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You need to register if
You hatch fish eggs or hold live fish for any of the following purposes:
· Sale or distribution
· Stocking into state waters
· Fishing
· Bait or fertilizer
· Use as food for humans or animals
· Education, demonstration or research
You hold live fish or fish eggs owned by someone else.
You do not need to register if
Fish/eggs are ornamentals and are not mixed with non-ornamentals or reared for bait, or
    food for humans or animals.  
You hold live bait fish under a DNR bait dealer license and only sell the fish at retail.
Fish/eggs are in a fully enclosed building, solely for education, display, or research in that building, not commingled with fish/fish eggs for other purposes, no untreated water used to hold fish or eggs is discharged to state waters, and all dead fish/offal from the building are disposed of by rendering, composting, municipal solid waste disposal or means approved by the department.
You exhibit live fish publicly for 15 days or less in a calendar year, or longer with our authorization.
You hold live fish or eggs for 30 days or less at a food processing plant, retail food store or restaurant pending slaughter or sale to consumers, provided that they are not commingled with fish/fish eggs used for other purposes, no untreated water used to hold fish or eggs is discharged to state waters, and all dead fish/offal are disposed of by rendering, composting, municipal solid waste disposal or means approved by the department. 
You are only transporting live fish or fish eggs to or from a fish farm.
You hold fish at a temporary fishing event, if certain requirements are met.
You hold live fish solely for the purpose of sale as pets, if certain criteria are met.
You temporarily hold live fish in a Wisconsin DNR fish egg collection station located in waters of the state, solely for the purpose of collecting eggs, if certain requirements are met.
If you have 
a private fish pond
By registering your private pond, you are entitled to stock your pond without a DNR permit.
If you register, you do have to meet all of our requirements for fish farms.
A WI DNR aquatic pesticide or herbicide use permit may still be required.  
Registration is not intended for ponds that do not contain fish.
Whether you register or not, you still must meet DNR requirements if your pond has an inlet or outlet connecting it to public or natural waters.
Fish farm types
Type 1 registration allows:
· Fishing, including public fee fishing
· Collecting eggs from your own brood stock
· Obtaining live fish or fish eggs from a source other than your own farm (except from a wild source)
· Selling or distributing live fish/fish eggs to a food processing plant, retail store, or restaurant that meets certain requirements.
· Raising bait for personal use at your fish farm
· Moving live fish between Type 1 fish farms that you operate in Wisconsin
· Selling live fish/fish eggs off-site to consumers for food provided certain requirements are met. 
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This is only a summary of the requirements for fish farms in Wisconsin.  You can find the complete statutes and rules online; web addresses are listed at the end of this document.  You can also call us at 608-224-4887 to get paper copies. Do not use this summary as your only reference in starting up a fish farm.  You need to talk to us in the Division of Animal Health at the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP). 

	Fish farm types
	Type 2 registration allows:
· All the activities allowed under Type 1
· Raising bait for sale or trade
· Raising, buying, trading, or importing live fish/fish eggs for resale, 
     stocking, processing, or exchange 
· Distributing fish/fish eggs (not produced on your fish farm) from inside this state 
     to outside this state  
Type 3 registration allows:
· All the activities allowed under Types 1 and 2
· Obtaining, selling or distributing live fish or fish eggs from a wild source of species susceptible to Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia.

	If you have fish farms at more than one location
	A “location” is a single parcel of land, or two or more contiguous parcels of land.  
   “Contiguous” means “touching,” but a road, river, railroad, or section line does not break
   the contiguity.  
Each location must be a separate registration, on a separate form.
You do not have to register all your locations as the same type of fish farm. 
Call us before moving fish or eggs between locations to see if you need a fish health certificate.

	If you have more than one fish farm at the same location
	You can register more than one fish farm on the same parcel or on contiguous parcels if we certify the farms as medically separated. Call 608-224-4887 to request certification.
    There is a $400 (per day) fee for inspection.  
Each farm may be considered separate for purposes of disease control and movement; this means that you might need a fish health certificate to move fish or eggs between the farms. Contact us before moving fish or eggs.

	Annual fees
	[bookmark: ][bookmark: ]Type 1 registration:
· $37.50 for one registration
· $50 for two or more registrations
Type 2 and Type 3 registration:
· $125 for 1-5 registrations
· $150 for 6-10 registrations
· $200 for 11-20 registrations
· $300 for more than 20 registrations
Primary and secondary schools and veterans eligible for the veteran’s fee waiver program under s. 45.44, Wis. Stats., are exempt from fees.

