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Wisconsin’s hemp pilot research program is permitted under federal (2014 and 2018 Farm Bills) and state 
(Wis. Stat. § 94.55) law and will expire on October 31, 2020. Below are answers to frequently asked questions 
about the pilot program. This information is a guide. If you have questions, contact the Wisconsin Department 
of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) by phone (844) 449-4367 (toll-free) or email 
datcpindustrialhemp@wi.gov. Information is also available at https://hemp.wi.gov. 
 
 
General 
1. What is hemp? 
Under federal (2014 and 2018 Farm Bills) and state 
(Wis. Stat. § 94.55) law, industrial hemp is defined as 
the plant with the Latin species name cannabis sativa 
L., with a delta-9 THC concentration of 0.3 percent or 
less in all parts of the plant when it has been dried.  
 
The 2018 Farm Bill and 2019 Wis. Act 68 removed 
the word “industrial” and now defines hemp as the 
plant cannabis sativa L. and any part of that plant, 
including the seeds thereof and all derivatives, 
extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts, and 
salts of isomers, whether growing or not, with a delta-
9 THC concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on 
a dry weight basis. 
 
2. What is THC? 
THC stands for delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol, or total 
delta-9 THC. Delta-9 THC is the primary 
psychoactive component of cannabis. Delta-9 THC 
and THC are interchangeable. Total THC includes 
THC-A. THC-A converts to delta-9 THC when heat is 
applied. 
  
3. How is hemp grown? 
The University of Wisconsin-Madison, Division of 
Extension provides education and resources for 
growing hemp at 
https://fyi.extension.wisc.edu/hemp/. 
 

4. How do I legally grow or process hemp in 
Wisconsin? 

You must have a license and annual registration 
issued by DATCP before you can grow or process 
hemp. To get a license application, visit 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHLic
RegFee.aspx. 
 
Licensing and Registration 
5. Will my existing pilot program license expire 
on October 31, 2020?  
Yes. When the pilot program expires on October 
31, 2020, the grower and processor licenses issued 
under the pilot program also expire. To learn more 
about the transition to a permanent program, visit 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/He
mpTransition.aspx.  
 
6. What is a grower license? 
To grow hemp you need a grower license and 
annual registration from DATCP. The license and 
registration are required if you are growing hemp 
starter plants, hemp micro-greens, or any hemp 
that may be grown for personal use. 
 
Under state (Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.03(1)) 
law, the grower license allows a person to plant, 
possess, cultivate, grow, and harvest hemp. Also, 
the grower license allows a person to store, handle, 
and convert into a marketable form the hemp 
cultivated, grown, and harvested under their grower 
license. 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/113th-congress/house-bill/2642
https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/94/55
mailto:datcpindustrialhemp@wi.gov
https://hemp.wi.gov/
https://www.congress.gov/bill/113th-congress/house-bill/2642
https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/94/55
https://www.congress.gov/115/bills/hr2/BILLS-115hr2enr.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2019/related/acts/68.pdf
https://fyi.extension.wisc.edu/hemp/
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHLicRegFee.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHLicRegFee.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/HempTransition.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/HempTransition.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
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7. What is a processor license? 
To process hemp from a licensed grower, you need 
a processor license and annual registration from 
DATCP. 
 
You do not need a processor license and 
registration if you only process hemp that you grew. 
 
8. What is hemp processing? 
Under state (Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.03(3)) 
law, the processor license allows a person to store, 
handle, and convert hemp into a marketable form. 
Processing hemp includes: 
• Storing hemp  
• Converting hemp to a marketable form  
• Handling, drying or curing, trimming, and 

packaging raw hemp flower  
• Extracting cannabinoids 
• Producing hemp cigarettes 
 
Depending on what you do with the hemp, you may 
need additional licenses and/or certificates, or have 
to meet other requirements. Information about other 
licenses or certificates you may need is available at 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempRegulatoryR
esources.pdf. 
  
