F-fd-286.docx (Rev.04/21)



Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Division of Food and Recreational Safety,

P.O. Box 93586, Milwaukee, WI 53293-0586

Telephone: (608) 224-4720

LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE: Food Processing Plant, Food Warehouse, Milk Distributor

Important Definitions and Information for Understanding this Form:

Food: A raw, cooked, or processed edible substance, ice, beverage or ingredient used or intended for use or for sale in whole or in part for human consumption, or chewing gum.

Food Processing: The manufacture or preparation of food for sale through the process of canning, extracting, fermenting, distilling, pickling, freezing, baking, drying, smoking, grinding, cutting, mixing, coating, stuffing, slicing cheese/lunch meat, popping popcorn, scooping ice cream, packing, bottling or packaging or through any other treatment or preservation process.

License Denial: If a license application is denied, the applicant has the right to request a hearing concerning the denial (Wis. Stat. § 227.42). The request must be made in writing and must be received by the Department at the central office within 10 days after the applicant receives notice of denial. License fees are not refundable if a license application is denied.

License Fees: The license fees that are paid are not prorated or transferable from one location to another or from one owner to another.

License Surcharge Fee: Applicants found to be operating without a license within one year before submitting the license application shall pay a license fee surcharge. The applicant has the right to request a hearing concerning the surcharge (Wis. Stat. § 227.42). The request must be made in writing and must be received by the Department at the central office within 10 days after the applicant receives notice of surcharge.

Potentially Hazardous Food: Any perishable food capable of supporting rapid and progressive growth of infectious or toxicogenic microorganisms. Potentially hazardous foods include: meat, fish, poultry, dairy products (such as milk, cheese, ice cream, etc.), eggs, shellfish, etc. Basically, any readily perishable food requiring special storage conditions, refrigeration, freezing or hot holding for food safety is a potentially hazardous food.

Re-inspection Fee: Establishments found operating in substantial noncompliance on a regularly scheduled inspection, may be re-inspected and charged under authority of administrative rule.

Review of Equipment and Plans: Upon request by any dairy or food establishment, the Department's Division of Food and Recreational Safety may review construction plans or equipment for compliance with applicable laws before a facility is constructed or equipment is installed. The Department may charge a fee to recover its cost for this review service, regardless of whether the review is required by law (Wis. Stat. § 93.06(1w)).

FOOD PROCESSING PLANT: License expires annually, March 31 Wis. Admin. Code ch. ATCP 70 & Wis. Stat. § 97.29

A food processing plant buying vegetables directly from a Wisconsin grower shall not be licensed until the operator complies with applicable registration and producer security requirements under Wis. Stat. § 126.55.

Dollar Volume of Production = (gross sales of product processed) + (inventory) value of any portion of product not sold. Canning means the preservation and packaging in hermetically sealed containers of low-acid or acidified foods such as

beans, corn or pickles (this does not include jams or jellies).

LICENSE DESCRIPTION	LICENSE FEE	LICENSE SURCHARGE	LICENSE LATE FEE	REINSPECTION FEE
Annual production of at least \$1,000,000 and is engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$835	\$100	\$167	\$525
Annual production of at least \$500,000 but less than \$1,000,000 and is engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$835	\$100	\$167	\$525
Annual production of at least \$250,000 but less than \$500,000 and is engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$835	\$100	\$167	\$525
Annual production of at least \$1,000,000 and is not engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$520	\$100	\$104	\$490

Canning operations with at least \$25,000 in annual production (additional to initial license fee).	\$320	-	\$64	-
Annual production of less than \$25,000 and is not engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$95	\$100	\$19	\$60
Annual production of less than \$25,000 and is engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$95	\$100	\$19	\$60
Annual production of at least \$25,000 but less than \$250,000 and is not engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$160	\$100	\$32	\$150
Annual production of at least \$25,000 but less than \$250,000 and is engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$400	\$100	\$80	\$255
Annual production of at least \$250,000 but less than \$500,000 and is not engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning. (Mid to Large non-potentially hazardous)	\$520	\$100	\$104	\$490
Annual production of at least \$500,000 but less than \$1,000,000 and is not engaged in processing potentially hazardous food or in canning.	\$520	\$100	\$104	\$490

FOOD WAREHOUSE: License expires annually, June 30

Wis. Admin. Code ch. ATCP 71 & Wis. Stat. § 97.27

A food warehouse operating as a public storage warehouse must also comply with applicable license and security requirements under *ch. 99, Stats*.

LICENSE DESCRIPTION	LICENSE FEE	LICENSE SURCHARGE	LICENSE LATE FEE	REINSPECTION FEE
Stores potentially hazardous food and has at least 50,000 sq. ft.	\$320	\$100	\$64	\$300
Stores potentially hazardous food and has fewer than 50,000 sq. ft. $ \label{eq:total_stores} $	\$120	\$100	\$24	\$115
Does not store potentially hazardous food and has at least 50,000 sq. ft.	\$160	\$100	\$32	\$200
Does not store potentially hazardous food and has fewer than 50,000 sq. ft.	\$80	\$100	\$16	\$100

MILK DISTRIBUTOR: License expires annually, April 30	Wis. Admin. Code ch. ATCP 71 & Wis. Stat. § 97.21			
LICENSE DESCRIPTION	LICENSE FEE	LICENSE SURCHARGE	LICENSE LATE FEE	REINSPECTION FEE
Milk Distributor	\$75	\$100	\$15	\$30