post-harvest 
testing or product testing. Processors and 
manufacturers may require testing. Regardless of 
DATCP hemp regulatory testing, all hemp and 
hemp products must meet the legal definition of 
hemp with a total delta-9 THC content of 0.3% or 
less. 
 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2019/related/acts/68
mailto:DATCPIndustrialHemp@wiscosnin.gov
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/961/III/32
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/961/III/32


 

 
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Page 3 of 4 

11. Can I send my hemp sample to a private lab 
to avoid the cost of DATCP’s regulatory 
testing? 
No. The regulatory sample cannot be taken by 
anyone other than DATCP and the regulatory 
testing cannot be done by a private lab. While you 
are encouraged to use a private lab to monitor your 
crop’s total delta-9 THC concentration throughout 
the growing season, DATCP’s regulatory hemp 
sampling and testing is the required regulatory test 
at this time. Your hemp crop must be sampled by 
DATCP before harvest and tested by DATCP’s lab 
before a fit for commerce certificate can be issued. 
You can use private labs for any additional pre- or 
post-harvest testing needs. 
 
Hemp Seed, Clones, and Varieties 
12. What is certified seed? 
Certified seed is seed whose producer has 
submitted their seed to inspection/testing to prove 
the identity of its variety, genetic purity, and seed 
quality. In Wisconsin, the Wisconsin Crop 
Improvement Association (WCIA) is designated as 
the official seed certifying agency. For more 
information about the WCIA, visit 
https://wcia.wisc.edu/seedcert.html. DATCP’s 
Hemp Pilot Research Program does not certify 
seed. 
 
13. How do I get my variety approved? 
Only licensed hemp growers with a current annual 
registration can grow hemp. State law (Wis. Admin 
Code § ATCP 22.07) requires you to notify DATCP 
in writing of the variety of hemp you intend to plant. 
Before planting, you must request review and 
receive approval from DATCP for each variety not 
certified by WCIA. 
 
Planting an unapproved variety could result in the 
revocation of your license. 
 
DATCP does not certify hemp varieties, but verifies 
that the variety is documented to be capable of 
producing a compliant hemp crop. This is not a 
guarantee the variety will produce a compliant crop. 
Compliance is determined by the regulatory test. 
Additional information about this process is 
available at 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHS
eed.aspx. 
 
 
 
 

14. Where can I buy hemp seed or clones? 
Seeds and clones are available from multiple 
domestic or international sources. You can order 
seed or clones after you submit your annual 
registration form and fee, and after you receive 
your license.  
 
Seeds, clones, or seedlings with a fit for commerce 
certificate, or its equivalent, provides proof that they 
came from legal hemp. Seed certified by the WCIA 
or the official seed certifying agency of another 
state can also provide proof that seed came from 
legal hemp.  
 
15. Can I sell seed or clones to growers in other 
states? 
Yes, if the hemp was lawfully grown. Federal law 
permits interstate (state-to-state) commerce 
(buying and selling) of hemp seed, grain, plant 
material, and hemp products. Check with other 
state, tribal, or USDA hemp regulatory programs to 
find out what their requirements are. 
 
Under state law (Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.13), 
when transporting hemp grown under Wisconsin’s 
hemp pilot program, you must include a copy of the 
fit for commerce certificate and the grower or 
processor license that designates the owner of the 
hemp.  
 
16. Can I save seed to plant the following year? 
A grower may save seed harvested from a pilot 
project and plant the seed unless it is prohibited by 
the variety owner. More information is available at 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHS
eed.aspx. 
 
17. Do I need a seed license to sell hemp seed 
in Wisconsin? 
Maybe. DATCP’s Seed Labeler Program licenses 
seed labelers. The seed labeler program is a 
separate program from the hemp pilot program. 
Visit 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/See
dLabel.aspx or call (608) 224-4596 for more 
information. 
 
18. What do I need to do to sell hemp clones in 
Wisconsin? 
First, obtain a hemp grower license and current 
annual registration. You will need a regulatory 
sample and a fit for commerce certificate for the 
Wisconsin grown parent lot of hemp one growing 
season before the resulting clones are brought to 

https://wcia.wisc.edu/seedcert.html
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHSeed.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHSeed.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHSeed.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHSeed.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/SeedLabel.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/SeedLabel.aspx
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market. Each hemp lot needs to have at least 15 
female flowering plants at the time of the regulatory 
sample. For an out-of-state parent lot, you need the 
equivalent of a fit for commerce certificate from the 
state, tribal, or USDA administered hemp regulatory 
program of origin for that parent lot. 
 
Resources 
You can learn more about hemp through these 
resources: 
• DATCP Hemp Program: https://hemp.wi.gov  
• University of Wisconsin-Madison, Division of 

Extension: https://fyi.extension.wisc.edu/hemp/  
• USDA:  

o https://www.usda.gov/topics/hemp  
o https://www.farmers.gov/manage/hemp  
o Interim final rule: Establishment of a 

Domestic Hemp Production Program  
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/
2019/10/31/2019-23749/establishment-of-a-
domestic-hemp-production-program 

o List of approved tribal plans: 
https://www.ams.usda.gov/rules-
regulations/hemp/state-and-tribal-plan-
review 

• U.S. Department of Justice Drug Enforcement 
Administration (DEA): 
o DEA’s interim final rule: Implementation of 

the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/
2020/08/21/2020-17356/implementation-of-
the-agriculture-improvement-act-of-2018 
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https://www.farmers.gov/manage/hemp
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https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2019/10/31/2019-23749/establishment-of-a-domestic-hemp-production-program
https://www.ams.usda.gov/rules-regulations/hemp/state-and-tribal-plan-review
https://www.ams.usda.gov/rules-regulations/hemp/state-and-tribal-plan-review
https://www.ams.usda.gov/rules-regulations/hemp/state-and-tribal-plan-review
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/21/2020-17356/implementation-of-the-agriculture-improvement-act-of-2018
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/21/2020-17356/implementation-of-the-agriculture-improvement-act-of-2018
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/21/2020-17356/implementation-of-the-agriculture-improvement-act-of-2018
http://datcp/