9. How do I apply for a license? 
Fill out an application and submit it with your 
licensing fee payment to DATCP. Applications and 
current fee information is available at 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHLi
cRegFee.aspx. 
 
10. Do I have to be a Wisconsin resident to get a 
license? 
No, but the land where you grow hemp or the 
location where you process must be in Wisconsin. 
 
11. Can I grow or process hemp under someone 
else’s license and registration? 
No. The person who is doing the growing or 
processing of hemp needs to be the license holder 
and is the person who signed the research 
agreement. 
 
12. Can I have a list of licensed hemp growers 
and processors? 
No. State law does not allow DATCP to release this 
information. Growers or processors may release 
this information themselves. 
 

Changes in state law (Wis. Stat. § 95.44 as 
included in 2019 Wis. Act 68) allow DATCP to ask 
for a licensee’s consent to share some information. 
DATCP is preparing to implement this request for 
consent. If licensee information is available to 
share, DATCP will post this on its website. 
 
13. How long does my license under the hemp 
pilot research program last? 
Licenses and registrations will expire on October 
31, 2020. 
 
14. When can I apply for a license and 
registration? 
For the 2020 growing season, the licensing 
application period opened on November 1, 2019. 
Returning licensees who register after March 1, 
2020 will have a late fee. New licensees can apply 
any time. 
 
15. What do the licensing and registration fees 
cover? 
Fees cover the cost of implementing the program, 
including administration, sampling, and testing. 
 
16. Who is a license contact? 
This is when a licensee designates a contact 
person(s) for the hemp license holder. Due to 
confidentiality, DATCP can only provide license 
information to someone who is the license holder, 
operations manager, or license contact. If you are 
the licensee or operations manager, and need to 
add or remove a person as a license contact, 
contact DATCP. 
 
17. Who is the operations manager? 
If you apply for a hemp license as a business, the 
operations manager is the person who the 
background check is performed on, and who is 
legally responsible for the hemp operations. If your 
licensed business needs to change their operations 
manager, contact DATCP. 
 
18. What type of convictions disqualify me in 
the background check? 
An applicant or an operations manager may not 
have a conviction for a criminal violation of the 
Federal Controlled Substances Act under 21 USC 
801 to 971, Wis. Stat. ch. 961, or any controlled 
substances law of another state. If you are unsure if 
your conviction violates this standard, consult with 
a legal professional. 
 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempRegulatoryResources.pdf
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempRegulatoryResources.pdf
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHLicRegFee.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHLicRegFee.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/94/55
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2019/related/acts/68.pdf
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/21usc/
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/21cfr/21usc/
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/961
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19. What is the research agreement and why is 
it required? 
The 2014 Farm Bill allowed universities and state 
departments of agriculture to conduct hemp pilot 
research programs. The research agreements 
extend the pilot program to individual growers and 
processors, allowing them to do applied research 
throughout Wisconsin under a variety of growing 
conditions. You must sign and date the research 
agreement as part of the application process for the 
annual registration. 
 
20. What is the research plan or research 
summary? 
This is a research pilot program, so applicants must 
include a research plan to qualify for a license. 
Research topics may include planting, harvesting 
and processing techniques; seed varieties; nutrient 
requirements; markets; storage; non-chemical pest 
and weed control; or other topics that participants 
choose. A concise research plan may be submitted 
on the forms provided by DATCP, or you can attach 
a more detailed plan. 
 
21. How can I keep my license in good 
standing? 
For growers: 
• Plant an approved variety 
• Submit your planting report(s) accurately and 

on time 
• Submit your 30-day harvest notification(s) 

accurately and on time 
• Destroy any non-compliant hemp lot 
 
For both growers and processors: 
• Keep required records and pay the required 

fees. See Wis. Admin. Code § 22.05 for 
requirements. 

• Submit the appropriate final report accurately 
and on time. 

• Follow all applicable state, federal, and local 
laws. 