	Completing the application for registration
	Be sure to complete all areas of the form, on both sides of each page.  If you don’t, it will delay your registration.
You also need to register as a livestock premises if there are fish/fish eggs in the pond or you intend to stock the pond this registration year.  Call 1-888-808-1910 or go to www.wiid.org to register your premises.  Without this livestock premises code on your fish farm registration, processing will be delayed. 
A check or money order for the appropriate fee must accompany your application. We will not issue your registration certificate without payment.

Send the application and payment to:                       Send Social Security number form to:
WDATCP                                                                WDATCP/DAH
PO Box Lockbox 93598                                        Attn: Program and Policy Supervisor
Milwaukee, WI  53293-0598                                  PO Box 8911
                                                                                Madison, WI  53708-8911
Call 608-224-4887 if you have questions about completing the application.
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Ownership changes
	Registration is not transferable. The new owner must apply to register the farm, even if the registration was up-to-date under the previous owner.


	Other changes
	If there are changes in any of the information you provided on your registration application, you must contact us.  Call 608-224-4887 and ask for the aquaculture program associate.


	Keeping records
	You need to keep the following records of all fish/fish egg shipments to or from your farm for five years:
· Name, address, fish farm registration number (if any),  and premises identification number (if any) of the person who shipped the fish/eggs, or to whom you delivered fish/eggs
· The date that you received or delivered fish/eggs
· The location where you received or delivered fish/eggs
· The size or class, quantity, and species of fish/eggs received or delivered
· Import permits issued by DATCP for movement of fish into Wisconsin from another state
· Fish health certificates
You do not need to keep records on the sale of live fish/eggs sold directly to a consumer for food or bait.

	
Moving fish
















Importing fish
	
Health certificates are required to import live fish or fish eggs into Wisconsin from another state, or to move certain fish or fish eggs within Wisconsin.

Health certificates are issued for:
· An individual shipment of fish/fish eggs, which expires 30 days after it is issued.  
· A fish farm inspection, which expires one year after it is issued.  

Health certificates:
· Must be completed by a veterinarian or fish health inspector qualified to do fish health inspections, after a full inspection
· Must include results from a qualified laboratory for required disease testing 
· Must be sent to us within 7 days after completion
· Are available by calling 608-224-4887

[bookmark: ][bookmark: ]Importing non-native species of non-ornamental fish, such as tilapia, requires DNR approval. 

Import permits are required from the department to import live fish/fish eggs into Wisconsin from another state if the fish/fish eggs are either coming from or going to the wild.   If you register your fish farm, you may import fish/fish eggs from a fish farm in another state without an import permit as long as you have a health certificate. 

	
Using pesticides
	
You need to be certified by the Agricultural Resource Management Division of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection to apply restricted-use pesticides to destroy aquatic plants, microorganisms, or other pests.  This is in addition to your fish farm registration.  Call 608-224-4500 for information about pesticide applicator certification.
There may be other federal, state or local regulations for use of pesticides.

	
Processing and selling fish for food
	
To process or sell fish for human food, you will need to work with a food safety inspector and obtain appropriate licenses from the Food Safety Division of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. Call 608-224-4700.
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	For more information
	Rules and statutes
· Animal Health statute: http://www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/Stat0095.pdf (see 95.60)
· Animal diseases and movement rule: http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code/atcp/atcp010.pdf (see subchapter VIII)

DATCP aquaculture veterinarian
 Dr. Myron Kebus, 608-224-4876, myron.kebus@wisconsin.gov

DATCP aquaculture license/permit program associate
 608-224-4887, DATCPfishfarms@wisconsin.gov

DATCP online fish farm website information
    http://datcp.wisconsin.gov, click on “Animals” tab and look for “fish farms”


	
	University of Wisconsin aquaculture specialists
· Northern Region: Ron Johnson, 814-515-2570, ron.johnson@ces.uwex.edu
· Southern Region: Jim Held, 920-648-2902, jaheld@wisc.edu

DATCP food safety information
 608-224-4700, DATCPfood@wisconsin.gov

DATCP pesticide information
 608-224-4500, DATCPagriculture@wisconsin.gov

DATCP marketing information
 Mike Bandli, 608-224-5136, mike.bandli@wisconsin.gov
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Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
Division of Animal Health
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI   53718-6777
datcp.wisconsin.gov
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