 
22. What other licenses do I need for growing or 
processing hemp? 
Depending on what you are doing with the hemp 
you grow or process, you may need additional 
licenses or certificates from different regulatory 
programs at either DATCP or another agency. 
More information about other possible licenses you 
may need is available in a separate handout at 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempRegulatoryR
esources.pdf. 

Licensee Reporting 
23. What is a planting report? 
A planting report informs DATCP about the hemp 
that you plant at each lot. A planting report must be 
submitted within 30 days of planting hemp in any 
lot. You must submit your planting report 
information for each planting of each variety or 
strain at each lot. Check with DATCP’s Hemp 
Program for the most up-to-date instructions for 
submitting your planting report. 
 
By July 1, 2020, submit a planting report. If you do 
not anticipate planting hemp by July 1, 2020, 
submit a planting report indicating that you have not 
planted hemp yet. If you are a licensed hemp 
grower and if you have a current annual registration 
and you have not submitted a planting report by 
July 1, 2020, your license may be revoked. 
 
If you plant hemp after July 1, 2020, you must 
submit a planting report within 30 days of planting 
hemp in any lot. See DATCP’s website for planting 
report submittal instructions 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHR
ecords.aspx. DATCP may suspend your license if 
you do not submit the required planting reports. 
 
The report collects the following:  

• Address of each growing location 
• Name of variety planted at each lot 
• Global positioning system (GPS) 

coordinates of each lot 
• Maps depicting each growing location 

including each lot, lot entrances, lot 
boundaries, and other lot specific 
boundaries.  

• Number of acres or greenhouse square 
footage planted at each lot 

• A statement that no planting has occurred if 
the grower has not planted, grown, or 
cultivated hemp.  

 
24. What is a 30-day harvest notification? 
This is separate from the planting report and it 
informs DATCP that you are preparing to harvest a 
specific lot of hemp. You must submit notification 
in writing 30 days before your anticipated 
harvest date for each lot of hemp. This allows 
DATCP to plan for your regulatory hemp sample 
and the thousands of other regulatory hemp 
samples that are taken each year. See DATCP’s 
website for the 30-day harvest notification submittal 
instructions 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/113th-congress/house-bill/2642
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempRegulatoryResources.pdf
https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/HempRegulatoryResources.pdf
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHRecords.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHRecords.aspx
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https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHIn
spexTest.aspx. Your license could be revoked if 
you do not submit this notification. 
 
25. What is a final report? 
This is the last report of the season and it includes 
information about all of your growing or processing 
activities during that growing season. 
 
For growers, this report collects the following:  
• Total acres or square footage harvested 
• Total acres or square footage destroyed 
• Final production quantity 
• Name of variety planted at each lot 
• Name(s) and license number(s) of any 

processor who received your hemp 
• Final disposition of the hemp you produced or 

destroyed 
 
For processors, the report collects the following:  
• Total quantity of hemp received 
• List of quantity and license number for each 

transfer of hemp to the licensee 
• Methods of hemp processing 
• Description of all intended markets for the hemp 

processed 
 
DATCP will not register you for the succeeding 
season if you have not filed your end of year final 
production report. 
 
Growing Locations 
26. Do I have to own the land I want to grow 
hemp on? 
No. You can grow hemp on rented land as long as 
the landowner consents, and understands that 
DATCP will perform routine inspections and sample 
plants in the fields. The license holder must be the 
person who is growing the hemp. If you plant hemp 
on rented land, you must provide DATCP with the 
landowner's name and contact information on your 
application form or license amendment form. 
 
27. Can I grow hemp in a greenhouse? 
Yes, as long as you clearly indicate your research 
goals and production methods on your application. 
 
28. Can I grow or process hemp in my home? 
DATCP does not restrict hemp growing locations, 
but any growing location must be fully compliant 
with any applicable local, state, or federal codes, 
rules, or laws. When it comes time to have the 
required, pre-harvest regulatory sample of the 

hemp that you have grown, DATCP hemp sampling 
staff cannot conduct sampling work in a residence 
or a location that poses a safety risk. 
 
You are responsible for understanding local laws 
(including zoning ordinances and building codes), 
state laws, and federal laws, or for consulting an 
attorney on these matters. 
 
29. Can I grow or process hemp near a school, 
town, or major road? Are there restrictions on 
where I can grow it? 
DATCP does not restrict hemp production 
locations, but you may be subject to township, city, 
or other municipal zoning rules prohibiting hemp in 
certain locations, including backyards in residential 
neighborhoods. You are responsible for 
understanding local laws (including zoning 
ordinances and building codes), state laws, and 
federal laws, or for consulting legal help on these 
matters. 
 
30. Can I change my growing locations or add a 
growing or processing site? 
To change field locations, you must:  
• Submit a license amendment form to change, 

add, or remove a location 
• Provide new GPS coordinates 
• Submit a license amendment fee 
 
Check DATCP’s website at 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHR
ecords.aspx for the most up-to-date instructions on 
submitting license amendments. 
 
31. Is there a minimum acreage requirement? 
While DATCP does not require a minimum 
acreage, growers must have a minimum of 15 
female plants available for a pre-harvest regulatory 
sample. 
 
32. Do I need to build a fence or post signs 
around my field? 
No. 
 
33. Do I need to notify the sheriff or local 
police? 
No. Once you register your hemp growing or 
processing location(s), DATCP will share your 
location and contact information with law 
enforcement on a regular basis. For this reason, it 
is essential that you provide accurate location 
information and maps and update your license if 
you need to change growing, storage, or 

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHInspexTest.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHInspexTest.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHRecords.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/IHRecords.aspx
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processing locations. This saves the grower and 
processor from unwanted attention, and saves law 
enforcement time and money on unnecessary 
investigations. Make sure all locations where hemp 
will be grown, stored, or processed are registered 
with DATCP prior to planting, storing, or processing 
the hemp. 
 
Moving Hemp: Transporting, Exporting, and 
Importing 
34. Can I sell my unprocessed hemp in other 
states? 
Only lawfully produced hemp can be sold and 
transported within Wisconsin or from state-to-state. 
You are responsible for understanding federal law 
and other state laws, or for consulting legal help on 
these matters. 
 
35. Can I process hemp imported from growers 
in other states? 
Licensed processors with a current annual 
registration in Wisconsin may accept lawfully 
produced unprocessed hemp. Unprocessed hemp 
must be accompanied by documentation provided 
by a hemp research pilot program, or a U.S. 
Department of Agriculture (USDA) hemp producer 
license, or a state or tribal plan approved by USDA; 
and this documentation must demonstrate that the 
hemp tested at or below 0.3% total delta-9 THC. 
 
36. What are the requirements for transporting 
hemp? 
Hemp grown in Wisconsin: 
When transporting Wisconsin grown hemp, under 
state law (Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.13) the 
hemp must be accompanied with the following 
documents:  
• A copy of the fit for commerce certificate(s) for 

the hemp being transported. 
• A copy of the grower license or processor 

license that designates the owner of the hemp 
being transported. 

 
Hemp not grown in Wisconsin: 
Wisconsin transportation requirements would not 
apply to state-to-state transportation of hemp. 
However, harvested hemp found in Wisconsin 
without a fit for commerce certificate is subject to 
seizure by DATCP under state law (Wis. Admin. 
Code § ATCP 22.12(4)). Paperwork from the origin 
state or tribal hemp program should be included 
with a hemp shipment to show that the hemp was 
legally grown. This includes the equivalent to a 

license and fit for commerce certificate. You are 
responsible for understanding federal law and other 
state laws, or for consulting legal help on these 
matters. 
 
Federal law (7 CFR § 990.63) states that no state 
or Native American tribe may prohibit state-to-state 
transportation or shipment of lawfully produced 
hemp or hemp products. This applies to hemp 
lawfully produced under a hemp research pilot 
program, or a USDA hemp producer license, or a 
state or tribal plan approved by USDA. 
 
Interstate (state-to-state) commerce (buying and 
selling of goods) for hemp is regulated by the 
federal government. Contact the USDA hemp 
program with interstate hemp commerce questions 
at farmbill.hemp@usda.gov. 
 
U.S. Postal Service (USPS) information about 
shipping hemp is available at 
https://about.usps.com/postal-
bulletin/2019/pb22521/html/updt_002.htm. 
 
Financial Impacts 
37. How does growing hemp affect my USDA 
Farm Service Agency (FSA) and/or federal crop 
insurance contracts or program participation? 
The 2018 Farm Bill defined hemp as an agricultural 
commodity, so federal agencies no longer consider 
hemp to be a controlled substance. Crop insurance 
for hemp crops has also become available but 
there are a number of specific eligibility 
requirements and deadlines to qualify. For more 
information go to: 
https://www.farmers.gov/manage/hemp. A base 
requirement is that you hold a current DATCP 
hemp grower license and registration. If you are 
thinking of planting hemp, you should check with 
your local FSA service center to see if your access 
to federal crop support programs might be affected 
by growing hemp. 
 
38. Does DATCP have any grants for growing 
hemp? 
No, but DATCP may provide some business 
development assistance. Please see the DATCP 
grants webpage detailing potential grants and 
funding opportunities 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/Gra
nts.aspx.  
 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2020/774B/register/emr/emr2016_rule_text/emr2016_rule_text
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2019/10/31/2019-23749/establishment-of-a-domestic-hemp-production-program
mailto:farmbill.hemp@usda.gov
https://about.usps.com/postal-bulletin/2019/pb22521/html/updt_002.htm
https://about.usps.com/postal-bulletin/2019/pb22521/html/updt_002.htm
https://www.farmers.gov/manage/hemp
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/Grants.aspx
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/Grants.aspx
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Other agencies or organizations may offer grants or 
other financial assistance. If you accept grants, 
there may be additional reporting and other 
requirements beyond those you must meet to 
participate in the pilot research program. This does 
not relieve you of any of your responsibilities within 
the hemp pilot research program. 
 
39. What price can I expect to receive when I 
sell my hemp? 
Prices for hemp flower, grain, fiber, oils, and CBD 
are fluctuating widely in the U.S. because the 
industry is in a very early stage and continuously 
evolving. You should research potential markets 
and current market analysis before you plant. 
 
40. Who will buy my hemp if I grow it? 
Growers are responsible for finding markets. To 
learn more about marketing opportunities, contact a 
hemp trade group such as the Hemp Industries 
Association or the National Hemp Association. 
 
41. What if I can’t or don’t want to sell my hemp 
at the end of the growing season? 
If you do not sell your hemp at the end of the 
growing season, you can store your crop and sell it 
after your hemp grower annual registration has 
expired, but you must keep the following for each 
lot: 
• Copy of your license, showing the appropriate 

annual registration 
• Fit for commerce certificate 
These documents must accompany each lot during 
transportation. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Resources 
You can learn more about hemp through these 
resources: 
• DATCP Hemp Program: https://hemp.wi.gov  
• University of Wisconsin-Madison, Division of 

Extension: https://fyi.extension.wisc.edu/hemp/  
• USDA:  

o https://www.usda.gov/topics/hemp  
o https://www.farmers.gov/manage/hemp  
o https://www.ams.usda.gov/services/grants  
o Interim final rule: Establishment of a 

Domestic Hemp Production Program 
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/
2019/10/31/2019-23749/establishment-of-a-
domestic-hemp-production-program 
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https://www.usda.gov/topics/hemp
https://www.farmers.gov/manage/hemp
https://www.ams.usda.gov/services/grants
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2019/10/31/2019-23749/establishment-of-a-domestic-hemp-production-program
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2019/10/31/2019-23749/establishment-of-a-domestic-hemp-production-program
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2019/10/31/2019-23749/establishment-of-a-domestic-hemp-production-program
http://datcp/

